Jonathan Can’t Fight Corruption If Given 60 Years – APC

Date: 03-01-2015 7:19 am (9 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 3-01-2015 07:19 AM (9 years ago)

The All Progressives Congress says President Goodluck Jonathan cannot fight corruption even if he is given 60 years to rule Nigeria.

The APC said this in a statement by its National Publicity Secretary, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, while reacting to a promise by Jonathan that he would institute anti-corruption programmes if re-elected next month.

The APC said Jonathan’s inability to tackle corruption was not surprising as “a corrupt government can never fight corruption.”

It said it was surprising that Jonathan was still initiating a plan to tackle corruption despite the presence of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission as well as the Independent Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences Commission.

The statement read, “Mr. President said he wants to put in place the institutions to tackle corruption before taking on the cankerworm that has almost destroyed the fabric of our society. Pray, whatever happened to the EFCC and the ICPC? Were they not institutions specifically created for the purpose of tackling corruption, but which the Jonathan administration chose to castrate?

‘’There is no better way to say this: President Jonathan lacks the political will to tackle corruption, and he will not tackle it if he spends 60 years in office.”

The party said it was unfortunate that despite spending about five years in office, the Jonathan administration was just beginning to diagnose the problems of Nigeria.

It said, “A President who has spent the last six years trying to diagnose the main problems facing the country will apparently need another four years to plan how to tackle the challenges. By then, all of us would have been buried under the rubble of corruption and our country would have been decimated by insecurity.

“It is therefore time for Nigerians to vote in a President who will hit the ground running, a President who will tackle the problems of corruption and insecurity headlong, without giving excuses for failure.”

On insecurity, the party said Jonathan should have learnt from the APC presidential candidate, Maj.Gen Muhammadu Buhari (retd.) who was responsible for quelling the Maitatsine insurgency in the early 1980s.

The APC said it was unfortunate that rather than devise means to tackle insecurity, Jonathan blamed everybody but his administration.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 3-01-2015 07:19 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- DrSoba at 3-01-2015 07:44 AM (9 years ago)
Talking about Corruption ( it has come to stay permanently in Nigeria, because corruption flows into the vain of every Nigerian). No body can stop corruption in Nigeria.  The issue of insurgents Buhari fought and defeated them in 1983, that was then when there was no corruption so much.  The insurgents where not having sponsors both internationally and locally.  Then insurgents were not using M60, AK47 and armour tank. Think about it. Things have really changed.
Posted: at 3-01-2015 07:44 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- JUKENT at 3-01-2015 08:50 AM (9 years ago)
Sharaaap! Who told you that anybody can eradicate corruption?
Posted: at 3-01-2015 08:50 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Giftous1 at 3-01-2015 09:28 AM (9 years ago)
Shut up..keep calm..you never can tell the abilities of a soft spoken man...remember the saying...slow water runs deep...dont underestimate a quite dog..its bit is deadly
Posted: at 3-01-2015 09:28 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- morgrawl231 at 3-01-2015 10:26 AM (9 years ago)
Yes,,,,u ar right,,,
Posted: at 3-01-2015 10:26 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- beneno at 3-01-2015 10:52 AM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 3-01-2015 10:52 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- okilo101 at 3-01-2015 11:36 AM (9 years ago)
Jona neva lived upto expectations.
Posted: at 3-01-2015 11:36 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- EmekaBlue at 3-01-2015 11:55 AM (9 years ago)
If i Evryday APC say this and that..I tire
Posted: at 3-01-2015 11:55 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- echeeche at 3-01-2015 12:16 PM (9 years ago)
May be is true
Posted: at 3-01-2015 12:16 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- egwuevans17 at 3-01-2015 05:29 PM (9 years ago)
Nigeria is a business as usual state, Check it well, Who in APC have a good chance of making thing right, Many of their leaders are former PDP members, that are driving out of office due to corruption..
Posted: at 3-01-2015 05:29 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- egwuevans17 at 3-01-2015 05:32 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 3-01-2015 05:32 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- freeway001 at 3-01-2015 05:33 PM (9 years ago)
This man is more than correct.  # VOTE HIM OUT
Posted: at 3-01-2015 05:33 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Abogado at 3-01-2015 07:57 PM (9 years ago)
THIS LAI MUHAMMED IS CORRUPTION HIMSELF
Posted: at 3-01-2015 07:57 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Abogado at 3-01-2015 07:59 PM (9 years ago)
LAI,CORRUPTION STARTED DURING THE TIME OF LORD LUGARD AND I BELIEVE THAT YOU'RE PART OF THEM.ENEMY OF PEACE
Posted: at 3-01-2015 07:59 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Wysetots at 3-01-2015 09:35 PM (9 years ago)
How can he fight corruption when He's their leader??
Posted: at 3-01-2015 09:35 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- oset801 at 4-01-2015 03:55 AM (9 years ago)
shaarrrrrrraaaaaap Lier Mohammed na you go comw fit stop corruption and thievry for naija abi, all of una the same and one in spirit
Posted: at 4-01-2015 03:55 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- elobiz20012 at 4-01-2015 03:58 AM (9 years ago)
MONKEY SEE YOUR FACE,APC BAD OMEGA,THIS CAN NOT WORK
Posted: at 4-01-2015 03:58 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- kins4real at 4-01-2015 06:31 AM (9 years ago)
I asked someone that is shouting Continuity that, do you believe that Goodluck Jonathan's performance is truly below average according to Obasanjo???, and he answered YES, and I asked that, why should we vote him again then, but it's a pity that my guy cannot even give a good reason, because I believe that One can only continue if his first tenure is Impressive, but looking deeply intoGoodluck Jonathan's Administration, and his Government in term of Corruption, and mismanagement of Public funds after six Years in office he is Incompetent, a Failure and not Deserve a second Term, but I believe that Not all Nigerians that will be Brainwashed with Religious tricks that Goodluck Jonathan is playing ,............. All I know is We are all Nigerians, and we as Nigerians deserve to be treated well, because our Country has blessed with a lot of resources, but because of Clueless Leaders like Goodluck Jonathan with his Selfishness and Nonchalant attitudes, has turned things to the opposite direction, Please Don't get me wrong, I am not saying Muhammadu Buhari is a perfect man, but, he is just a better option that Nigerians are having right Now, and at least I believe that all we Need is Change at the federal Level................. God Bless.
Posted: at 4-01-2015 06:31 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- chimak at 4-01-2015 07:13 AM (9 years ago)
YOU'RE ABSOLUTELY RIGHT MY DEAR LAST CHANCE FOR A CHANGE THAT NIGERIANS NEEDS IS BUHARI
Posted: at 4-01-2015 07:13 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- elchymo at 4-01-2015 07:26 AM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 4-01-2015 07:26 AM (9 years ago) | Hero

