MUST READ: How Fake Pastors Swindle Teenagers At Kubwa

Date: 04-11-2015 12:09 pm (8 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 4-11-2015 12:09 PM (8 years ago)

There has been incessant cases of teenagers in the F.C.T, Abuja being defrauded by unscrupulous people posing as pastors in order to swiftly win the trust of their victims.
They are often seen hanging around commercial banks in corporate attires. Their dressing is not in any way suspicious as it makes them look like pastors or even the bankers. Their prime targets are mostly impressionable teenagers who visit the banks either to pay in or withdraw money, according to Reporters
Silver James is a member of this gang of criminals who specialists in swindling residents of Kubwa, one of the fast-growing satellite towns in the FCT, using spiritual means. He said he was introduced to the business by one of his friends who claimed to be a paint dealer in Abuja.
James, a 39-year-old painter in the eastern part of the country, said he was deceived into joining the gang after giving his friend the sum of N50,000 to help him procure a pickup van for his work which he waited for three months without delivery.

“One day, I called him to return my money since the goods were no longer available, but he promised to introduce me to another business which would pay better than the painting work I was doing. That was how I found myself in Abuja two weeks later,”
he said.
According to James, it took him few weeks to learn the tricks of the fraud before he finally joined the syndicate.
“We always stand by the gate of banks to lay ambush on our victims. As soon as we sight a customer, most of whom are teenagers, going towards the ATM point to withdraw money, one of us would approach him and start prophesying to him that he has a bright future but that the devil wants to truncate it,”
he said.
The suspect said they would promise the victims to take them to a certain place where prayers would be conducted on him for his cleansing, but only on the condition that he/she would be ready to offer some amount of money, and his phones collected from him.
“Once the boy withdraws money from the machine and hands it over to any of us, we carry him in our car which is already waiting within the bank premises to a lonely place where we drop him and disappear,”
he narrated.
The suspect, who confessed that it was only the sixth time he had committed the fraud, said he was caught in the act on the day he was arrested.
“I was still talking with the boy when my colleague sighted the police officer and he left me and drove off with the car. That was how I got caught,” he decried.
He further confessed that they do not use any charm to operate, describing their tricks as mere psychology.
“Since I joined them, I have not seen them making any incantation before embarking on any operation. Besides, it is not every person we approach that succumbs to our tricks. Some would say they are not interested, and we don’t force them,”
he added.
One of the victims who simply identified himself as Tochy, while narrating his ordeal, said he lost the sum of N25,000 to the swindlers.
“It was like a film. Their appearance was so deceptive that before they even opened their mouth to start talking to you, you are already attracted to their discussion,”
he lamented.
Reacting, the Kubwa Divisional Police Officer, Chief Superintendent Nurrudeen Sabo confirmed the arrest of the fraudster, saying that 10 mobile phones and a fake camouflage cap belonging to the Immigration Service were recovered from him.
He advised residents to be wary of the presence of these fraudsters within bank premises so as not to fall for their gimmicks.
Sabo also urged parents and guardians to avoid sending their vulnerable under-aged wards, who the criminals always take advantage of to the banks, especially to lodge in or withdraw money.

Posted: at 4-11-2015 12:09 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- morgrawl231 at 4-11-2015 12:17 PM (8 years ago)
Fakkie fakkie everywhere.....lord have mercy...
Posted: at 4-11-2015 12:17 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Honourable1 at 4-11-2015 12:38 PM (8 years ago)
Naija which way na
Posted: at 4-11-2015 12:38 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- elchymo at 4-11-2015 12:42 PM (8 years ago)
Na today? Before them utter one word, hot back hand slap wey I go land them, dey think say everybody na mugu? Chai...
Posted: at 4-11-2015 12:42 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- elchymo at 4-11-2015 12:44 PM (8 years ago)
Hahaha, I dey see dem wella. Even those people wey dey beg money say dem no get transport fare, the kind eye wey I dey look dem, them sef know say I dey see inside dia spirit say dem be scam...
Posted: at 4-11-2015 12:44 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Novic at 4-11-2015 12:55 PM (8 years ago)
9ja with stupid brain. our brain only work for bad thing not to create gud things amoung us. they should dance to the tone.
Posted: at 4-11-2015 12:55 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Novic at 4-11-2015 01:01 PM (8 years ago)
Money palava.. Coruptn everywhere. frm up til dwn, we dnt knw anything else than to look for bad way to make money, nobdy want to use his/her hand to work. na to collect them knw.
Posted: at 4-11-2015 01:01 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- virgineve at 4-11-2015 01:03 PM (8 years ago)
signs of the end times...Its not surprising because the Bible warned us to watch out. They are wolves in sheep clothing
Posted: at 4-11-2015 01:03 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Novic at 4-11-2015 01:04 PM (8 years ago)
fake pastor all over nigeria. even i beliv all nigeria pastor are fake becz even churches has turn to business center
Posted: at 4-11-2015 01:04 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- musleh247 at 4-11-2015 01:12 PM (8 years ago)
Rubbish, if no be our people wey dey greedy, how can u see person for the first time dey prophesy for, later him tell you make you follow dem go where dem go fit pray for you, in this evil days
Posted: at 4-11-2015 01:12 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- musleh247 at 4-11-2015 01:19 PM (8 years ago)
Anyway thank God say na so dem dey do their own reach, some dey carry their victims go kill troway
Posted: at 4-11-2015 01:19 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zezprincess at 4-11-2015 01:22 PM (8 years ago)
Greedy pple are those ones that fall d victim.xpecially ladies,make una shine una eyes.
Posted: at 4-11-2015 01:22 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- zezprincess at 4-11-2015 01:24 PM (8 years ago)
Ndi ojoor,wicked and greedy people,since u guys have dis kind of brain,y not find or use it to do something more useful.
Posted: at 4-11-2015 01:24 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- benny0047 at 4-11-2015 01:26 PM (8 years ago)
all na brain no magic... you cant imagine the extent some ppl are gullible
Posted: at 4-11-2015 01:26 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- kudoson at 4-11-2015 03:03 PM (8 years ago)
Do nt use my name for invan
Posted: at 4-11-2015 03:03 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Abubu86 at 4-11-2015 03:25 PM (8 years ago)
Everybody is just looking for any means to survive, not minding the consequence of their actions
Posted: at 4-11-2015 03:25 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 4-11-2015 03:50 PM (8 years ago)
everyone na guy man!!
Posted: at 4-11-2015 03:50 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- fearlesspaul at 4-11-2015 03:54 PM (8 years ago)
God don expose am. Dem full facebook asking anyone who contacts them to sow seeds.
Posted: at 4-11-2015 03:54 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- benny0047 at 4-11-2015 03:56 PM (8 years ago)
World is coming to an end
Posted: at 4-11-2015 03:56 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- joearly at 4-11-2015 04:18 PM (8 years ago)
na the people way fall to their mumu trick I go blame for being so lame.
Posted: at 4-11-2015 04:18 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie