I Found Nothing After Probing Buhari’s PTF In 1999 – Obasanjo

Date: 14-01-2015 6:34 am (9 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 14-01-2015 06:34 AM (9 years ago)

Former President Olusegun Obasanjo on Tuesday said his administration probed the accounts of the Petroleum Trust Fund headed by the All Progressives Congress presidential candidate, Maj. Gen. Muhammadu Buhari (retd.) and found nothing unpleasant.

Buhari headed the PTF, inaugurated in March 1995, under the regime of the late dictator, Gen. Sani Abacha. The PTF was established to manage the fund accruable from the increase in the pump price of Premium Motor Spirit, otherwise know as petrol, from N3.25 to N11.

The PTF was scrapped by Obasanjo on assumption of the Presidency in 1999. The ex-President also set up a committee to investigate the accounts of the PTF following allegations of N25bn fraud in the agency.

Obasanjo’s fresh revelation was made in Ogun State when Buhari and other national leaders of the APC visited the ex-President at his Hilltop residence in Abeokuta.

On the Buhari’s entourage were the APC national chairman, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun; the party’s former interim national chairman, Chief Bisi Akande; a former governor of Lagos State and a national leader of the APC, Bola Tinubu, and the governor of Ogun State, Ibikunle Amosun, among others.

Obasanjo said when he looked into the report submitted to him on the alleged fraud in the PTF he did not see anything incriminating concerning Buhari.

He said, “When you were going to become the manager of PTF. We talked about it and when you finished and I took over, we looked into it.

“I haven’t said this publicly, I would say it publicly now. When we looked into it, there was really nothing amiss except that that organisation went from road building to mosquito net-buying and all sorts of things.

“And what the investigation discovered is a bit of inconsistency in prices and all that. In one area, mosquito net might have been given for N50; in another, N45. And I then remarked that this is fishy. We should look into it.

“And I called my brother and colleague (Buhari), I said see this and he said ‘look we are managing billions of Naira and I tried to make sure I see everything.But I will not say that what they have said about this is correct or not correct. But I can assure you, I tried to see everything.’

“I said okay Muhammadu, between me, you and God, was there any personal benefit for you? And you said ‘no.’ I said that is the end of the matter.

“Although there was that investigation, its report was not of any material importance.”

Obasanjo asked Buhari and other presidential candidates to address the nagging issues of insecurity, economy and deficit in infrastructure.

He implored the presidential candidates to focus on issues rather than trivialities.

He said, “I hope people will face issues rather than trivialities. On occasions like this, issues are very important. And you have mentioned three areas which are demanding issues in Nigeria today.

“I will just beg all of you who are contesting to add one to it; you mentioned economy, you mentioned corruption, and you mentioned security.

“I will beg of you to add infrastructure. It’s very important. You may take it as part of economy but I will take infrastructure as special and give it special attention.”

While he described a political party as a microcosm of a nation, which would consist of near saints, devils, rapists, and armed robbers, Obasanjo warned that when the party wanted to go into government, it must look for men and women of integrity.

Speaking earlier, Buhari said he would tackle corruption while the resources would be used to address infrastructural deficit.

He said if elected, his administration would also give priority to security and fix the economy, stressing that Obasanjo had more experience than him and others in governance.

He said, “It’s a fact that you know more than all we know about the problem that we are in. But what we’ll do is try to convince you to believe us that we are going to do better.

“We have been going around three fundamental issues: security, economy, corruption. This vicious circle is what the APC is determined to break.

“Because without security, there is no way the country can settle down not to talk of living in it. So many people, educated and uneducated, some said up to 60 per cent, will say Nigeria is sitting on a keg of gun powder.

“We believe that if we are able to stop corruption, a lot of resources will be available to invest in infrastructure, get the factories to reopen, get jobs and get goods and services. So security, economy, in terms of employment, production, manufacturing, goods and services, and then agriculture will again be given impetus to employment.”

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 14-01-2015 06:34 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dickman2 at 14-01-2015 07:00 AM (9 years ago)
BUHARI IS A PISS OF SHIT..DEAD MAN WANT TO RULE...
Posted: at 14-01-2015 07:00 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- morgrawl231 at 14-01-2015 09:06 AM (9 years ago)
Buhari is good to go,,,,
Posted: at 14-01-2015 09:06 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- x-avier at 14-01-2015 10:25 AM (9 years ago)
So what Obasanjo is telling us is that his mind was made irrespective of the result of the investigation he ordered.
Or that matters of state are dealt with by "swear you didn't take it" and that is all, rather than following it up objectively and bringing to book, anyone evidence is found against.
Posted: at 14-01-2015 10:25 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- femjay at 14-01-2015 10:30 AM (9 years ago)
hope haters will read this ......... And see that difference is clear ............
Posted: at 14-01-2015 10:30 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- femjay at 14-01-2015 10:31 AM (9 years ago)
hope haters will read this ......... And see that difference is clear ............
Posted: at 14-01-2015 10:31 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- iamDonc at 14-01-2015 11:08 AM (9 years ago)
guy you must be sick!!who told you that n where was it written on proven that he did that, but can u check how corruption is celebrated during GBJ, Regime people like Stella oduah 2.5m dollars on cars, Faruk Lawal n femi otedola 600,000 dollars, police pension money stolen, Alamesigha former governor of Beyelsa who stolen Billions was pardoned, 49m dollars was missing in the Nigerian treasury what was done? instead of finding the money Sanusi was fired, 10(ten) private jet owned by a president (Even Obama cant do that or Putin), what abt the killings and terror?. 10 billion dollars was borrowed from China n other places, 1 billion naira for food inside Aso rock, oil subsidy,  Alison madueke Petroleum diverting oil wealth for buying jets and personal use, 75% graduates not employed, using rice to appeal for votes was started by him. using 1 million dollars  Beyelsa poverty alleviation money into paying Beyonce to perform in Beyelsa!! Guy check am e good???
Posted: at 14-01-2015 11:08 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- paulohking at 14-01-2015 11:34 AM (9 years ago)
who's fooling who?!!!
Posted: at 14-01-2015 11:34 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- echeeche at 14-01-2015 11:48 AM (9 years ago)
Nigerian news
Posted: at 14-01-2015 11:48 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Larry28 at 14-01-2015 12:50 PM (9 years ago)
Hmmm naija i hail o
Posted: at 14-01-2015 12:50 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- proly at 14-01-2015 02:12 PM (9 years ago)
Kkkk
Posted: at 14-01-2015 02:12 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- march7 at 14-01-2015 02:12 PM (9 years ago)
Y r sum nigerians so dumb. Y didnt he say dis al dis while, y wait til dis moment wen he s nt in gud terms wit gej. U ppl shud pls b wise nd knw he hs already koletd his own share.
Posted: at 14-01-2015 02:12 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- zoe61 at 14-01-2015 05:21 PM (9 years ago)
Buhari look sick may be he want to die in power
Posted: at 14-01-2015 05:21 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Abubu86 at 14-01-2015 08:55 PM (9 years ago)
GMB all d way
Posted: at 14-01-2015 08:55 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 14-01-2015 10:26 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 14-01-2015 10:26 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero