Buhari Agrees To Participate In Presidential Debate On Feb. 3. - New Organizers

Date: 01-02-2015 9:36 am (9 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 1-02-2015 09:36 AM (9 years ago)

Nigerian voters will have an opportunity to assess those seeking their mandate to administer the affairs of the country as presidential debate has been scheduled for Tuesday, February 3 as part of the build-up to the February 14 elections.

The debate, initiated by and ARISE Television and Channels,  and THISDAY and Guardian Newspapers Limited on behalf the Newspapers Proprietors’ Association of Nigeria (NPAN),  is scheduled to hold at the Congress Hall of the Transcorp Hilton Hotel, Abuja.

The February 3 debate is coming on the heels of an earlier attempt by the Nigeria Election Debate Group to host a presidential debate, which is currently mired in controversy following the rejection of the invite to participate by the presidential flag-bearer of the All Progressives Congress (APC), General Muhammadu Buhari, alleging unhidden bias and campaign of calumny by its key organisers against the party’s corporate interest.

An indication that Tuesday’s debate will not suffer the fate of the BON-organised version has been bolstered by the acceptance of the invite through a letter by Jonathan/Sambo 2015 Presidential Campaign Organisation, while General Buhari Campaign Organisation has indicated his intention to participate in principle.

In a letter dated January 14, 2015, to the organisers of the debate, Senator Ahmadu Ali, Director General of the Jonathan/Sambo 2015 Presidential Campaign Organisation, said the President "has accepted to participate in the debate."

No official letter has been received from the General Buhari Campaign Organisation as at press time, but it has indicated its intention to participate in this debate in principle.

In the letter dated January 11, 2015 to both candidates and delivered the same day, the organisers had noted that "too many of the troubles we now face stem from governance: decisions made behind closed doors, regulations removed when no one was looking, or reckless actions and impunity across the polity."

The letter also reads: "Our nation is strongest when our elected leaders are accessible and accountable to its citizens, explaining decisions and answering tough questions. That standard of openness and transparency must start long before Election Day on February 14, 2015."

The footage of the debate, which is expected to be watched by civil society groups and youth groups among other stakeholders, will be made available live to all broadcast stations and will also be available on the social media: Twitter, Facebook and Google. Attendance at the debate will be strictly by invitation.

Posted: at 1-02-2015 09:36 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- beneno at 1-02-2015 09:46 AM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 1-02-2015 09:46 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- erhubeauty at 1-02-2015 09:49 AM (9 years ago)
If him like let him not participate he's already a looser
Posted: at 1-02-2015 09:49 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- charlesomo at 1-02-2015 10:04 AM (9 years ago)
Buhari no way for you o, if like no go or you go but we no need you as our presido abeg plc ur load gogogo ooo!!!
Posted: at 1-02-2015 10:04 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- Ritabrenice at 1-02-2015 10:36 AM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 1-02-2015 10:36 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bayombayo at 1-02-2015 10:52 AM (9 years ago)
Can anyone tell me why GEJ refused to attend this type of debate in 2011?
Posted: at 1-02-2015 10:52 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- Giftous1 at 1-02-2015 10:53 AM (9 years ago)
Hahahah...i can't wait to hear him trow those dynamites called English lols...i Will phyt corrupsion and i will provive jobs
Posted: at 1-02-2015 10:53 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- femjay at 1-02-2015 11:37 AM (9 years ago)
That's  good ........ I love dat ....
....GMB the next president coming 2015 .....
Posted: at 1-02-2015 11:37 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- femjay at 1-02-2015 11:37 AM (9 years ago)
That's  good ........ I love dat ....
....GMB the next president coming FEBUHARI ...
Posted: at 1-02-2015 11:37 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- femjay at 1-02-2015 11:42 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: erhubeauty on  1-02-2015 09:49 AM

Hey young lad ...... Let and wait see till FEBRUARY 15 when the wind of "CHANGE " will blow across the country ...........  Stop making unwarrant assumptions ......

"
Posted: at 1-02-2015 11:42 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- femjay at 1-02-2015 11:42 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: erhubeauty on  1-02-2015 09:49 AM

Hey young lad ...... Let and wait see till FEBRUARY 15 when the wind of "CHANGE " will blow across the country ...........  Stop making unwarrant assumptions ......

"
Posted: at 1-02-2015 11:42 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- femjay at 1-02-2015 11:45 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: charles on  1-02-2015 10:04 AM
Buhari no way for you o, if like no go or you go but we no need you as our presido abeg plc ur load gogogo ooo!!!

Unwarrant NOIse .......
Posted: at 1-02-2015 11:45 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sagiru at 1-02-2015 12:01 PM (9 years ago)
Change is all we need
Posted: at 1-02-2015 12:01 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- chicent2k3 at 1-02-2015 12:35 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: bayombayo on  1-02-2015 10:52 AM
Can anyone tell me why GEJ refused to attend this type of debate in 2011?

Mr man, look at the above pic and stop struggling with the truth. U don't like jonathan so u prefer to listen to rumors. Did jona tell u he didn't attend?
Posted: at 1-02-2015 12:35 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- dickman2 at 1-02-2015 12:37 PM (9 years ago)
buhari is a dog..
nobody need him..
Posted: at 1-02-2015 12:37 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dickman2 at 1-02-2015 12:45 PM (9 years ago)
naija go divide soon..
we dont need northerners  around us..they are evil..even the yorubas are thesame...we dont we them...people that u can never trust..no more one naija..make all man carry their cross..
Posted: at 1-02-2015 12:45 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- femjay at 1-02-2015 01:11 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: dickman2 on  1-02-2015 12:45 PM
naija go divide soon..
we dont need northerners  around us..they are evil..even the yorubas are thesame...we dont we them...people that u can never trust..no more one naija..make all man carry their cross..

You must sick in head and mind  ..... You this lunactic ....I don't tink you took ur time to read the post her before gutting out  ur madness .......... You are a sick animal ... You dis RABID ... You are a bigot ....

what has tribe got to do with this ......Huh? I wil say you lack decorum .........

I will advice to keep that ur foolish mouth shut ... If you lack sense to say something worthwhile ......

Bloody swine !!!  Omo Aja .....  Oponu ....
Posted: at 1-02-2015 01:11 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- lakman at 1-02-2015 01:57 PM (9 years ago)
to hell with buhari, we nigeria don't need him. we nigerians need president jonathan, he is our man
Posted: at 1-02-2015 01:57 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- elchymo at 1-02-2015 05:03 PM (9 years ago)
Buhari's intonation will be phonetically abokilized durin d debate Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 1-02-2015 05:03 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- k4short2 at 1-02-2015 05:09 PM (9 years ago)
Aboki peoples cult aspirant bokohari  cannot make a difference , cos he is a failure n loser by birth n title. My frincifal kiv me fafer. Up jona. Goodluck to me n naija. Our first class material
Posted: at 1-02-2015 05:09 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac