Jonathan Promises First Co-operative University In Southwest

Date: 21-02-2015 8:01 am (9 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 21-02-2015 08:01 AM (9 years ago)

President Goodluck Jonathan on Friday promised to set up the first Co-operative University in the country to be cited in South West region of Nigeria.
He made the promise during an interactive session with the Odua Cooperative Alliance (OCA), a South West Co-operative movement, at the State House, Marina, Lagos.

The President, however, said he would set up a study group to examine how such a university functioned in Kenya to determine the various faculties and departments suitable for Nigeria.

He said the study group would also comprise members of OCA which made the request.

“The issue of university is that, you will nominate some people and we will send them to Kenya to go and really look at the setting up of the Cooperative University.
“They will look at the key departments and faculties they have.
“I really believe in the setting up of specialised universities. That was why I set up the Maritime University in Delta State.”

The President said he was glad that such university already existed in Africa and Nigeria would follow.
He added that the Federal Government would liaise with the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) to create access to the cooperative movement to soft loans for small and medium-scale enterprises.

According to him, his administration created the Youwin and other programmes to grant interest-free loans to young entrepreneurs and will incorporate cooperatives into the programmes.
Jonathan also said he would require inputs from OCA to enable the Federal Government to review the cooperative laws in the country to make them to adapt to current realities.

He said a lot of laws in the country needed to be amended and such laws that did not require public hearing could be addressed with dispatch.
President Jonathan acknowledged the passion of the OCA to lift the image of the country in the international arena.

“That is what I demand from everybody, to do their best to bring honour and glory to the country.
“If every Nigerian, individual or organisation does this then, Nigeria will continue to grow from strength to strength.”
Jonathan thanked the group for the massive support it gave his administration and urged it to intimate members of the achievements of the administration to enable them to re-elect him for a second term.
Earlier, the President of the OCA, Asiwaju Adetokumbo Osisanya, said the group was satisfied with the great transformation President Jonathan had brought to the country.
He said “these are very visible in the agriculture, transportation, especially railways, jobs creation, respect of rule of law and organising free and fair elections.’’
Osisanya said the OCA, by the visit, wished to show appreciation to the President “for your great efforts at improving the quality of life of the average Nigerian’’ such as eliminating fuel scarcity and convening the national conference.
“By the national conference, you stood out as the most courageous and well-intended President we are blessed to have.”

He requested Jonathan to make provision for the N200 billion National Cooperative Fund as provided in the National Cooperative policy of 2002 and to relax guidelines for access to CBN N200 billion SME fund.
The group also requested the administration to provide intervention fund for effective take off of the National Cooperative Transport Scheme, as well as favourable policy framework for members to access national mortgage for housing.
The group assured the president of massive support with their votes during the 2015 polls.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 21-02-2015 08:01 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Shegzan at 21-02-2015 08:32 AM (9 years ago)
Ehen...? Kk nah#

Posted: at 21-02-2015 08:32 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- victorstic1 at 21-02-2015 08:34 AM (9 years ago)
WITHIN FEW DAYS OR IN UR DREAM BECAUSE AM NOT SURE U ARE TALKING ABOUT THE NEXT ELECTION!  JONA U HAVE BEEN PROMISNG EVERYBODY EG  NOLLYWOOD  MUMMYHOOD FATHERHOOD ETC WHAT ABOUT ELECTRICITYHOOD HOSPITALHOOD EDUCATIONHOOD ROADHOOD ABI THOSE OFFEND U
Posted: at 21-02-2015 08:34 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 21-02-2015 08:36 AM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 21-02-2015 08:36 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- alabere at 21-02-2015 09:23 AM (9 years ago)
U want ur share of National Cake, the Lord is watching as u are selling ur children future for ur own present.
Posted: at 21-02-2015 09:23 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- european1 at 21-02-2015 09:45 AM (9 years ago)
sorry wish railway this man they talk about...
Posted: at 21-02-2015 09:45 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- Ritabrenice at 21-02-2015 12:12 PM (9 years ago)
Na today?
Posted: at 21-02-2015 12:12 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- femjay at 21-02-2015 01:06 PM (9 years ago)
Empty barrel ..... EMpty promises !
Posted: at 21-02-2015 01:06 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osarobo62 at 21-02-2015 02:43 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: okotie on 21-02-2015 09:45 AM
sorry wish railway this man they talk about...
the one connecting Lagos to ibadan to benin through onitsha to port harcourt and then to yola and maiduguri and
from there to zaria, abuja and ilorin and back to lagos. Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 21-02-2015 02:43 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- BobGbadus at 22-02-2015 12:41 AM (9 years ago)
Still dreaming GEJ.
Posted: at 22-02-2015 12:41 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie

1. TRAGEDY: British Boxer Sherif Lawal Dies After Collapsing In Ring On Professional Debut

2. Grieving Father, Igboanugo Mourn Death Of Doctor Son Killed By Drunk Driver In America

3. Touching Moment Soldiers Are Seen Crying After Losing Colleagues To Terrorists

4. VIDE; "I’m Surprised Rihanna Recognized Me At An Event In London"– Ayra Starr Opens Up

5. Ex CBN Gov. Emefiele Faces Fresh Charge Over Printing Of Naira

6. Davido Celebrates First Child’s 9th Birthday Amid Drama With Babymama, Sophia Momodu

7. Court Remands Lagos Father, Joseph Gamor For Allegedly Defiling 13Yr Old Daughter

8. Police Arrest Three Suspects Over Killing Of PoS Operator, Mutiu In Ogun

9. Photos From The Burial Of 39Yr Old Benue Lady, Louisa Allegedly Murdered In Abuja

1. POLITICAL TURMOIL UNVEILED! 'Wike Was Instrumental To Peter Obi's Exit From PDP' - Paul Ibe

2. Peter Obi Visits Atiku in Abuja as Speculation of Unified Front For 2027 Elections Intensifies

3. Wetin She Wear - Movie Producer, Stanley Nwoko Mocks Destiny Etiko Over Her AMVCA Outfit

4. Lady Raises Alarm Over State of Actor, Nonso Diobi After Spotting Him in Her Area (Video)

5. Reactions as Naira Marley and Sam Larry Were Spotted Vibing to Portable's Diss Track About Them

6. Nigeria Rapper, Dremo Hits Back At Sarkodie’s Shade Of Nigeria’s Big 3 Artists With Diss Track

7. Afrobeat Singer, Davido Blasts Popular Blog For Calling Him “Papa Ifeanyi”

8. 'We Kidnap, Extort & Rap3 Male Victims' - Gang Of Homosegxwal Criminals Arrested In Lekki

9. EFCC Boss, Olukoyede Faces Visa Ban Threat Over Yahaya Bello's Case

10. Man Shoots Stepmom Who Tried To Give Him Hug During Graduation Ceremony