PHOTOS: Nigerian Scammer And Brother-in-law Who Duped Victims Of £25 Million Jailed In UK

Date: 10-01-2016 8:51 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 10-01-2016 08:51 PM (8 years ago)

London-based Nigerian man and his brother-in-law have been jailed for a total of 14 years for their part in a 25 million pound internet fraud involving victims from 55 countries.

Emmanuel Adanemhen, 50,(left) and Eduwu Obasuyi, 40,(right) pleaded guilty at Maidstone Crown Court to their part in sophisticated fraud and money laundering scams, which in some cases targeted the elderly and vulnerable.

A Kent Police spokesman said that Adanemhen arrived in the UK as an asylum seeker in 1998 and had assumed the identity of a deceased Portuguese man by changing his name by deed poll and on driving licences.

The fraudster then used the fake identity to open bank accounts to launder funds from bogus schemes, which included dating website scams, false inheritance scams, overseas lottery wins and shipping frauds.

Police were led to Adanemhen after they apprehended Obasuyi, of Friern Road, East Dulwich, who was arrested as he was about to board a plane from London to Lagos, Nigeria.

Detectives found that the two defendants had moved more than £4 million through their various accounts, which had come from victims in countries around the globe, including Germany, Norway, Switzerland, New Zealand, Canada, United Arab Emirates and across the USA.

One elderly victim from Florida was conned out of $2.9 million, while police estimate the total victims have been conned out of to be more than £25 million.
Adanemhen admitted to conspiracy to defraud, conspiracy to enter into a money laundering agreement and three counts of fraud against the Home Office and the DVLA, which related to his fake documents.

He was ordered to serve seven and a half years in jail. Obasuyi pleaded guilty to conspiracy to enter into a money laundering agreement, and was sentenced to seven years in prison.

Detective Constable Paul Walker, from the Kent and Essex serious crime directorate, said:

"This was a highly sophisticated criminal enterprise with Emmanuel Adanemhen and Eduwu Obasuyi at the heart of operations.
"They were undoubtedly highly placed and trusted individuals, handling and moving millions of pounds obtained through devastating and cruel frauds played out on sometimes very elderly and vulnerable people."

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 10-01-2016 08:51 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Machealex at 10-01-2016 09:20 PM (8 years ago)
Nawaoo when did guys dey cruise dere SUV nobody how dem take get money
Posted: at 10-01-2016 09:20 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kp45 at 10-01-2016 09:26 PM (8 years ago)
Why will deportation not go on? Extending your so called yahoo biz to UK thinking you are in Nigeria.
Posted: at 10-01-2016 09:26 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- SOGaiya at 10-01-2016 09:37 PM (8 years ago)
At last u ar payin for it
Posted: at 10-01-2016 09:37 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- okatee at 10-01-2016 09:40 PM (8 years ago)
WTF!!!! DAT 14 YEARS SMALL OO, DIS GUYZ RE MILLIONAIRES OO, £25M NO B BEANS OO. UK POLICE TRY FOR DEM OOO. I DEY WAIT TO SEE 30 YEARS OO.
Posted: at 10-01-2016 09:40 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- malamy at 10-01-2016 09:43 PM (8 years ago)
reAlly
Posted: at 10-01-2016 09:43 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 10-01-2016 10:03 PM (8 years ago)
NA LIE WHICH 25MILLION POUND, NO MIND THIS YEYE OYINBO, NA SO THEM GO COUNT AM SINCE THE GUY ENTER UK AS IF NA SO E  EASY TO SCAM
Posted: at 10-01-2016 10:03 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- Powerfulify at 10-01-2016 10:34 PM (8 years ago)
Let them face the music
Posted: at 10-01-2016 10:34 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Wazubia at 10-01-2016 10:46 PM (8 years ago)
Na so' jail them dey go, na only Nigerians like money. Wested generations.
Posted: at 10-01-2016 10:46 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- moralemike07 at 10-01-2016 10:48 PM (8 years ago)
Enjoy your years in jail.
Posted: at 10-01-2016 10:48 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ololababs at 11-01-2016 03:41 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: mr gogo on 10-01-2016 10:03 PM
NA LIE WHICH 25MILLION POUND, NO MIND THIS YEYE OYINBO, NA SO THEM GO COUNT AM SINCE THE GUY ENTER UK AS IF NA SO E  EASY TO SCAM

Yeah ur right Grin
Posted: at 11-01-2016 03:41 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- winace at 11-01-2016 07:34 AM (8 years ago)
Dis foolsbtarnishing d image of d country. Can't they see other fellow Nigerians making d country proud wit awards, appointments and many hoof things they do.
Posted: at 11-01-2016 07:34 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- factfinding at 11-01-2016 09:32 AM (8 years ago)
Omonoba nedo obohia..welcome to Edo state via British Airways. let the fight begin Lol.
Posted: at 11-01-2016 09:32 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DAMILARE100 at 11-01-2016 11:00 AM (8 years ago)
Serve them right. Bloody bastards
Posted: at 11-01-2016 11:00 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cocoeni at 12-01-2016 11:20 AM (8 years ago)
 Huh? Huh?
Posted: at 12-01-2016 11:20 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Oworen25 at 13-01-2016 07:46 AM (8 years ago)
This are the people who keep spoiling our country's name over there.
Posted: at 13-01-2016 07:46 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- AmazingMarie at 13-01-2016 10:27 PM (8 years ago)
let them enjoy their light sentence. their crime not good for our image.
Posted: at 13-01-2016 10:27 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- zezprincess at 13-01-2016 11:02 PM (8 years ago)
Chooii!,"Ego mbute di mma,ego mmbute(singing)money ,the root of all evil,oya make una forward match to prison.
Posted: at 13-01-2016 11:02 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Novic at 14-01-2016 08:46 AM (8 years ago)
Nigeria no they carry last in this kind of thing. i dnt knw we always the spoil our dear country name in every where we go. i think its time for us to think and mak change in this issue. well mak una go eat ham for prison.
Posted: at 14-01-2016 08:46 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Novic at 27-01-2016 10:48 AM (8 years ago)
all the prophet/s can lie, in 3
occasion like that dem done lie
when dem dey prophesy to me,
one useless one say i theif money
from the country i stay before that
na why i dey fear to go back say the person dey look for me to kill
me and nothing like that happen i
only decide not to go there but to
relocate and be with my family, the
same prophet say i dey hungry
say i never eat since morning, to catch am i say yes, him say nor be