Ghanaian Surgeon, Agbeko Ocloo Writes Letter To Spanish Embassy In Ghana After He Was Refused a Visa

Date: 02-06-2015 10:09 am (8 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 2-06-2015 10:09 AM (8 years ago)
This has been trending on social media so we’ve decided to share it with you—that is if you’ve not already seen it. Of course he has a lot of valid points about the economic situation in Spain, however, that does not take away the Spanish’ embassy’s right to refuse entry…

Even, Iraq can refuse you a visa provided they have a functioning foreign mission.

The fault lies with the entry clearance officer who refused the visa—this  is an issue of poor discretion which happens everyday to many Ghanaians seeking to enter many of the these European countries. It’s good he has point his reply in such an epic manner…

Read the full letter below…

The Deputy Head of Mission
Embassy of Spain
Accra, Ghana

26th April 2015

Dear Sir:

I applied for a short-term visa to attend a medical conference in Barcelona from 26th April to 29th April 2015 and by your response dated 22nd April 2015 I had been denied an entry visa to your country. As was written in your rejection letter, I have an option of lodging a contentious-administrative appeal at the High Court of Justice of Madrid (Spain) within a two-month deadline counting from the date of serving. Since it is nigh impossible for me to get myself to Madrid and lodge my appeal I have decided to personally write to you for some clarification.

The reasons for denying me an entry visa were that the information regarding the justification for the purpose and conditions of the intended stay was not reliable and also that my intention to leave your country before the expiry of the visa could not be ascertained.
I know it is your prerogative to decide whom to grant a visa to but I feel personally insulted for the reasons you have given for the denial.

I am a highly trained orthopedic surgeon with specialty interest in orthopedic sports medicine and complex joint reconstruction. I have been a doctor for the past 20yrs. My current positions are:
1. Consultant Orthopedic Surgeon at the KorleBu Teaching Hospital.
2. Lecturer at the University of Ghana Medical School
3. Fellow of the West African College of Surgeons
4. Consultant for West Africa Rescue Association WARA. (I treat patients from the expatriate and diplomatic community including quite a number from Spain) I am sure if you were to injure yourself, am the most likely surgeon that you will be referred to.

I have attended medical conferences in Germany, Switzerland, South Africa, Japan, Canada, USA and Norway. Incidentally all these countries found my purpose for travelling justifiable except you. The letter of invitation I presented to you was written by a renowned surgeon in Madrid who trained in the same institution as I did in the United States. But I guess you did not find a letter written by such a person credible enough.

I find it laughable that you think I will not return to Ghana and end up as an illegal immigrant in Spain where people of my skin tone are treated as second-class citizens. I have a wife and children whom I do not intend to abandon. Although I do not consider myself wealthy, I am very comfortable economically and have investments in property and other assets in Ghana. How did you ever come to the conclusion that I was a flight risk?

May I kindly remind you of some basic facts about your country?

1. The unemployment rate in Spain presently is 25% and youth unemployment tops 50%. Why will I leave a stable job and to go and join the unemployment ranks in your country.
2. From January 2009 to end of 2013, 400,000 Spaniards emigrated to look for work outside of your country. And this is expected to rise in the coming years.
3. Doctors in Spain are the least/worst paid in the whole Euro zone. Why will I want to go work in a country where my counterparts are leaving in droves for economic reasons?
4. In the year 2012, it is on record that 2405 medical doctors applied for certification to work abroad, according to The Medical Spanish Association – a 75% increase compared with 2011. 83% of doctors seek jobs in Europe (mainly the UK and France) and 7% America.
5. In 2009, the Health Ministry warned that there was a shortage and that the country needed around 3,200 more doctors. By 2025, at the present rate the shortfall will be around 25,000. The Spanish government has talked of increasing the number of university and medical school places, as well as making it easier for overseas personnel to work here.

