Soldiers Brutally Torture Lawyer for Walking Slowly On Road

Date: 24-02-2016 12:15 pm (8 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 24-02-2016 12:15 PM (8 years ago)

A lawyer has lost N350,000 after two soldiers brutally tortured him for walking slowly on the road.
The man, Adeyemi Akintoye is currently receiving treatment for injuries he sustained after the torture in a hospital in the Yaba area of Lagos.

The incident happened on Thursday around 6pm, while Akintoye was returning from work, during which he was dispossessed of a sum of N350,000 he had collected from a client.

It was gathered that the soldiers identified as Uko Obasi and another whose name is yet unknown, from the Tailoring Department of the Ordinance Barracks, Yaba, allegedly assaulted Akintoye near Tejuosho Market, Ojuelegba Road, Yaba, and kicked him repeatedly with with a boot.

Trouble started when the soldiers walking on the same road with Akintoye ordered him to walk faster. Akintoye, who held a folder containing the money, replied that he was not obstructing their movement as the road was wide enough for everyone to pass.

That was all the soldiers needed to pounce on him. They brutally beat him to a pulp that the lawyer fell to the ground and became still. The money he had with was taken. Angered by the scene, a crowd gathered and held one of the soldiers while the other ran away. The crowd dragged the soldier to the Ordinance Barracks where the army authorities promised to look into the matter and get back to the lawyer.

The matter was later reported at the Sabo Police Division.

Narrating the incident, 33-year-old Akintoye said the soldiers would have escaped if not for the intervention of the crowd. He lost his wallet and folder containing about N350,000, paid by one of his clients during the commotion.

He said
, “I was coming from work on Thursday around 6pm. Near the Yaba Market, I heard a voice behind me saying, ‘Walk faster. Do you think this is your sitting room?’ I replied, ‘The space is wide enough for anyone to pass’. I received a slap from behind immediately.

“When I looked back and saw two soldiers, I said, ‘What is my offence?’ I received another slap and they started beating me up.

“They were with daggers. They punched me and kicked me with their boots. People were shouting that I would die.

“In the commotion, my wallet and ATM cards were stolen. My folder containing N350,000 was stolen. It was given to me as part payment by a client. Blood was streaming down my face. When they saw the blood, they wanted to escape.

“But I held on to one of them. People gathered and started taking photographs. The other soldier escaped. I did not know that a senior police officer was around and watching.”

“It was the police officer who took both of us to the barracks. At the barracks, one of the senior military officers said I was a “bloody civilian” and could be beaten up by soldiers.

“Another officer apologised and took my contact details, saying the military would get back to me. I went to a hospital immediately to get treatment for the injuries I sustained,”
Akintoye added.

The spokesperson for the Nigerian Army, Division 81, Col. Kingsley Samuel, said the matter would be investigated, saying the army would not condone indiscipline on the part of its officers.
He said,
“We are going to investigate the matter. But let the lawyer give a better description of the barracks so we can be sure where the soldiers are attached.”

The lawyer added that when he and the soldier were taken to the barracks, the military authorities promised to get back to him. Nothing has been heard from the military authorities yet.

Posted: at 24-02-2016 12:15 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 24-02-2016 12:21 PM (8 years ago)
ONLY IN NIGERIA
Posted: at 24-02-2016 12:21 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- princedafe at 24-02-2016 12:23 PM (8 years ago)
Another senseless act
Posted: at 24-02-2016 12:23 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mr2lydreal at 24-02-2016 12:24 PM (8 years ago)
Hey guys check out this latest Gospel hit from a Nigerian student studying in Romania   http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VT_WYcY2Mcg

Posted: at 24-02-2016 12:24 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- freethinker at 24-02-2016 12:25 PM (8 years ago)
I DON'T BELIEVE THIS STORY
Posted: at 24-02-2016 12:25 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- freethinker at 24-02-2016 12:31 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: mr gogo on 24-02-2016 12:21 PM
ONLY IN NIGERIA
OGOGOLO MAN, U KNOW SAY UR PEOPLE DEY LIE 4 MUCH,,
OUR PEOPLE DEY TALK SAY SNAKE WEY ONE PERSON SEE DEY TURN TO PYTHON
YORUBAS, AH THEY CAN EXAGGERATE OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
Posted: at 24-02-2016 12:31 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ujmaria at 24-02-2016 12:32 PM (8 years ago)
What is happening in dis country
Posted: at 24-02-2016 12:32 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- emma4love3 at 24-02-2016 12:39 PM (8 years ago)
mr lawyer you for ly down for their barrack
you for no leave like that....soldiers too
yeye oooh.....you are a lawyer and you knw
what to do....immediately
Posted: at 24-02-2016 12:39 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- christianity at 24-02-2016 01:11 PM (8 years ago)
dats the type of news u always read from the zoo.
WASTED ENTITY.
Posted: at 24-02-2016 01:11 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gozitto at 24-02-2016 01:39 PM (8 years ago)
This is absolutely injustice of the highest order in a democratic system of government which will never be tolarated and accepted in any civilized country.
Been a judiciary person you should filled for libel suit against the Nigeria Defence Academy ( NDA) and the Federal Government and pray hard you will smile your way to the bank for infringement of your fundamental human right, medical costs and every other form of inconveniences
Posted: at 24-02-2016 01:39 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- okatee at 24-02-2016 02:15 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Emma Uchenna on 24-02-2016 12:39 PM
mr lawyer you for ly down for their barrack
you for no leave like that....soldiers too
yeye oooh.....you are a lawyer and you knw
what to do....immediately
MY GUY, D SOLDIERS FR JST SILENT AM IF TO SAY HE NO LEAVE D BARRACK.
Posted: at 24-02-2016 02:15 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Haso112 at 24-02-2016 02:30 PM (8 years ago)
Sorry ooo my guy... @FREETHINKER, you just refuse to get sense... It's a pity....!!!
Posted: at 24-02-2016 02:30 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nwaafoigbo at 24-02-2016 02:32 PM (8 years ago)
whan them see boko haram them we take off
Posted: at 24-02-2016 02:32 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- akinmanchy at 24-02-2016 02:38 PM (8 years ago)
Coward soldiers dem, na only civilians dem fit brutalise

Posted: at 24-02-2016 02:38 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- obaoriekwo at 24-02-2016 02:43 PM (8 years ago)
Useless soldiers that wouldn't go to sambisa forest and fight....all the time they are out to  intimidate  innocent civilians.
Posted: at 24-02-2016 02:43 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- diezo at 24-02-2016 03:34 PM (8 years ago)
ANOTHER UNKNOWN SOLDIER CASE LETS SEE HW D CASE GOES BUT BEFORE THEN MAKE DEM NO FORGET TO REMEBER SAY PERSON NO WELL ANOTHER PERSON WEY WELL COME DEY TAKE TABLET FOR PERSON WEY NO WELL NA WHO NO COME WELL يراقب الله !!!
Posted: at 24-02-2016 03:34 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sandra78 at 24-02-2016 03:40 PM (8 years ago)
My friend walk fast and let other people pass
Posted: at 24-02-2016 03:40 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- odegbalegu at 24-02-2016 04:49 PM (8 years ago)
Mr. Lawyer can you walk slowly in the Court of Law like that? U were unlawfully obstructing the way of soldiers on official engagement to Sanbisa forest. So u needed a kick in the ass for intolerance, prejudice against a federal military combat mission and possession of money meant for the purchase of military equipment that was given to Dasuki.
Posted: at 24-02-2016 04:49 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- evilgenius at 24-02-2016 05:50 PM (8 years ago)
SOOOORRY MAN SOLDIERS
NA HANG OVER FROM SAMBIZA FOREST
U SHOULD HAVE LEARN "OBEY THE LAST COME-MAND"
AFTER ALL WE ARE ALL BLOODY CIVILIANS
Posted: at 24-02-2016 05:50 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- kison at 24-02-2016 07:17 PM (8 years ago)
NA WA OOO...NEXT TIME be careful,be very very careful, CAREFULLLLLLLLL...............
Posted: at 24-02-2016 07:17 PM (8 years ago) | Hero