1. Odumeje Disappointed Us - Abroad Based Man Shares What ‘Indaboski’ Did at London Airport

2. Internet on Fire As Wizkid and Davido Fight Each Other With Words on X(Twitter)

3. Careful o, I'm Not The One to Be Played With - Tekno Replies Kizz Daniel Over 'Buga' Royalties

4. SHOCKING Moment Two Employees Were Caught on CCTV Performing Rituals in The Office

5. Forex: CBN Stops Opay,Palmpay, Kuda& Moniepoint From Onboarding New Customers

6. War Of Words Lingers On As Oritse Femi Sides With Wizkid After Calling Don Jazzy An Influencer

7. Two Employees Suspended After Their Footage Of Performing Ritual In Office Is Exposed

8. Upcoming Singer, Gnewzy, Kidnapped in Delta, His Abductors Demand $200k Ransom

9. Former UFC Heavyweight Champion, Francis Ngannou Mourns Death of His 18months Old Son

10. 16 Persons Land In Police Net Over Murder Of Female Police Inspector, Erekere In Rivers

11. Bayern Munich v Real Madrid: UEFA Champions League S/Final Match,Team News,Goal Scorers & Stats

1. Benin Kingdom Suspends Five Functionaries For ‘Unauthorised’ Visit To Ooni Of Ife

2. Nigerian Tenant Discovers Landlord With Wife & Daughter, Sparks Outrage Online (Video)

3. Lady Who Worked As A Maid In Saudi Arabia Narrates Her Harrowing Ordeal As Boss Impregnates Her

4. GWR Holder, Tunde Onakoya's Parents Gifted A House

5. I Will Reconcile Atiku And Wike If I Emerge PDP National Chairman – Suswam

6. No More Big 3 In Afrobeat, I'm On Same Level With Wizkid, Davido And Burnaboy - Rema Reveals

7. Investigation Launched Into Mysterious Death Of VGC Chairman, Gihan Mbelu In Lagos

8. Drama As Actress, Toyin Abraham Ajeyemi Clashes With Area Boys On Movie Set (Video)

9. VIDEO: Singer, Davido Becomes First to Own The $500,000 2024 Rolls Royce Spectre

10. Wunmi Ajiboye Reunites With Estranged Husband, Segun Ogungbe, Days After Dragging Him (Video)