Female Graduate Sentenced to 7 Years in Prison for Manufacturing Fake Drugs (PHOTO)

Date: 03-03-2016 11:25 am (8 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 3-03-2016 11:25 AM (8 years ago)

Justice Obiozor of the Federal High Court in Lagos, has sentenced Clara Onah, a graduate of Microbiology from the University of Nigeria, Nsukka, and a postgraduate student of Mass Communication, to 7 years imprisonment for manufacturing and selling a fake brand of 200mg of Amazon Amagyl Metronidazole tablets. Shamaki Umar, who is the prosecutor, told the court yesterday that Onah deceived officials of NAFDAC by telling it that the fake drugs were manufactured in Ogun State. She took the NAFDAC officials on a fruitless journey in search of the alleged manufacturing company when in fact she was the sole manufacturer. When they eventually traced her residence at No 12, Mosalashi Street in Alagbado, Lagos, they discovered items she used in manufacturing the drugs, such as weighing scales and labels. Laboratory analysis of the confiscated drugs showed that they were fake and contained 20 rather than 200mg of Metronidazole. Onah who shedded tears during her plea, begged the court to give her a second chance. She said she is a graduate of microbiology who emerged with a second class upper division (2:1), adding that she would never engage in such acts again if pardoned.
 At the sight of her tears, the judge ordered her to 'stop those crocodile tears,' for she was very much aware of her act. In his judgment, Justice (Prof.) Chuka Obiozor said: "I would have given you a second chance as a first offender, but those who took your drugs and died had no second chance." He said she should have stayed in the village to find something worthy to do, if she could not get a decent job in Lagos. He then sentenced her to 7 years jail at the Kirikiri Maximum Prison, starting from January 26, 2016, when she was arrested and detained.

Posted: at 3-03-2016 11:25 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- willyking at 3-03-2016 11:35 AM (8 years ago)
U see what lyke of  unemployment is causing this country
Posted: at 3-03-2016 11:35 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dareper at 3-03-2016 11:37 AM (8 years ago)
Hmm, that judge get bad mouth, how can he say such. I don't blame this girl I blame GMB for not providing enough job for youths
Posted: at 3-03-2016 11:37 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- nonsovin at 3-03-2016 11:37 AM (8 years ago)
Chai! Bt why naa?
Posted: at 3-03-2016 11:37 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 3-03-2016 11:37 AM (8 years ago)
Nice one judge you are  a good madam in LAW.. justice served
Posted: at 3-03-2016 11:37 AM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- blacdiamond at 3-03-2016 11:40 AM (8 years ago)
Assassin! All for money. Useless woman, ashewo bastard! Na money be yr problem Ni be to save lives after many years of studying instead to ruin them. Go relax small for prison and reflect on HW to produce genuine medicine. Ugly human like u.
Posted: at 3-03-2016 11:40 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- emma4love3 at 3-03-2016 11:40 AM (8 years ago)
yes end of road for you....i like the judge
response to her...thank God have not taken such
drugs and those who have taken it....i pray they over come
the trouble or reactions of the fake drugs....
  now that you in kirikiri you wil see that is better to remain
in the village with that your second class upper.....
Posted: at 3-03-2016 11:40 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- blacdiamond at 3-03-2016 11:41 AM (8 years ago)
Nice one madam judge!.
Posted: at 3-03-2016 11:41 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- slimmygal at 3-03-2016 11:49 AM (8 years ago)
see wetin ur mumu don cause u now? even if employment no dey, na dats why u go dey manufactured fake drugs that will harm people abi. i no pity u oooooo, cos u suppose use wetin u study for sch do better things but na prison u choose. enjoy urself dre.
Posted: at 3-03-2016 11:49 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- fmswag at 3-03-2016 11:50 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Emma Uchenna on  3-03-2016 11:40 AM
yes end of road for you....i like the judge
response to her...thank God have not taken such
drugs and those who have taken it....i pray they over come
the trouble or reactions of the fake drugs....
  now that you in kirikiri you wil see that is better to remain
in the village with that your second class upper.....

Lolzzzz
Posted: at 3-03-2016 11:50 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- obinocarlo at 3-03-2016 11:54 AM (8 years ago)
Young girl no problems you can still produced this drugs and give it to ur co prisoners ... End time Satan don wear mini skirt enter church!!!
Posted: at 3-03-2016 11:54 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- zezprincess at 3-03-2016 11:56 AM (8 years ago)
MtcheEw,girl you no do well,don't you know say some might have died cos of this your drugs,now face the music thou I dey pity you.
Posted: at 3-03-2016 11:56 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Novic at 3-03-2016 12:00 PM (8 years ago)
This is what nigeria cause this gurl, when some spend nothing less than 13years in school and there no job after finish. i really pity the gurl so much, but you should not go to that extend just to mak it inlife.
Posted: at 3-03-2016 12:00 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Zaki68 at 3-03-2016 12:14 PM (8 years ago)
FREETHINKER AKA DYNASTY4ALL How many scandals from your side today alone?
Posted: at 3-03-2016 12:14 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Trueyarn at 3-03-2016 12:14 PM (8 years ago)
Oya worwor killer,go chill for bayan canter.
Posted: at 3-03-2016 12:14 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- charisVEC at 3-03-2016 12:22 PM (8 years ago)
I see..7yrs...no b smal tin..issokay
Posted: at 3-03-2016 12:22 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Haso112 at 3-03-2016 12:30 PM (8 years ago)
"I would have given you a second chance as a first offender, but those who took your drugs and died had no second chance."

The JUDGE hit the nail right on the head...!! But this girl if given the chance and resources can actually manufacture this drugs with the right quantity of "Metronidazole". Judging from what I read, she's got something up there...
Posted: at 3-03-2016 12:30 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- vickie_guz at 3-03-2016 12:55 PM (8 years ago)
Unemployment is the cause of this, but why dont you try something else instead of drugs?
Posted: at 3-03-2016 12:55 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- beneno at 3-03-2016 01:28 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: reaper on  3-03-2016 11:37 AM
Hmm, that judge get bad mouth, how can he say such. I don't blame this girl I blame GMB for not providing enough job for youths
you no dey try at all.what if your loved ones from your imidiate  family took from her drugs and died,will u be saying this ?  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 3-03-2016 01:28 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Mykie010 at 3-03-2016 01:49 PM (8 years ago)
The same should go to d looters too.not just d poor
Posted: at 3-03-2016 01:49 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac