"Why I Returned To School" - 60yrs Old Wheel Barrow Pusher (Photo)

Date: 04-04-2016 6:39 am (8 years ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 4-04-2016 06:39 AM (8 years ago)

A 60-year-old man, Mr. Adalabu Seribor, who is a Junior Secondary School II (JSS II) student at Izon College, Bomadi-Overside in Bomadi Local Government Area of Delta State, is currently the talk of the town. Seribor, a wheelbarrow pusher popularly called Oyibo in the community, disclosed how he took the decision to go to school at old age, a development that had kept many people wondering what he wanted to achieve in school at such an age.

Speaking with Southern City News, Seribor said, “I am sixty years now and I decided to go to school at this age because I perpetually feel the pain of being an illiterate in this modern world where everything has to do with English and education.

“My mother died during child birth when I was a little boy while my father was a hunter. I was bred by a grandmother after the death of my mother and later taken to a step-mother when my father remarried.
“I went through pains and hardship at my tender age to adulthood. It would interest you to know that I was so tender at the time my mother died that I was crying for food while she lay dead.
“I went through struggles all through my life history. I had the opportunity to go to school at my young age, when a relative who was a magistrate at Ekeremor in Bayelsa State took me to his house.

“But because of early morning beatings due to my failure to greet him when rising from bed, I went back to my father. I had no opportunity to go to school since then, and continued in hard labour to survive in life, which I am still doing.”
Narrating further how he took the decision to attend school at his current age, he said, “I realized that without education, one cannot do well in this present society. I also do not want a situation whereby someone else would interpret or write for me if eventually I am chosen to hold an office in my community.

“I make a living by pushing wheelbarrow. After school hours, I go back home to look for work to do, which I have been doing for a living. I pay my school fees from there. I am determined to complete my education because of the pains in my heart.
“I see that one cannot do well without education in this society. I do various menial jobs for a living. I pack dirt from gutters; I pack sand, clear grasses in people’s compounds and pack soak-away faeces in the dead of the night. I am a JSS II student and by the grace of God, I will finish from this school.”

Seribor said he would proceed to Teachers’ Training College at the end of his secondary education in order to achieve his dream of becoming a teacher.
“I want to teach and I advised young boys and girls wasting their time and years roaming the streets
to go to school. If I can go to school, then why are young people wasting themselves,” he queried.

His class teacher, Mr. Edsemi Anesah, described Seribor as a committed and hardworking student.
“My encouragement to him is that he should hold onto his determination. He is the oldest student in the school and I advise young people out there to emulate him,” Anesah added.

Posted: at 4-04-2016 06:39 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- maxzy277 at 4-04-2016 06:53 AM (8 years ago)
Good of him
Posted: at 4-04-2016 06:53 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- morgrawl231 at 4-04-2016 07:02 AM (8 years ago)
I saw,,,,,,wetin pappey wan learn again for school?  
Night don do,,,,baba e sempe!
Posted: at 4-04-2016 07:02 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- mak4lady at 4-04-2016 07:15 AM (8 years ago)
Na wa jst short of words
Posted: at 4-04-2016 07:15 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Powerfulify at 4-04-2016 07:17 AM (8 years ago)
Determination is d key 2 success
Posted: at 4-04-2016 07:17 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Eazyatumeyi at 4-04-2016 07:38 AM (8 years ago)
its good sir I wish you well
Posted: at 4-04-2016 07:38 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Eazyatumeyi at 4-04-2016 07:39 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Ifeanyi on  4-04-2016 07:17 AM
Determination is d key 2 success
no be lie
Posted: at 4-04-2016 07:39 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- ngfineface at 4-04-2016 07:44 AM (8 years ago)
I feel you Papa. No time is late for one to acquire knowledge.
Posted: at 4-04-2016 07:44 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- emma4love3 at 4-04-2016 07:58 AM (8 years ago)
mmmm good for him...na nw him wakeup...
Posted: at 4-04-2016 07:58 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- BournIdentity at 4-04-2016 08:08 AM (8 years ago)
Na gud motivation b dat
Posted: at 4-04-2016 08:08 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- BournIdentity at 4-04-2016 08:08 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: ngfineface on  4-04-2016 07:44 AM
I feel you Papa. No time is late for one to acquire knowledge.
No b lie
Posted: at 4-04-2016 08:08 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- BournIdentity at 4-04-2016 08:09 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Emma Uchenna on  4-04-2016 07:58 AM
mmmm good for him...na nw him wakeup...
Abi
Posted: at 4-04-2016 08:09 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- beneno at 4-04-2016 08:44 AM (8 years ago)
His childhood story is really touching .
Posted: at 4-04-2016 08:44 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 4-04-2016 09:23 AM (8 years ago)
SURE NA SCHOOL GOOD BABA
Posted: at 4-04-2016 09:23 AM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- Buncho at 4-04-2016 12:12 PM (8 years ago)
Next Pls Jooo Ooo
Posted: at 4-04-2016 12:12 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- dickieponga at 5-04-2016 01:05 AM (8 years ago)
In 2yrs time e go fit write better english pass some of u knuckleheads wey dey here...
Make una sidon dere dey laff am...
Wen some people write for here u go get instant headache wey go last u all week..
And una go talk say una go skool.
Well done papi don't give up jare...
Posted: at 5-04-2016 01:05 AM (8 years ago) | Hero