How Living In Bondage Flick Aborted My Dreams — Teco Benson

Date: 04-10-2014 8:45 am (9 years ago) | Author: Victor A. Ofoma
- at 4-10-2014 08:45 AM (9 years ago)

Multiple award-wining director cum producer, Teco Benson, has criticised what has become a welcome development in the entertainment industry where politicians are steadily engaging entertainers in acts geared towards actualising their political ambitions.

Teco-BensonSpeaking on “Democracy in Film Making,” a lecture he delivered at the School of Media and Communication, Pan African University, Lagos, last week, the respected director of top flight movies such as State of Emergency, Terror, False Alarm, Mission To Nowhere, Executive Crime, Wasted Years and Formidable Force, took a quick swipe at the trend, saying using actors for political reasons contradict the code of conducts of the profession.

“ An actor appearing as brand Ambassador in a political and government functions portends a deviation from the standard rules and regulations guiding the industry.”

Teco Benson’s lecture focused extensively on the impact Nollywood had made over the years on the nation’s socio-cultural life, the uniqueness of the brand and the challenges therein.

He traced the origin of the industry, drawing instances, however, from his personal experience following the challenges Nollywood has faced over the years.
According to him, “ I was a civil servant before I delved into the film industry in 1994. My initial desire was to read medicine and become a medical doctor.

But my first encounter with “Living in Bondage” aborted my dreams. I saw opportunities and potentials from that angle and built my new love for it. It was not easy and rosy initially but a strong passion I developed for movie making saw an accelerated growth and fulfillment.

My early movies did not turn out successful.
The movie Forbidden, was a consolation for me but been undeterred, I moved on until 1996 when I produced my first movie, Compromise, that changed the success story.

In 1997, I went into film directing and I finally put a stop to acting in 1998. This came on the hills of content conflict. I was not in agreement with some story contents and as a true Christian, I personally took control of my stories to check obnoxious contents. It was a positive effort that reorganized the industry.
Noting that a film maker is a change agent, Teco Benson said, the quality of any film determines the message it is passing across to the audience.

This, he said has become one of the greatest challenges facing the industry in recent times. “Regardless of all the censorship measures, certain film project sponsors are the culprits of some of these contemptible contents. Sponsors sometimes determine the storyline just for commercial purposes with little regards to societal effects.

A very good film should be informative, educative, entertaining as well as showcase moral and cultural values which transcends the commercial values as the acceptability counts.

Speaking further, Teco Benson blamed some of the problems affecting the industry on piracy. Describing piracy as ‘a hydra-headed parasite’ that has caused a lot of damage to the industry, the celebrated director said producing cinema bound films is one sure way of riding the industry of the menace of piracy.

Posted: at 4-10-2014 08:45 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Wysetots at 4-10-2014 08:58 AM (9 years ago)
Too long
Posted: at 4-10-2014 08:58 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- beneno at 4-10-2014 09:37 AM (9 years ago)
 Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 4-10-2014 09:37 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- daveobahon at 4-10-2014 10:28 AM (9 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 4-10-2014 10:28 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- firmlord2011 at 4-10-2014 10:41 AM (9 years ago)
I love that mr Teco Ben
Posted: at 4-10-2014 10:41 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- dareper at 4-10-2014 12:28 PM (9 years ago)
My man teco benson(A.K.A mezue)
Posted: at 4-10-2014 12:28 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- benbellabiz at 4-10-2014 12:51 PM (9 years ago)
i beg who read am finish make him tell me wetin the man talk.
Posted: at 4-10-2014 12:51 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gbengason at 4-10-2014 12:55 PM (9 years ago)
hmmmm
Posted: at 4-10-2014 12:55 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- bospak at 4-10-2014 02:28 PM (9 years ago)
2much talk , na poverty plus envy dey cause am
Posted: at 4-10-2014 02:28 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Solidstonez at 4-10-2014 03:27 PM (9 years ago)

Posted: at 4-10-2014 03:27 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Larry28 at 4-10-2014 03:36 PM (9 years ago)
Too long abeg
Posted: at 4-10-2014 03:36 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- peacemaker1 at 5-10-2014 04:18 AM (9 years ago)
Its real too bad for the present generation.. what is the present generation going in education?.. You just read few lines and you all start complaining  "TOO LONG" does this mean that you don't read novels any longer ... I internet has curse more damage on our youth.
Posted: at 5-10-2014 04:18 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- steve231 at 5-10-2014 08:15 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: peacemaker1 on  5-10-2014 04:18 AM
Its real too bad for the present generation.. what is the present generation going in education?.. You just read few lines and you all start complaining  "TOO LONG" does this mean that you don't read novels any longer ... I internet has curse more damage on our youth.

GRAB YOUR DICTIONARY NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted: at 5-10-2014 08:15 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- dickman2 at 5-10-2014 10:39 AM (9 years ago)
 Huh? Huh? Huh?
Posted: at 5-10-2014 10:39 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- morgrawl231 at 5-10-2014 02:41 PM (9 years ago)
 Huh? Huh?
Posted: at 5-10-2014 02:41 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Custommike at 5-10-2014 07:29 PM (9 years ago)
NIGERIAN CUSTOM IMPOUNDED CARS FOR SALES AT CHEAPER AND AFFORDABLE PRICE, INTERESTED BUYERS SHOULD PLEASE CONTACT OUR MARKET  ZONAL OFFICER CUSTOM AHBULDULAHI  MOHHAMED ON(08140370507)
 E.G. Golf2, 3, 4, 5,
 from N200, 000-N400, 000. Toyota Camry big.
 daddy=N450,000. Honda accord baby
 boy=N400, 000.
 ToyotaMatrix=N500, 000 Toyota
 Prado=N600,000 Toyota.
 hiaceBus=N450,000 Toyota Avalon=N
 ToyotaCorolla=N430,000 Mazda=N 350.000
 HondaAccord end
 of discussion =N550,000 Honda Evil Spirit
 =N600,000 ToyotaCamry.
 2.2(Tiny Light)=N350,000, Toyota
 Avensis=N500,00.
 0, Rav4=N550, 000, Toyota Seinna=N400,000, to N600,000
 Highlander=N550,000.
 ,Murano=N500,000, Pathfinder=N500,000,
 Infinity Jeepfx35=N500,000.
 & fx45=550,000 Mercedes Benz
 ML350=N500,000. H.P LAPTOPS FOR SALES @ CHEAPER PRICE
 AND MANY MORE EXCLUSIVE
 OFFERS CONTACT THE AUCTION OFFICE. SALES SHALL TAKE
 PLACE AT THE CUSTOM ZONE
 All VEHICLES ENGINES ARE IN GOOD CONDITION. (THANKS FOR  PATRONIZING WITH US)
Posted: at 5-10-2014 07:29 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- elchymo at 24-08-2015 05:25 PM (8 years ago)
E don tey oo. Teco Benson
Posted: at 24-08-2015 05:25 PM (8 years ago) | Hero