Sir, as a representative of the country of Spain you have failed woefully in your responsibility to promote the interest of your country by denying me a visa. My skill, knowledge and experience will be invaluable to the Spanish people even if I decided not to come back to Ghana. Furthermore my budget for this conference topped € 5000. This is the amount of money that would have been injected into the Spanish economy in a week. Can you imagine the economic loss if all the doctors from all over the world attending this conference were denied entry into Spain? I was due to present two papers and since I was not able to go I have informed the conveners of the conference of my inability to attend. This is an international conference and can you imagine the embarrassment your compatriot doctors will feel when it is announced that I could not present my scientific papers because you denied me a visa? Never mind that I cannot get a full refund for my ticket and my total booking for the hotel is not refundable.

Given the reason for visa rejection, a detailed explanation on which aspects of my application did not provide sufficient evidence that I will return to Ghana is most welcome. I am particularly curious to know of the lofty economic standards set for Ghanaians to visit to Spain when Spaniards themselves barely meet these standards.

Yours truly,

Dr. Agbeko Ocloo MB.ChB FWACS
Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon

Cc:
The Ambassador
Embassy of Spain
Accra,

Posted: at 2-06-2015 10:09 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- angesco at 2-06-2015 10:21 AM (8 years ago)
Well said. It is true. When one  person from an African nation with a dark skin tone, commits fraud, it automatically means to the Europeans - that ALL Africans are fraudsters.

However if an Englush man for example commits fraud in another Europen country, it does NOT affect  other Englush people wanting to travel.

This is a hardworking and intelligent man wanting to do even better for his country - the beloved motherland AFRICA!

Let them keep their visa. They cannot take away your qualufications as a a brillisnt doctor!
Posted: at 2-06-2015 10:21 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ololababs at 2-06-2015 10:23 AM (8 years ago)
Excellent! Grin

I love u die Grin
Posted: at 2-06-2015 10:23 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- dollypiper at 2-06-2015 10:23 AM (8 years ago)
Hahahahah....this Man finished finished and finished the Spanish embassy in Ghana (Choke Slam)
There's always a difference when learned persons talk!
Posted: at 2-06-2015 10:23 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- angesco at 2-06-2015 10:29 AM (8 years ago)

Well said. It is true. When one  person from an African nation with a dark skin tone, commits fraud, it automatically means to the Europeans - that ALL Africans are fraudsters.
However if an English man for example commits fraud in another European country, it does NOT affect  other English people wanting to travel.

This is a hard working and intelligent man wanting to do even better for his country - the beloved motherland AFRICA!

Let them keep their visa. They cannot take away your qualifications as a a brilliant doctor!
Posted: at 2-06-2015 10:29 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- asobcom at 2-06-2015 10:45 AM (8 years ago)
Espanyon under my foot, is also among poorest European countries: Portugal, Spain, Italy, Bulgaria, Romania, just mention view. Move on my able African Doctor, sky is your beginning.
Posted: at 2-06-2015 10:45 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- joromy at 2-06-2015 11:13 AM (8 years ago)
YES,  SPAIN, ITALY AND PORTUGAL ARE POOR YET THEY ARE 100 PERCENT BETER THAN ALL AFRICA COUNTRY . YOU TAKE IT OR YOU LEAVE IT. 1000 YEARS TO COME AFRICA WILL NOT BE LIKE THE COUNTRY THAT ARE  POOR IN EUROPE. SPAIN HAVE THE BEST HOSPITAL IN EUROPE. TELL ME WHY YOU ARE COMMING TO SPAIN FOR MORE STUDY, HAVE YOU EVER SEE A SPANNISH MAN OR WOMAN COMMING TO AFRICA COUNTRY FOR STUDY KNOWN IT CAN'T HAPPEN.
Posted: at 2-06-2015 11:13 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bayonel3 at 2-06-2015 11:21 AM (8 years ago)
nice one

Posted: at 2-06-2015 11:21 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- beneno at 2-06-2015 11:24 AM (8 years ago)
ooooh
Posted: at 2-06-2015 11:24 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- joromy at 2-06-2015 11:25 AM (8 years ago)
AFRICA COUNTRY FILL DEY KNOWN SOMETHING LET ME TELL YOU WE ARE VERY FAR FROM ALL THIS COUNTRY YOU JUST MENTION THAT THEY ARE POOR. YOU CAN'T STAY IN AFRICA AND START TALKING TO THE COUNTRY THAT WANT YOU TO KNOW SOMETHING. YOU DOCTOR STOP TALKING TRACH IF DEY REJECT YOU A VISAS YOU HAVE TO RE APPLY AGAIN DAN YOU TALKING LIKE BUSH ANIMAL. KNOWN BODY IN WESTERN COUNTRY RECOGNISE YOUR DOCTOR CERTIFICATE IS ONLY AFRICA THAT CERTIFICATE ARE RECOGNISE NOT IN EUROPE OR OTHERS DEVELOPE COUNTRY.
Posted: at 2-06-2015 11:25 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- XTnote at 2-06-2015 11:43 AM (8 years ago)
You said it right Doc
Posted: at 2-06-2015 11:43 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- angesco at 2-06-2015 11:53 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: joromy on  2-06-2015 11:25 AM
AFRICA COUNTRY FILL DEY KNOWN SOMETHING LET ME TELL YOU WE ARE VERY FAR FROM ALL THIS COUNTRY YOU JUST MENTION THAT THEY ARE POOR. YOU CAN'T STAY IN AFRICA AND START TALKING TO THE COUNTRY THAT WANT YOU TO KNOW SOMETHING. YOU DOCTOR STOP TALKING TRACH IF DEY REJECT YOU A VISAS YOU HAVE TO RE APPLY AGAIN DAN YOU TALKING LIKE BUSH ANIMAL. KNOWN BODY IN WESTERN COUNTRY RECOGNISE YOUR DOCTOR CERTIFICATE IS ONLY AFRICA THAT CERTIFICATE ARE RECOGNISE NOT IN EUROPE OR OTHERS DEVELOPE COUNTRY.

You can say what you want using capital letters - but that does not make your point valid.

Africa has produced some of the best doctors in the world. Some time ago some Europeans were inviting Africans (and Asians) doctors AND nurses to Europe to come and fill up posts in their hospitals their OWN people were not qualified enough to work in. The decision not to issue him a visa is based on their stereotypical view of ALL Africans. They see us as thieves and scoundrels and no-gooders. For them to look at every  African that steps into their consul seeking a visa as a potential economic migrant is absurd to say the least.  I always thought consuls/embassy's went to great lengths to determine how valid a visa applicant was? Well, they clearly did not do this in this case.

And OUR certificates are recognised around the world hence the fact that thousands of Nigerians and Ghanaians are working all over the world after having studied and qualified in their  OWN respective countries.

My prayer is that your low esteem does not hinder your progress in life,

Have a nice day!!    
Posted: at 2-06-2015 11:53 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- joromy at 2-06-2015 12:50 PM (8 years ago)
WHY MUST U SICK VISAS TO WORK IN EUROPE AS A QUALIFY DOCTOR TELL ME.LET SAY THE FACT AND THE FACT WILL NOT HINDER YOUR PROGRESS.
Posted: at 2-06-2015 12:50 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bong11 at 2-06-2015 01:10 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: joromy on  2-06-2015 11:13 AM
YES,  SPAIN, ITALY AND PORTUGAL ARE POOR YET THEY ARE 100 PERCENT BETER THAN ALL AFRICA COUNTRY . YOU TAKE IT OR YOU LEAVE IT. 1000 YEARS TO COME AFRICA WILL NOT BE LIKE THE COUNTRY THAT ARE  POOR IN EUROPE. SPAIN HAVE THE BEST HOSPITAL IN EUROPE. TELL ME WHY YOU ARE COMMING TO SPAIN FOR MORE STUDY, HAVE YOU EVER SEE A SPANNISH MAN OR WOMAN COMMING TO AFRICA COUNTRY FOR STUDY KNOWN IT CAN'T HAPPEN.

I know commenting on your thought about Africa is to bring myself to your level. you live in Germany right. I have been reading your comments on other subject as well, You have never made any reasonable comment since you join this forum. I will advise you, you must not comment if you don`t know what to say. Just keep your dirty stinking mouth and your pig brain closed.
Du bist eine Schande für deine Familie und für die Ganges Nigerianisches Bürger

Posted: at 2-06-2015 01:10 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Lisabi at 2-06-2015 01:45 PM (8 years ago)
Is not going on study, is going on conference. Just one week. Point of correction JOROMY
Posted: at 2-06-2015 01:45 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- satsaver at 2-06-2015 03:29 PM (8 years ago)
Gbagam!
Posted: at 2-06-2015 03:29 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Oways at 2-06-2015 03:38 PM (8 years ago)
Nice one Doc
Posted: at 2-06-2015 03:38 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- PoliticxGuru at 2-06-2015 04:12 PM (8 years ago)
some people just woke up from a nightmare and start blabbing nonsense, u av to read the content of the post before altering any silly comment.... The phyuking truth has been said by the Ghanian if u like take it if u don't like go and the phyuking Transformer
Posted: at 2-06-2015 04:12 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- darylsmith at 2-06-2015 04:51 PM (8 years ago)
First of all we need to start deporting and refusing visa to these europeans
secondly spain is facing serious economic and financial crises
their unemployment level is just as bad as Naija
Africa has to realise that most of our natural resources are being pilfered by EU
The moment we realise they need us and not we need them
Our situation will turn around.
GHANA DOC STAY blessed
Posted: at 2-06-2015 04:51 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- martinsohion at 2-06-2015 05:40 PM (8 years ago)
Doc i rather think ur Appeal cum letter is as equal ur visa refusal even when u were over qualified according to u, However emunerating their defaults on public media is as worse also, when we all well know villages in Spain have better infrauctures than some Africa big cites e.g niaja,Ghana... further more present ur case to d appropriate department with solid evidence, they will listern, no worry d issuieng officer na bad belle worri an say u get too many certificate pass am
Posted: at 2-06-2015 05:40 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie

1. Disgraceful Videos Of Student Bullying In Nigeria's Boarding School, Lead British School Abuja

2. Kenyan Police Reportedly Arrest Binance Executive, Nadeem Anjarwalla Who Fled Nigeria

3. SAD: Five Missing Children Found Suffocated To Death Inside Car In Niger State

4. Many Dead As Two Navy Helicopters Crash After Colliding Mid-Air In Malaysia

5. Police, Ogun State Govt On Trail Of Killers Of Babcock University Lecturer

6. 500 Lawyers Storm Supreme Court Over Planned Arrest Of Ex-kogi Gov, Yahaya Bello On Fraud

7. Total Blackout Hits Three States As Vandals Destroy TCN Towers

8. How Strange Illness Claims 8 Lives In Sokoto, 208 Cases Identified

9. Mercy Chinwo Not Aware EeZee Tee Treated Me Unfairly – Producer Dr Roy Says After Calling Her

10. NSCDC Intercepts 10 'Potential' Human Trafficking Victims In FCT

11. "Most Hit Songs In Nigeria Are Not Good Music" – Nigerian Singer Ric Hassani Claims

12. Naira Abuse: I’m Only Artist Who Stops Supporters From Spraying Me Says Seun Kuti

13. Singer, Fireboy Recounts How He Failed Trying To Copy Beyonce's Stage Presence

14. Kanye West Shocks Many As He Says He Wants To Have Threesome With Ex 1st Lady, Michelle Obama

5. Pastor, David Odeniyi Seeks Divorce After Wife Strips Him Nak3d In Front Of His Congregation

7. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

8. Nollywood Actress Toyin Abraham Extends Olive Branch To Funke Akindele,Calls For Industry Unity

9. Nigerian Man Introduces Innovative Solution For Money Spraying At Parties Amidst EFCC Crackdown

10. Owner of Cybercrime 'Yahoo Yahoo' Training School, Ikemesit Edet Jailed 10 Years in Uyo