NLC To Declare Nationwide Strike Against Electricity Tariff Hike And Fuel Scarcity

Date: 07-04-2016 6:41 am (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 7-04-2016 06:41 AM (8 years ago)

In response to public outcry against the excruciating pain faced by Nigerians, the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) is to declare a one-day nationwide strike against the insistence by the federal government to go on with the electricity tariff hike, ongoing fuel scarcity and current economic hardship Nigerians are facing under President Muhammadu Buhari’s administration.

Declaring open the Central Working Committee (CWC) meeting of the NLC, the President, Comrade Ayuba Wabba, accused the Buhari-led All Progressives Congress (APC) government of failing in several fronts in its promises to the people.

The union said it will also protest against anti-labour laws about to be enacted by the Kaduna State governor, Ahmed El Rufai.

Also, human rights lawyer, Femi Falana, SAN, said while speaking at the event that the teeming population of Nigerians “didn’t vote change for suffering.

“We didn’t vote change for agony; we didn’t vote change for tyranny. We fully endorse NLC resolutions for strike,” Falana said.

He lambasted the double-speak of the Minister of State for Petroleum Resources Dr Ibe Kachikwu, saying that, “today he says fuel scarcity will end in May, tomorrow, he says he’s not a magician. Somebody is supervising himself because there’s no NNPC board.”

Speaking on the flagrant abuse of court order on the charge to government to return back to old electricity tariff, Wabba explained that government cannot arbitrarily disobey such orders without opposition from labour.

“The point must be made that obedience to the rule of law by all citizens but more particularly those who publicly take the oath of office to protect and preserve the Constitution is desideratum to good governance and respect for the rule of law. In a constitutional democratic society like ours, this is meant to be a norm.”

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 7-04-2016 06:41 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Nottingham at 7-04-2016 06:48 AM (8 years ago)
If politicians are on salaries with little or no allowances the would always be on strike. Power and money I'll their feeling for others
Posted: at 7-04-2016 06:48 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Blessed75 at 7-04-2016 07:00 AM (8 years ago)
Buhari supporters una never see anything yet keep on supporting him
Posted: at 7-04-2016 07:00 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- slimmygal at 7-04-2016 07:18 AM (8 years ago)
oyaaa, lets go dreeeeeeeee.
Posted: at 7-04-2016 07:18 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Anny01 at 7-04-2016 07:32 AM (8 years ago)
I'm in full support of the strike, but why not increase it to one week instead of one day?
Posted: at 7-04-2016 07:32 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- samdove28 at 7-04-2016 07:38 AM (8 years ago)
I beliv all this ordeal we soon over... Na patient and prayer we really need in this country.
Posted: at 7-04-2016 07:38 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ngfineface at 7-04-2016 07:52 AM (8 years ago)
Why one day strike? They should make it two days and make sure its starts on Thursday so workers can rest and resume work on Monday.
Posted: at 7-04-2016 07:52 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Harrybeatzz at 7-04-2016 09:25 AM (8 years ago)
Na one of those things
Posted: at 7-04-2016 09:25 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Otikadinje at 7-04-2016 09:29 AM (8 years ago)
One day strike my boot, what effect will that have ? Let's make it two weeks or more so Buhari will understand better the pains of the common man.  I am ready to start the strike right now.

Posted: at 7-04-2016 09:29 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- morgrawl231 at 7-04-2016 09:39 AM (8 years ago)
Haba!!! NLC make una take am easy ooo,,
Posted: at 7-04-2016 09:39 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Amibomatc at 7-04-2016 10:05 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Anny Etok on  7-04-2016 07:32 AM
I'm in full support of the strike, but why not increase it to one week instead of one day?

Correct!
Posted: at 7-04-2016 10:05 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Amibomatc at 7-04-2016 10:08 AM (8 years ago)
Buhari is begging for patience every day, soon it will be one year yet nothing to prove. 
Posted: at 7-04-2016 10:08 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- AmazingMarie at 7-04-2016 10:38 AM (8 years ago)
change for hardship is what the FGN has given to Nigerians change indeed change my foot!
Posted: at 7-04-2016 10:38 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- AmazingMarie at 7-04-2016 10:41 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: ngfineface on  7-04-2016 07:52 AM
Why one day strike? They should make it two days and make sure its starts on Thursday so workers can rest and resume work on Monday.
you are right in fact indefinite strike  Cheesy
Posted: at 7-04-2016 10:41 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Eazyatumeyi at 7-04-2016 10:53 AM (8 years ago)
ok good right now we don't have light nd we have paid 10,000naira
Posted: at 7-04-2016 10:53 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Eazyatumeyi at 7-04-2016 10:55 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Blessed Chiboy on  7-04-2016 07:00 AM
Buhari supporters una never see anything yet keep on supporting him
lol you no be him supporter?
Posted: at 7-04-2016 10:55 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 7-04-2016 10:56 AM (8 years ago)
war in naija ooooooooo
Posted: at 7-04-2016 10:56 AM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- Eazyatumeyi at 7-04-2016 10:56 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: sam dove on  7-04-2016 07:38 AM
I beliv all this ordeal we soon over... Na patient and prayer we really need in this country.
no be lie
Posted: at 7-04-2016 10:56 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Eazyatumeyi at 7-04-2016 10:57 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: teejay on  7-04-2016 09:39 AM
Haba!!! NLC make una take am easy ooo,,
no make NEPA take am easy
Posted: at 7-04-2016 10:57 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Haso112 at 7-04-2016 11:08 AM (8 years ago)
Though I never COLLECT my CHANGE... I'M STILL KEEPING HOPES ALIVE..... Anybody wey don lose hope, make dem go HANG ROPE for neck...
As for NLC, so wetin una dey wait for since all these while? Besides, one day STRIKE no go do ooo...
Posted: at 7-04-2016 11:08 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac