Nigeria mobilizes 800 soldiers for Dafur

Date: 08-11-2009 10:05 am (14 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 8-11-2009 10:05 AM (14 years ago)
In its commitment to the maintenance of world peace, the Nigerian army has mobilized 800 officers and soldiers to undertake a course at the Peace Keeping Centre, Jaji, in Kaduna State, in preparation for a peace keeping mission in the Dafur region of Sudan.

Addressing 44 officers and 756 soldiers who departed Jos for Kaduna in the early hours of yesterday, the General Officer Commanding (GOC) the 3rd Armoured Divisions, Major General Saleh Maina, said the peace support operations where Nigeria send its contingent across the world is part of the country’s duty as a responsible member of the United Nations (UN).

He said that the selection of the soldiers in preparation for the mission was done after a rigorous medical and physical exercise.

According to Gen. Maina, Nigerian soldiers who have been participating in peace keeping missions across the world have been performing well since the ‘60s supporting UN efforts in the maintenance of world peace as observers or peace enforcers, saying countries where Nigeria has sent its troops include, Congo, Iraq, Iran, Lebanon, Somalia, Sierra Leone, Dafur, Liberia, among others.

“It is in continuation of this important role that you have been specially selected to undergo this training in preparation for the operation”.

He said “from here, you are going to proceed to the peace keeping centre in Jaji to continue your training. I spoke to the commander of the centre and he has assured me that all facilities are ready for the continuation of your training”.

Posted: at 8-11-2009 10:05 AM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- NKEMJOU at 11-11-2009 02:21 AM (14 years ago)
dem ask us? aproco country, provide electricity n roads n stop meddlin in oda countries biz...mtcheww
Posted: at 11-11-2009 02:21 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- onuorahuchenna at 11-11-2009 03:03 AM (14 years ago)
NO MIND DEM, DEY WAN USE CHANCE SCAM OYIBO PEOPLE AS PEACE MAKING COUNTRY.
Posted: at 11-11-2009 03:03 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- ezecyyyy at 11-11-2009 08:10 AM (14 years ago)
Na mad ppl them be.
Posted: at 11-11-2009 08:10 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- teeco at 11-11-2009 08:35 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: onuorahuchenna on 11-11-2009 03:03 AM
NO MIND DEM, DEY WAN USE CHANCE SCAM OYIBO PEOPLE AS PEACE MAKING COUNTRY.

you make sence Ooo Grin

Posted: at 11-11-2009 08:35 AM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kison at 13-04-2016 03:56 PM (8 years ago)
NEXT TIME BE careful, be very very careful, CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL……………………………….
Posted: at 13-04-2016 03:56 PM (8 years ago) | Hero