Do pastors take advantage of people's poverty?

Date: 25-10-2009 12:08 pm (14 years ago) | Author: King Samuel O Dguy
- at 25-10-2009 12:08 PM (14 years ago)
PASTOR Nick Medouwa is the General Overseer of Pentecostal Canaaland Mission in Lagos. In this interview with Sam Eyoboka, he speaks on why his messages are focused on holiness and righteousness, the activities of fake pastors and the slow pace of the Yar’Adua administration. Excerpts.

YOU focus more on holiness and integrity in your preaching. Going by
what we find today in the country, would you say, your messages are making the desired impact?

Sure, there are people that cherish this message of holiness. There are people that still believe in righteousness. We need to keep on preaching holiness, righteousness. Bible says that righteousness exalts a nation. You cannot separate the Church from righteousness, holiness. We have a lot of preachers who are after their stomach. They can preach anything they like to entice people. That is why fake pastors are springing up all over the world, giving prophecies here and there. You can see today people who call themselves pastors and prophets calling people’s phone numbers, demanding for their bank account numbers. This has no biblical foundation. God has no business with our account numbers. God is not a criminal.

He is not a thief to be interested in how you part with what you have in your accounts. Most of these pastors are ripping people off. They are taking advantage of people. They will tell you to bring so, so amount of money; so that certain miracles will take place in your life. There is no place in the Bible where you are required to pay for a miracle. God does not give anybody condition before blessing him or her. All we need to do is to serve Him faithfully. When we do that our miracles will come.

Is the PFN doing enough to regulate activities of pastors?

PFN is a very good body, but there is not much they can do about what is happening. Every pastor claims he has a revelation from God. Every pastor claims God spoke to him or her and you cannot regulate how God talked to somebody. What PFN is doing is; if they discover that your ministry is not Bible-based, they will call you to order. They will ask you to explain the source of the teachings you are imparting to the people. If you do not give convincing explanation, they will ex-communicate you. Your name will be deleted from PFN register. But, again, even when they ex-communicate you, you still go ahead and run your ministry and you still bear the name Pentecostal even when such a person is no longer part of PFN. There are churches the PFN had de-registered because their doctrines and practices are not anchored on the Bible. The same people will go and argue that PFN cannot tell them how to run their ministries. PFN has been trying to ensure that things are done decently and in line with the Bible.

Why is the number of fake pastors is increasing daily? Will you attribute it to the national rot?

It is not just pastors. It is in every field of human endavour. Recently, we read how fake lawyers were nabbed right in the law court. One of them even boasted that he defeated a Senior Advocate of Nigeria. It is painful. The reason we have fake pastors is because there is no visible criteria to know who God called or did not call. But the truth is that we have quacks in every field—lawyers, journalists, teachers, pastors, police, doctors etc. There is no organisation in Nigeria that does not have people faking its membership.

Talking about economic pressures, would you say this nation has witnessed any progress in terms of what we had during the past administration?

As of now, we cannot see any improvement. The government is getting worse. We were condemning Obasanjo’s government but this one seems worse. Granted that the president, from his mien, looks like a good man, the pace of his government is worrisome. I commend him on the handling of the Niger Delta crisis, especially the amnesty granted to militants; but my advice to him is to back it up with action. He should address the problem of the region, so that there will be peace.

You will be hosting ministers of God to your annual event titled “Laughter,” do you still believe that the atmosphere in the country encourages events like this?

The year’s programme will even be bigger than the previous years. Though we are going to use local preachers, it will still be done in such a way that participants would be fulfilled. The preachers are well respected men of God who have the grace of God upon their lives. This year’s programme will be special because it will last for seven days. We have expanded our church to accommodate more guests some of whom are coming from Ghana, Togo, and the US.

Posted: at 25-10-2009 12:08 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mubaji at 26-10-2009 08:05 PM (14 years ago)
then, church business will soon overthrow all other business since there is no criteria for been chosen as a prophet of God.
God go help sha
Posted: at 26-10-2009 08:05 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- umide at 29-10-2009 05:35 PM (14 years ago)
NOT ALL PASTORS
Posted: at 29-10-2009 05:35 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- cs2368 at 30-10-2009 11:43 AM (14 years ago)
Do not judge so that you might not be judged.   Jesus loves you and you need to be born again..stop and think about it for a minute..Gid bless you
Posted: at 30-10-2009 11:43 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- umide at 30-10-2009 02:20 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: cs2368 on 30-10-2009 11:43 AM
Do not judge so that you might not be judged.   Jesus loves you and you need to be born again..stop and think about it for a minute..Gid bless you

what i dont understand your language that what...
Posted: at 30-10-2009 02:20 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- mubaji at 5-11-2009 09:14 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: cs2368 on 30-10-2009 11:43 AM
Do not judge so that you might not be judged.   Jesus loves you and you need to be born again..stop and think about it for a minute..God bless you
not in all cases my dear
Posted: at 5-11-2009 09:14 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Pepeyayo at 8-11-2009 01:31 PM (14 years ago)
Not all of them.
Posted: at 8-11-2009 01:31 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- ezecyyyy at 8-11-2009 07:31 PM (14 years ago)
Food is ready is not 4 all.
Posted: at 8-11-2009 07:31 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- democrazy at 2-05-2010 11:53 AM (13 years ago)
The slogan is this..........."God requires us to be poor, destitute and in pain, else we wont seek him"

almost all our core infrastructures are based on this model. So if things become good all of a sudden, all these churches, pastors, lawyers, doctors, hospitals, etc will no longer be required. Do you honestly think God will let this happen to those he has blessed and chosen? i dont think so. this fear mongering needas to be maintained. if people dont fall ill, send them some laboratory viruses and bacterias. if they dont come to worship, visit them as ghosts and steal all their property.
Posted: at 2-05-2010 11:53 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Originalsly at 2-05-2010 12:18 PM (13 years ago)
Hey...more people are using church as a business. You sow words and you reap dollars. I think they take advantage of both the rich and the poor but would spend far more time baiting a rich person than a poor one. Nothing can stop that because it was foretold and if people read their Bibles they will be better able to discern the sheep from the wolves.
Posted: at 2-05-2010 12:18 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- DGI-PLUS at 3-05-2010 12:34 PM (13 years ago)
No, Pastors don't take advantage of people's poverty - most Pastors only take advantage of peoples ignorance, and people will not be ignorant if they study & meditate on the Word of God, pray for understanding & practice what they learn.......happy are you when you know & do the things you learn.

Cheers!
Posted: at 3-05-2010 12:34 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- akibirna at 3-05-2010 03:09 PM (13 years ago)
Some people are ingnorance and that is why they are being decieved by some non spiritual pastors. Secondly, laziness and stupidity also contribute.Some pastors are psychologically good seeing someones problem by his or her reaction during the prayers.
Posted: at 3-05-2010 03:09 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- derbi at 16-05-2010 05:48 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: democrazy on  2-05-2010 11:53 AM
The slogan is this..........."God requires us to be poor, destitute and in pain, else we wont seek him"

almost all our core infrastructures are based on this model. So if things become good all of a sudden, all these churches, pastors, lawyers, doctors, hospitals, etc will no longer be required. Do you honestly think God will let this happen to those he has blessed and chosen? i dont think so. this fear mongering needas to be maintained. if people dont fall ill, send them some laboratory viruses and bacterias. if they dont come to worship, visit them as ghosts and steal all their property.
be cearful we are talking about God here...
Posted: at 16-05-2010 05:48 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chik001 at 16-05-2010 07:52 PM (13 years ago)
Most Naija pastors take advantage of not only poverty but fear of the people.
We are too religious without responsibility. The minute you go and expose your fear or weakness to them... hee... nna, dey go hold you for work.

Posted: at 16-05-2010 07:52 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- emma4love3 at 20-03-2016 02:18 PM (8 years ago)
some pators...sha
Posted: at 20-03-2016 02:18 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- morgrawl231 at 5-04-2016 05:28 AM (8 years ago)
I dont think so,,,,but u cant trust some of dem,,,
Posted: at 5-04-2016 05:28 AM (8 years ago) | Hero

1. Pastor, David Odeniyi Seeks Divorce After Wife Strips Him Nak3d In Front Of His Congregation

2. American Idol Star, Mandisa Lynn Hundley Found Dead At Her Nashville Home

3. Man Catches His Wife In Bed With Another Man, Stabs Her To Death With Knife In Imo

4. Man Detained For Trying To Sneak Into London-Bound Airplane

5. 45-Year-Old Man, Samson Adedokun Defiles His 16-Year-Old Daughter Inside Their Home In Lagos

6. IMF Urges Nigeria To Remove Fuel Subsidies: Here's Why

7. Five-Year-Old Boy Dies After Falling From Fence While Playing With His Friends In Lagos

8. Tragic As Suspected Fulani Militia Kill Plateau State Uni Student, Dading James Jordan

9. Eight Nigerians Arrested For Assaulting Police During Drug Raid In Northern Cape, S/Africa

10. Fatal Collision Claims Two Lives, Leaves Three Injured On Ijebu-Ode-Ore-Benin Expressway

1. Moment Atiku Abubakar And Nyesom Wike Snub Each Other At PDP National Caucus Meeting (VID)

2. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

3. Check Out The Video That Got Cubana Chief Priest Into EFCC's Net

4. PICS: Ex Ooni Of Ife's Wife, Queen Naomi Ties The Knot Again On Her 31st Birthday

5. Jubilation In Nigeria As Many Are Currently Receiving N50k Inside Their Account From Tinubu

6. Kim Kardashian Shows Off Lots of Flesh as She Debuts Her SKIMS SWIM Summer 2024 Line

7. Tragedy As Two Teenage Girls Drown As Canoe Capsizes In Niger State

8. Actor, Yul Edochie Mocks Comedia, AY Makun Over His Failed Marriage

9. PDP NEC Meeting: Tensions Rise Within Wike’s Camp As Gov. Makinde Dumps G-5 Governors

10. Alleged Naira Abuse: Singer, Davido Reacts To Cubana Chief Priest’s Bail