Yoruba Language Tops List Of Languages Required By The Metropolitan Police

Date: 20-07-2015 10:37 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 20-07-2015 10:37 PM (8 years ago)

Scotland Yard has come under fire today after placing an advert demanding that anyone wanting to join as a police officer be able to speak a second language.
The Metropolitan Police wants to bolster the number of officers able to speak and understand 14 languages which are widely used across London.

As part of a month-long trial which started today, new recruits must speak English and one of Yoruba (Nigeria), Hebrew, Arabic, Hindi, Punjabi, Italian, German, Turkish, Greek, Spanish, Polish, Portuguese, Sinhala (Sri Lanka) or Bengali to join as Met Police officers.

But the move has sparked criticism from a former officer and members of the public on Twitter.

Retired Met Police officer Chris Hobbs wrote: “I’ve kept reading and re-reading it. Can’t believe it. What about potential BME (black and minority ethnic) recruits who only speak English.”
He added: “Won’t this also adversely affect the recruitment of guys and girls from the black community whom we would like 2 [sic] see more of?”

After Commissioner Bernard Hogan-Howe set an ambitious target of having 40 per cent of all officers from Black and Minority Ethnic backgrounds, only 18 per cent met that criteria when the latest intake passed out in March.

According to a report published by the London Assembly Police and Crime Committee in December 2014, before the most recent recruitment campaign, only 11 per cent of officers serving in the Met were from Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic background, compared with approximately 40 per cent of the population of London. The current BME figure in the Met is now 12 per cent.

Members of the public also appeared less than enthusiastic about the new initiative.
Simon Holdaway tweeted: “The Met’s lack of understanding of the problems it faces is stunning’, while another user wrote: ‘the lunatics have finally overtaken the asylum.”
Meanwhile, Carole Hawkins tweeted: “For £19,000 a year, this country is now getting really stupid.”

Metropolitan Police commissioner Sir Bernard Hogan-Howe said: “We know that almost 300 languages are spoken in the capital. We need to recruit and deploy officers with second languages in areas where those languages are spoken.

“I believe it will help boost confidence, help to solve crime more effectively and support victims and witnesses.”

A Met Police spokesman said: “It’s a pilot scheme for four weeks. We will review it after four weeks and see what the take-up is and how successful it has been in terms of the number of people expressing an interest.

“With so many languages spoken in London we recognise that some of our victims, witnesses and others who come into contact with the police may not be fluent in English.
“This is about strengthening our capability to match the needs of some Londoners. We know there is a demonstrable link between the skills and capabilities of our workforce and public confidence in London’s police.

“The language requirement is the latest in a number of initiatives the MPS has introduced in a bid to make the MPS more reflective of London’s communities.”

Chairman of the Metropolitan Black Police Association, Janet Hills, said: ‘This is about the cultural competency of officers within the organisation and those they are looking to recruit.
“The MetBPA are broadly supportive of the intention but recognise that more needs to be done to effectively utilise the existing skills of Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic officers by consciously placing them into communities where they will have the greatest impact.

“Language is just one of the competencies that the MPS can utilise but unless officers with the right skills are placed in the right locations these attributes will be wasted.”

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 20-07-2015 10:37 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Awosolakay at 20-07-2015 11:04 PM (8 years ago)
yoruba on top,it will soon turn to naija language;;;
Posted: at 20-07-2015 11:04 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- dickieponga at 20-07-2015 11:14 PM (8 years ago)
About time as well...
Posted: at 20-07-2015 11:14 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- fesocan at 20-07-2015 11:18 PM (8 years ago)
Can't stop laughing here. Just too funny
Posted: at 20-07-2015 11:18 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- dis4real at 20-07-2015 11:53 PM (8 years ago)
Ok nah
Posted: at 20-07-2015 11:53 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Ken1230 at 21-07-2015 02:18 AM (8 years ago)
Hahaha, Yoruba and crime are like twins. So the police is right.
Posted: at 21-07-2015 02:18 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bamilok2008 at 21-07-2015 04:23 AM (8 years ago)
nice move to promote Nigeria language
Posted: at 21-07-2015 04:23 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- ignis99 at 21-07-2015 07:59 AM (8 years ago)
shooooo
Posted: at 21-07-2015 07:59 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- angesco at 21-07-2015 08:23 AM (8 years ago)
This can be looked at in two ways.

1. They want to promote the Yoruba language?
2. Most Nigerians (of a particular tribe) arrested have a poor command of English and so they need translators to communictae effectively with them?

(H)ow are you? (H)ave a nice day. I love your (h)ouse!!!!!!!!! 
Posted: at 21-07-2015 08:23 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- lekzy at 21-07-2015 08:44 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Ken1230 on 21-07-2015 02:18 AM
             what about you people,
 baby factory
Posted: at 21-07-2015 08:44 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- beneno at 21-07-2015 09:38 AM (8 years ago)
ooooooooh
Posted: at 21-07-2015 09:38 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- femjay at 21-07-2015 09:41 AM (8 years ago)

Hey nitwit ......

May thunder fire that ur prick left and right ....

Retarted bastard ...  Go and change that ur name .....
Posted: at 21-07-2015 09:41 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- femjay at 21-07-2015 09:44 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: angesco on 21-07-2015 08:23 AM
This can be looked at in two ways.

1. They want to promote the Yoruba language?
2. Most Nigerians (of a particular tribe) arrested have a poor command of English and so they need translators to communictae effectively with them?

(H)ow are you? (H)ave a nice day. I love your (h)ouse!!!!!!!!! 

Agreed ..... Thanks for ur sensible post ......
God bless you ....may you nevr wisdom and knowledge ......  I love intelligent and intellectual people like you ....keep it up ....
Posted: at 21-07-2015 09:44 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dareper at 21-07-2015 09:58 AM (8 years ago)
Yes oo. Cus na yoruba full london naa. Go peckamp u go think say na ibadan u dey.
Posted: at 21-07-2015 09:58 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- proly at 21-07-2015 10:09 AM (8 years ago)
Hhahahahhaha na so
Posted: at 21-07-2015 10:09 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- ngfineface at 21-07-2015 10:32 AM (8 years ago)
The British police have a point here. London is full of Nigerians, mostly Yoruba's just like Ibo's are in the US. It will make their work seamless if they understand and can speak a second language of which Nigeria/Yoruba is one
Posted: at 21-07-2015 10:32 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Nicksam at 21-07-2015 10:33 AM (8 years ago)
YORUBAS IN LONDON IGBOS IN USA NA WA OOO
Posted: at 21-07-2015 10:33 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Solidstonez at 21-07-2015 10:46 AM (8 years ago)
Hmmmmmmm

Posted: at 21-07-2015 10:46 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- steveoneal at 21-07-2015 10:48 AM (8 years ago)
Na your family be criminals .. go anywhere in the world and see how  people from your fu...cking tribe is dragging nigeria´s name in the mud on daily basis. baby hatchery product
Posted: at 21-07-2015 10:48 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- toniwiseman at 21-07-2015 02:53 PM (8 years ago)
THIS POINTS TO THE FACT THAT YORUBAS COMMITS THE HIGHEST CRIME IN UK, THE TRUTH IS THAT WHAT THE MET POLICE ARE LOOKING FOR ARE PEOPLE  WHO CAN TRANSLATE YORUBA CRIMINAL DISCUSIONS ON TELEFONE OR INTERNET, HAHAHA NA WA, YOURUBA WITH CRIME EVERYWHERE
Posted: at 21-07-2015 02:53 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie

1. 70 Passengers Found Vomiting Bug During Flight From Mauritius To Frankfurt

2. I'm Open To Dating WOMEN - Khloe Kardashian Announces

3. Nigeria Man Narrates How His Dad Impregnated His Ex-girlfriend And Took Her Out Of The Country

4. Holy Spirit Always Gives Me Lotto Number Whenever We Don't Have Anything To Eat -Efotete Family

5. “Something Foul Is Going On” – Very Dark Man Reveals Update On Nickie Dabarbie’s Whereabouts

6. Nasboi Opens Up On Why He Thought Sydney Talker Was A Yahoo Boy

7. Arsenal v Bournemouth: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

8. Manchester City v Wolves: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

1. Stop Lagos-Calabar Highway Project - Obi Tells Tinubu As Demolition of Landmark Centre Begins

2. "Stop Inciting Igbos Against Tinubu Govt" – Umahi Slams Peter Obi

3. FRESH: Nollywood Lovers, IK Ogbonna & Ini Edo Reportedly Engaged

4. MAY 1st; Peter Obi Celebrates Nigerian Workers, Sends Message

5. Peter Obi Reacts To The Deaths Of 35 Nigerians In Horrific Kogi, Enugu Road Clashes

6. “Wizkid Undergoing Mental Illness, No Longer Together With Jada – Isaac Fayose Reveals

7. Watch As Lions Have S3x On Top Of Safari Truck Full Of People

8. How A Nigerian Woman Loses Her Marketing Job For Failing to Meet N300m Monthly Target

9. Lagos Gov Sanwo Olu Appoints Wasiu Ayinde's Daughter, Basirat As SSA To Gov On Tourism

10. Kenya Gets First Female Air Force Commander, Major General Fatuma Gaiti Ahmed