Na Wash: 'I Couldn’t Pay My Mother’s Rent as Minister' – Oby Ezekwesili

Date: 14-11-2014 6:57 am (9 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 14-11-2014 06:57 AM (9 years ago)

Former Minister of Education, Dr. Oby Ezekwesili, has revealed that she could not afford to pay her mother’s rent while serving in government.

During a live interview with the former minister who was invited to speak to a church congregation on the topic, “Integrity.” That was when she told the congregation that integrity comes with its cost, adding that she did not spend from her imprest accounts as minister of Solid Minerals, and later, Education.

“There were times I couldn’t pay my mother’s rent, not because I couldn’t make a choice and build her a mansion. When I was in government, we had to withdraw our three children from their school to Baptist Special School. I was (just) answering big titles. Some of you would have said, ‘They are eating our money’. May God save those who speak without knowledge! I am not saying this so that you can say I am holy, I have my shortcomings.

Integrity will cost you a lot. Anyone who talks about integrity without the cost is preaching what I do not know about. Integrity can require a supreme cost from you. You will be persecuted for making the choice of integrity but make that choice nonetheless,’’ she said.

Ezekwesili, who was a former Vice President (Africa Region) of the World Bank, however, attributed her activism to God and family background.

“I had to ask God to help me identify scriptural verses and the heroes and heroines that made the right choices when it was required. My foundation was strong in the areas of values. My father would say to us, ‘A good name is better than gold and all the riches of the earth.’ Man is incapable of giving me anything God has not given to me,’’ she added.

Asked why she chose to be an advocate for the 219 schoolgirls kidnapped at the Government Secondary School, Chibok, Borno State, in April, Ezekwesili said she could not afford to pretend ‘as if nothing happened’, adding that criticisms would not deter her from pressurising the Federal Government to rescue the girls.

“The 219 children of the poor remind me of my own poor background before I became a beneficiary of what God has done. God forbids that Oby Ezekwesili will be in this land and 219 girls, who went to get the same education that I got, were abducted and I will pretend as if nothing happened.

It was clear in my mind that all kinds of things will be said, but I don’t do jobs; I only do assignments. God said to me that concerning these girls, I should be their voices. In February, 59 boys were slaughtered in their school and we all carried on as if nothing happened. You read my citation,’’
she said.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter- @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 14-11-2014 06:57 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Shegzan at 14-11-2014 07:17 AM (9 years ago)
Den go and start payin it nw!

Posted: at 14-11-2014 07:17 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 14-11-2014 07:21 AM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 14-11-2014 07:21 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- EmekaBlue at 14-11-2014 07:29 AM (9 years ago)
Sharaap there
Posted: at 14-11-2014 07:29 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 14-11-2014 07:32 AM (9 years ago)
buhari no get 20million to buy presidential candidate form,Goodluck jonathan no get enough money to campain 2015 election,sotey individuals,associations and non governmental organisationsa(NGO) come dey contribute for am.you no fit pay your mama house rent as a minister,wey even civil servants dey pay rent and some dey even builld  house.if una no dey fear man,at least make una dey fear God  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 14-11-2014 07:32 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- TABONTE at 14-11-2014 07:53 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: beneno on 14-11-2014 07:32 AM
buhari no get 20million to buy presidential candidate form,Goodluck jonathan no get enough money to campain 2015 election,sotey individuals,associations and non governmental organisationsa(NGO) come dey contribute for am.you no fit pay your mama house rent as a minister,wey even civil servants dey pay rent and some dey even builld  house.if una no dey fear man,at least make una dey fear God  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

Buhari use all his money take sponsor boko
GEJ's money,all is in foreign currency
OBY Ezekwesili stingy for her mama
Na Davido,wizkid and our celebrities na them get money
Posted: at 14-11-2014 07:53 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Reignest at 14-11-2014 08:09 AM (9 years ago)
Story for the gods.......
Posted: at 14-11-2014 08:09 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- demck at 14-11-2014 09:04 AM (9 years ago)
There is nothing like integrity from what I dead. Its either she is stingy or wicked, or did not love d mother enough to paying her house rent. Maybe she was never a tenant. They should stop lyin to us, smbody came up d other day that buhari could not buy presidential candidate form becos one thing do two things. Now this one, even if u could not slice from d national cake, at least u are paid salary as a civil servant. Pls, don't let God be angry with u for lyin inside d church claiming integrity. One thing I know, whether u do good or bad, it will come back to u some day & don't forget; there is God. Liers.
Posted: at 14-11-2014 09:04 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- isbigo at 14-11-2014 09:04 AM (9 years ago)
LIAR, SEE UR HEAD
Posted: at 14-11-2014 09:04 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- demck at 14-11-2014 09:09 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: demck on 14-11-2014 09:04 AM
There is nothing like integrity from what I read. Its either she is stingy or wicked, or did not love d mother enough to paying her house rent. Maybe she was never a tenant. They should stop lyin to us, smbody came up d other day that buhari could not buy presidential candidate form becos one thing do two things. Now this one, even if u could not slice from d national cake, at least u are paid salary as a civil servant. Pls, don't let God be angry with u for lyin inside d church claiming integrity. One thing I know, whether u do good or bad, it will come back to u some day & don't forget; there is God. Liers.
Correction, from what I read.
Posted: at 14-11-2014 09:09 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- echeeche at 14-11-2014 09:32 AM (9 years ago)
TANK GOD
Posted: at 14-11-2014 09:32 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- bospak at 14-11-2014 09:44 AM (9 years ago)
Ojigbijigbi. 
Posted: at 14-11-2014 09:44 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- newtoncruz at 14-11-2014 10:16 AM (9 years ago)
jokers
Posted: at 14-11-2014 10:16 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Wysetots at 14-11-2014 10:40 AM (9 years ago)
Super Story
Posted: at 14-11-2014 10:40 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Fertymor at 14-11-2014 11:50 AM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 14-11-2014 11:50 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cellemma at 14-11-2014 12:12 PM (9 years ago)
WHY CAN'T YOU SAY TRUTH FOR ONES?
Posted: at 14-11-2014 12:12 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- iamDonc at 14-11-2014 02:09 PM (9 years ago)
Wicked Nigerian Leaders
Posted: at 14-11-2014 02:09 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Larry28 at 14-11-2014 02:44 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 14-11-2014 02:44 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- morgrawl231 at 14-11-2014 03:56 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 14-11-2014 03:56 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- morgrawl231 at 14-11-2014 03:56 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 14-11-2014 03:56 PM (9 years ago) | Hero