Ali Modu Sheriff bows to pressure, promises to step down at stipulated time

Date: 01-03-2016 1:18 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Onojovwo Michael Ochuko
- at 1-03-2016 01:18 PM (8 years ago)
Former governor of Borno state and now
national chairman of the Peoples Democratic
Party, Ali Modu Sheriff has allayed fears about
his appointment as party leader and promised to
step down when the time comes.
Sheriff was appointed as the chairman of the
party on Tuesday, February 16 following a
meeting of PDP governors and some key
stakeholders.
However, his appointment turned out to be
largely controversial as several key figures in
the party vehemently kicked against his
chairmanship with some alleging that he has
links to the deadly Boko Haram terrorists.
The PDP Board of Trustees in lieu of the
protest, met and decided that Sheriff would be
allowed to use 3 months in office as the
chairman, during which he would convey a
national convention for all party stakeholders.
Sheriff, in a show of good faith, has stated that
he will not remain in the chairmanship position
past the allotted time given to him.
The former governor revealed this when
the forum of former PDP members in the House
of Representatives paid him a courtesy visit at
the party’s national headquarters in Abuja on
Monday, February 29.
In addition, Sheriff promised that no candidate
would be imposed on the party while revealing
that the National Working Committee would
upon extensive consultation release
programmes for a national convention.
“I, Ali Modu Sheriff, a man of character and
integrity, one, who would live up to expectation
and his promises, hereby announce to the world
that under no circumstances would I stay in
office beyond the period prescribed by the
constitution of our party, the PDP.”
“In the light of the above, therefore, I will
announce the Convention Congress Planning
Committee after due consultation with all
organs of the party within few days from today
and I assure all faithful members of the party
that I would do everything within my powers to
ensure that I complete the processes of
congress before the expiration of my time in
office.”

Posted: at 1-03-2016 01:18 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- evilgenius at 1-03-2016 04:10 PM (8 years ago)
look back and see if you have actually done well
remember no smoke without fire
i pity chibok girls
Posted: at 1-03-2016 04:10 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
Reply
- BournIdentity at 5-03-2016 04:19 AM (8 years ago)
Mumu people
Posted: at 5-03-2016 04:19 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
Reply
- emma4love3 at 25-03-2016 09:19 AM (8 years ago)
no mind them yeye....ooo
Posted: at 25-03-2016 09:19 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
Reply
- emma4love3 at 25-03-2016 09:30 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Bourne Identity on  5-03-2016 04:19 AM
Mumu people
big one oooh
Posted: at 25-03-2016 09:30 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
Reply