FG Approves N400M For Nigerian Students On Nigerian Government Scholarships Abroad

Date: 04-09-2015 8:55 am (8 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4
- at 4-09-2015 08:55 AM (8 years ago)
The Federal Government has approved N400 million for the payment of upkeep allowances of Nigerian students on foreign scholarships.

The acting Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Education, Hindatu Abdullahi, made the disclosure in an interview with the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) in Abuja on Wednesday.

Ms. Abdullahi attributed the delay to non-release of capital allowance and the change in government which delayed the release of capital allocation for 2015.
She explained that the upkeep allowance of the scholars did not come as overhead allocation but capital allocation.

According to her, the allowance payable to the scholars outside the country is from January to December and it is calculated and captured in the budget every year.
She said the plight of the students was being taken seriously, adding that “we just have an approval of about N400 million, we are now working with the Federal Ministry of Finance to obtain it.

“After that, we will head to the Budget Office and the Central Bank of Nigeria to ensure that the money is remitted as soon as possible to the missions.
“In terms of the paper work, we have concluded; we want to pay something so that their hardship will be minimised.
Ms. Abdullahi said the entitlements were being worked out from January to December, adding that in 2014, the students got all allowances for the year between July and August.

“Whenever we receive capital allocation in the ministry, we work out the scholarship money and pay into CBN.
“CBN will now remit same in line with the information we have given them; it will remit to embassies which will remit to the scholars.
The acting permanent secretary said that if there was any delay in the release of capital allocation, it would affect scholars’ upkeep allowances.

(NAN)

Posted: at 4-09-2015 08:55 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- hackynoni111 at 4-09-2015 08:57 AM (8 years ago)
well work FG
Posted: at 4-09-2015 08:57 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 4-09-2015 09:01 AM (8 years ago)
Noted but they try and publish d names of d students and wat they worth so we all we kn how d money is disburse. its abt time. Dis abrakadabra shld stop. We all take accounts so dat wen corruption is played, we will kn and together foght against it.
Posted: at 4-09-2015 09:01 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ngfineface at 4-09-2015 09:25 AM (8 years ago)
It will be nice if they implement if
Posted: at 4-09-2015 09:25 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- bayonel3 at 4-09-2015 09:38 AM (8 years ago)
thats a nice move if it will be followed through and not just a facade

Posted: at 4-09-2015 09:38 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- angesco at 4-09-2015 09:39 AM (8 years ago)
As long as the students are studying courses that are RELEVANT to the progress of the country. And secondly, at the end of  their education programme they RETURN to Nigeria, get a job and make a worthwhile contribution to the nation.
Posted: at 4-09-2015 09:39 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Fashoney at 4-09-2015 09:41 AM (8 years ago)
Rubbish..what about those ones here in nigeria schooling,even graduates in search of job???
Posted: at 4-09-2015 09:41 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- emma4love3 at 4-09-2015 10:11 AM (8 years ago)
mmmmmmm very nice....to hear
Posted: at 4-09-2015 10:11 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- dollypiper at 4-09-2015 10:21 AM (8 years ago)
Arrant Nonsense!
Posted: at 4-09-2015 10:21 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dollypiper at 4-09-2015 10:23 AM (8 years ago)
Misplaced. Priorities, do you know how many Harvard like schools N400m will build n Nigeria?
Posted: at 4-09-2015 10:23 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- franklinseyea at 4-09-2015 10:32 AM (8 years ago)
Good work.... keep it up
Posted: at 4-09-2015 10:32 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 4-09-2015 10:38 AM (8 years ago)
na wa ooooooooooo
Posted: at 4-09-2015 10:38 AM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- bayonel3 at 4-09-2015 10:45 AM (8 years ago)
those students abrod to should study hard and not take it for granted

Posted: at 4-09-2015 10:45 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Blessed75 at 4-09-2015 11:06 AM (8 years ago)
Hope my school is among i spend five hundred thousand every year
Posted: at 4-09-2015 11:06 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Blessed75 at 4-09-2015 11:07 AM (8 years ago)
Hope my school is among i spend five hundred thousand every year
Posted: at 4-09-2015 11:07 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dareper at 4-09-2015 11:36 AM (8 years ago)
Nice move
Posted: at 4-09-2015 11:36 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Abgasko at 4-09-2015 11:45 AM (8 years ago)
thats good, i hope the plan will not be highjacked
Posted: at 4-09-2015 11:45 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- barackderay at 4-09-2015 11:59 AM (8 years ago)
gud
hw I which am one of dem
Posted: at 4-09-2015 11:59 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- dareper at 4-09-2015 12:07 PM (8 years ago)
Hahahaha! Politicxguru has been strip again. From 1213 points to 138. Now is is at number 10 or 8. Hahahaha. Nice one naijapals. Current comment from current news only.
Posted: at 4-09-2015 12:07 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- christianity at 4-09-2015 12:16 PM (8 years ago)
noted,but hope dat all of them ar not ghost students???cos in the zoo everything is posible
Posted: at 4-09-2015 12:16 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
[1] 2 3 4

1. 86 Makeshift Apartments Where Tenants Pay N250,000 Annually Uncovered Beneath Lagos Bridge

2. Netizens Dig Up Tunde Ednut’s Throwback Performance At Children's Party Amidst Wizkid & Davido

3. VIDEO; Nigerian Boy Stirs Reactions After Flaunting His Older White Lover

4. VID: Xxssive Reveals That Wizkid Might Have Been Paid to Start Fight With Davido

5. Former Big Brother Naija Star, Chomzy Welcomes Baby Boy With Husband

6. "Follow Due Process In Prosecuting Yahaya Bello" – Actor Segun Arinze Tells EFCC

7. Edo Governor Obaseki Reveals Why He Approved N70,000 Minimum Wage

8. EFCC Slammed With N10m Damages For Declaring Pastor, Wife Wanted Without Court Order

9. 'No Minimum Wage By End Of May, No Peace' – Labour Threatens Nigerian Govt

10. "Why We Choose Collaboration Over Beef" – Fireboy On Why He's Working With Rema

11. Barcelona Set To Tackle Financial Woes By Clearing Out Eight Players (Full List)

12. Veteran Actress, Sola Sobowale Recounts Difficult Life She Lives Abroad

13. He Is Undoubtedly The 001 Of The Nigerian Music Industry – Senator Dino Melaye Gives Davido Nod

14. Phyna’s Alleged Ex Boyfriend Threatens To Expose Her To World If She Talks About Davido

1. Nigerian Tenant Discovers Landlord With Wife & Daughter, Sparks Outrage Online (Video)

2. Benin Kingdom Suspends Five Functionaries For ‘Unauthorised’ Visit To Ooni Of Ife

3. Stop Lagos-Calabar Highway Project - Obi Tells Tinubu As Demolition of Landmark Centre Begins

4. Lady Who Worked As A Maid In Saudi Arabia Narrates Her Harrowing Ordeal As Boss Impregnates Her

5. Investigation Launched Into Mysterious Death Of VGC Chairman, Gihan Mbelu In Lagos

6. No More Big 3 In Afrobeat, I'm On Same Level With Wizkid, Davido And Burnaboy - Rema Reveals

7. I Will Reconcile Atiku And Wike If I Emerge PDP National Chairman – Suswam

8. VIDEO: Singer, Davido Becomes First to Own The $500,000 2024 Rolls Royce Spectre

9. Drama As Actress, Toyin Abraham Ajeyemi Clashes With Area Boys On Movie Set (Video)

10. Wunmi Ajiboye Reunites With Estranged Husband, Segun Ogungbe, Days After Dragging Him (Video)