Top 6 Slangs You Must Know When You're in Lagos

Date: 28-10-2015 3:58 pm (8 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 28-10-2015 03:58 PM (8 years ago)

Lagos is the heartbeat of Nigeria-economically, socially and otherwise. From the comical to the puzzling and the most shocking, it all happens in this city of over 15 million people. It is a fascinating place to be.
 New Oshodi
Due to the complexities that make Lagos unique, people have evolved different ways to communicate, interact and pass along messages which can only be understood by people who are familiar with these slangs.

As a first time visitor in Lagos, you need to keep these slangs at your finger-tips as they may come handy at any time. Jovago.com, Africa’s No 1 hotel booking portal shares 5 street parlance you must know if you are resident in the centre of excellence.

Johnny Just Come
Also known as JJC, it is an argot used to describe someone who is naive because they are visiting an unfamiliar terrain for the first time. If people find this to be your status, they may want to take advantage of you. So, do not act like a JJC especially when you are inside a public bus or transacting business.

Akube
Amongst traders of Igbo extraction, Akube refers to goods or products that have little quality or have been previously used. Interestingly, many people have come to associate themselves with Akube products as its affordability attracts higher purchase.

Shine Your Eyes
Shine your eyes simply admonish you to be very vigilant. This is because Lagos is a crowded city and nearly everyone is in a hurry. You should be vigilant and conscious. By the you do not need to worry too much because Lagos is safe but ensure that you shine your eyes always.

On You Own
Oyo is a state in South-west Nigeria. However, when ear catches that word, they are not referring to Oyo State rather it simply means you are On Your Own. For example, if you want to borrow money from a friend, he uses the acronym Oyo, it means it is not possible. It is often used to express negation.

Owambe
Even though Owambe is a Yoruba slang, it is now a universal expression for partying. So, when next you hear Owambe, get your traditional wear ready, you are going for a christening, birthday or wedding and ensure that you enjoy yourself.

Posted: at 28-10-2015 03:58 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- satsaver at 28-10-2015 04:29 PM (8 years ago)
All na post
Posted: at 28-10-2015 04:29 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- perfection18 at 28-10-2015 04:37 PM (8 years ago)
FTC
Posted: at 28-10-2015 04:37 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- elchymo at 28-10-2015 05:03 PM (8 years ago)
So this is actually a post.? Na wa oo
Posted: at 28-10-2015 05:03 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- morgrawl231 at 28-10-2015 05:38 PM (8 years ago)
Hmmmm....
Posted: at 28-10-2015 05:38 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- saviourekpe at 28-10-2015 05:52 PM (8 years ago)
and so, what next?
Posted: at 28-10-2015 05:52 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- musleh247 at 28-10-2015 06:34 PM (8 years ago)
Dis poster no get wetin to post again, him just dey formulate tins come out from his head,
Posted: at 28-10-2015 06:34 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- youngrashy at 28-10-2015 06:45 PM (8 years ago)
Are u people serious?
Posted: at 28-10-2015 06:45 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- youngrashy at 28-10-2015 06:46 PM (8 years ago)
Are u people serious?
Posted: at 28-10-2015 06:46 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 28-10-2015 07:06 PM (8 years ago)
Dis is not even close to slang we speak in lagos here na. Dis ones u post are jt normal word. If u want to kn d latest ones, listen to Lil Kesh songs then u will hear some in broken english and yoruba too.
Posted: at 28-10-2015 07:06 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Agentchris at 28-10-2015 08:11 PM (8 years ago)
Ko.kan.aye
Posted: at 28-10-2015 08:11 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- dickieponga at 28-10-2015 09:03 PM (8 years ago)
We no dat one longtime ago...
Posted: at 28-10-2015 09:03 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- AmazingMarie at 28-10-2015 10:02 PM (8 years ago)
@ poster akube o.
Posted: at 28-10-2015 10:02 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- aspeng007 at 28-10-2015 10:43 PM (8 years ago)
Dis 1 na news?chai,dis poster na akube shaaaa.
Posted: at 28-10-2015 10:43 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- stella1981 at 28-10-2015 10:58 PM (8 years ago)
Is that all poster
Posted: at 28-10-2015 10:58 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- chealseafc at 29-10-2015 12:14 AM (8 years ago)
june 12
Posted: at 29-10-2015 12:14 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jossy4reall at 29-10-2015 06:15 AM (8 years ago)
imagine this post

Posted: at 29-10-2015 06:15 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- BusyHorse at 29-10-2015 08:53 AM (8 years ago)
Mtcheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeew!
Posted: at 29-10-2015 08:53 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 29-10-2015 10:02 AM (8 years ago)
poster where you get this out dated slang's ?
Posted: at 29-10-2015 10:02 AM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- SSMALGWA at 29-10-2015 06:18 PM (8 years ago)
clear road. .....
Posted: at 29-10-2015 06:18 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie