Can the north survive without the Niger-Delta oil?

Date: 09-08-2008 6:28 pm (15 years ago) | Author: FORTUNE A
[1] 2 3 4 ... 9
- at 9-08-2008 06:28 PM (15 years ago)
Recently,the Governor of the 19 States in Northern Nigeria issued a statement via the Niger State Governor Dr. Babangida Alihu,saying they dont need Niger Delta OIL to survive.How true is this statement?Put more succinctly,can the North(as it is now)live without the Petro-dollar from the Niger Delta oil?Let's hget ur objective views on this?

Posted: at 9-08-2008 06:28 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- shamsuddeen at 27-08-2008 11:21 AM (15 years ago)
WHAT I HAVE DISCOVERED OVER THE YEARS IS THAT OIL IN PARTICULAR IS A CURSE! LOOK AROUND THE WORLD AND YOU WILL FIND THAT MOST DEVELOPED NATIONS WERE'NT OIL PRODUCING NATIONS. JAPAN, US, UK, RUSSIA, GERMANY... YOU NAME THE REST. BUT WAIT A MINUTE, WHAT IS THE FATH OF THOSE ARAB OIL GIANTS? WAR, LAZINESS, FEAR, MONARCHY, ETC. OR BETTER STILL, WHAT CAN THEY ACTUALLY OFFER THE WORLD? OIL...IN IT CRUDE FORM I GUESS. VERTUALLY NOTHING, NOT EVEN REFINING TECHNOLOGY. FOR YOUR INFORMATION, ADVANCED COUNTRIES OF THE WORLD ARE MORE FOCUSED ON DEVELOPING THEIR HUMAN RESOURCE AND NOT OIL, AS IT IS THE ONLY SUSTAINABLE MEANS OF DEVELOPMENT. ONLY LAZY PEOPLE THINK ABOUT MAKING MONEY FROM RESOURCES, WHICH OFCOURSE IT IS BY COINCIDENCE THAT THEY HAPPEN TO BE THERE, IT COULD HAVE BEEN THE NORTHERNERS IN THE NIGER DELTA.

MY FRIEND, IF YOU THINK NIGERIAN MASSES AS A WHOLE (NOT TALKING ABOUT THE NORTH FOR NOW) ARE SURVIVING ON OIL, THEN THINK AGAIN. GO AROUND THE VILLAGES AND TELL ME ANY SIGN OF OIL DOLLARS. FOR YOUR INFORMATION, MOST NATIONS WITHOUT OIL ARE DOING BETTER THAN THEIR OIL PRODUCING COUNTER-PARTS.

AGAIN, IF THE NIGER DELTA PEOPLE WHERE TO BE LEFT TO CONTROL THEIR OIL???, THEN THEY WOULD HAVE SEEN THE END OF PEACE, COS EVERY VILLAGE AND HELMET WOULD WANT TO CONTROL THEIR SO-CALLED OIL. INFACT NIGER DELTA WILL DIS-INTEGRATE INTO SEVERAL AUTONOMOUS COUNTRIES...GOD FORBID.

LASTLY, AS A NORTHERNER, I WOULD LIKE TO SINCERELY ADVISE THE NIGER DELTA PEOPLE TO EXPLORE THE OPTION OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT IN THE AREA OF SCIENCE, TECHNOLOGY, AGRICULTURE AS A VERITABLE MEANS OF LIBERATING THEMSELVES FROM THEIR PREDICAMENT AND EQUALLY FOCUSE ON MORAL RE-ORIENTATION OF THEIR YOUNG ONES SO THAT THEY DON'T GROW UP IN THE LIGHT OF PEOPLE LIKE ODILI, DSP ALA AND ALL THOSE NIGER DELTA GOVERNORS THAT HAVE STOLEN THEIR STATE ALLOCATIONS AND DEPOSITED IN FOREIGN ACCOUNTS, LIVING THEIR PEOPLE WITH GUNS, POVERTY AND ENVIRONMENTAL DEGRADATION. AS FOR WE THE NORTHERNERS, OUR GRAND FATHERS LIVED BETTER AND IN A MORE PEACEFUL NORTH WITHOUT OIL THAN WE ARE LIVING NOW WITH OIL. IT WILL BE OUR PLEASURE TO RE-EXPERIENCE THE PAST. ATLEAST WE HAVE PLENTY FOOD TO EAT AND LAND TO BUILD HOUSES AND FARM. BESIDES WE HAVE PLENTY OF RESOURCES THAT WE COULD DEVELOP AND MAKE TWICE AS MUCH AS NIGERIA IS MAKING FROM OIL! WHO SAYS THERE IS NO OIL AND GAS IN THE NORTH??? ONLY TIME SHALL TELL.

THE NIGER DELTA PEOPLE SHOULD TAKE IT EASY, OIL IS NOT EVERYTING AND NOT HAVING IS NOT THE END OF HOPE. A WORD IS ENOUGH FOR THE WISE!

SHAMSUDDEEN MAHMOUD
[email protected]
Posted: at 27-08-2008 11:21 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Cheedee at 27-08-2008 07:59 PM (15 years ago)
THE NORTH DO NOT NEED THE OIL TO SURVIVE. INFACT THEY ARE PROVIDING VIRTUALLY EVERY VEGETABLE AND FOOD ITEM CONSUMED BY EVERY FAMILY IN THE SOUTH. THEY DON'T NEED THE OIL. INFACT THE SOUTH NEED THE NORTH MORE THAN THEY REALIZE. WHAT THE OIL DOES IS TO PROVIDE THEIR GOVERNMENTS WITH THEIR SHARE OF THEIR CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHT AS MEMBERS OF THIS NATION. 
Posted: at 27-08-2008 07:59 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- signalputte at 27-08-2008 08:46 PM (15 years ago)
Niger Delta's will not know the gravity of what they are doing until after 2years from now,  I expected them to have gone after people like Ibori, Odili, Lucky of edo state, Alams, Goodluck, Tinibu, and many more that has their money, instead they keep chasing shadows and kidnapping for money, I wonder if they know that almost all the so called little African countries now have oil and the interest is shifting daily from the almighty N/Delta. don't be surprise equipment leaves Nigeria everyday for other Africa countries and they never come back. Dead Bodi leave who kill am dey look ceiling.
Posted: at 27-08-2008 08:46 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- chukwusha at 28-08-2008 01:34 PM (15 years ago)
   The north definitely cannot survive without Najadelta so they tred carefully and watch the words they utter.
Posted: at 28-08-2008 01:34 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- bertona12 at 28-08-2008 01:39 PM (15 years ago)
How can fish survive without water? Huh?
Posted: at 28-08-2008 01:39 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- doncosmosir at 28-08-2008 08:51 PM (15 years ago)
both of them need each other to survive is all about i give you, you give  me
the oil spilage has distroy the soil in the naija delta crops cannot grow properly
there and the north need the to survive like nation.
Posted: at 28-08-2008 08:51 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- khadijah at 30-08-2008 08:05 PM (15 years ago)
hmmm....in case u never knew notherners are the best and most successful husslers.
Posted: at 30-08-2008 08:05 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Godsson at 31-08-2008 12:14 AM (15 years ago)
SANUNKU!
You all ve said ur bits.Now let's leave the realm of ethnic based sentimentalism and face the existential realities of the contemporary Nigerian Political-Economy.
Shamsuddeen above made some very pertinent points that I cannot ignore.

Firstly,he said "oil is a curse".It seem true if taken on its face value.However,that statement is untrue after further enlightened scrutiny.OIL IS NOT A CURSE.IT IS OUR MISMANAGEMENT OF IT THAT A CURSE.The United Arab Emerate & Bahrain,that are managing their Oil revenues well & diversifying their economies are doing well. Unfortunately,the North ve presided over this mismanagement of every facet of the Nigerian social formation longer than any other region.

Secondly,he was right when he said "most of the Developed States of the world are not oil producing".However,I'll want him to know that that is not entirely true.The US and Russia are Oil Producing States(O.P.S)Russia supplies many European states oil & gas.U can find out more on this.
Thirdly,in as much as I totally agree with him on the need for us to pay more attention to the development of quality HUMAN CAPITAL,I beg 2 humbly disagree with his thesis on Niger Delta oil being a Coincidence.Anybody that know anything about oil exploration & exploitation,& its negative externalities to the host community will not dare say that.It's like telling the people of Jos or Enugu that the destruction of their environment caused by Tin & Coal exploitations were mere coincidence.This is the crux of the matter.It is this belief that Oil is a coincidence,that ve fueled the Northern arrogance that's at the heart of this crisis.You cannot call the degradation of a people's environment,the loss of their culture & tradition occupations & means of livelihood a mere coincidence.Is like going to Rano,Doguwa,Shanono or Beebeji in Kano to destroy their farms & say its a coincidence.

Fourthly,he talked about the looting by Niger Delta rulers.I'll want him to show me 1 Northern ruler from Pre-Independence to date that ve not stole from the Common Wealth.

Also,he said"AS FOR WE THE NORTHERNERS, OUR GRAND FATHERS LIVED BETTER AND IN A MORE PEACEFUL NORTH WITHOUT OIL THAN WE ARE LIVING NOW WITH OIL".Yes they did.They did because they enjoyed 100% of the revenue that come from their produce from 1946-1957 before the Raisman Commission was set up.They enjoyed 50% Derivation % another 30% from the Distributive Pool based on Population & Land Mass.Yes ur Grand Father built ABU & BUK with such moneys.But when Nigeria was an Agrarian economy.So now that we ve an Oil Economy why cant the Niger Delta Children who were suffering when ur Grand parents were enjoying ve their turn?

Furthermore,Shamsuddeen,was right when he said Oil is not everything.Yet it contributes more than 85% of our GNP and over 90% of our Foreign Exchange earnings.
In concuding my Shamsuddeen section,I'd say,We cannot & should not waste our time in attempting to deny the pivotal place of the Niger Delta in the Nigerian Political Economy.

CHEDEE
I dont know what part of the world u re.But definitely not Nigeria of 2008. 90% of the money used to pay the 44 LGA Chairmen(including my favorite Buharin Dala.lolz) in Kano come from the Niger Delta. I think you are joking when you mentioned vegetable etc.Do u think the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia,UAE& Quatar  produce food?The Petrodollar that comes from their resource take care of that. Can you show me one state in the North that can survive for 4 months without Federal Allocations?Dan Allah,yaakuri daya!just one.
What share of constitutional right are u talking about?Which constitution?Is it the Constitution that was drafted by the Hausa-Fulani elite to serve their interest?Why is the North so much against true Federalism if they can survive with just Vegetable and other food items?The answer is the North will collapse withing 1 year without oil money.

SIGNALPUTTE
Who cares if the Oil multinationals are relocating to other countries?To the people of the Niger Delta,that's good news.It means that the will witness less Acid Rain,Polution & dislocation of their local economies.
You said other African countries are discovering Oil.How is that the business of the Niger Delta people?Why not tell me that the North has started exporting Oil? 
Please be informed,Tinubu is not and ll never be a Niger Deltan.So his name ve no business in this discuss.As 4 the gravity,only time ll tell.

Khadijah Yarinya DadiIlolz.
I know some Northers are hustlers.But the majority are not.I am waiting for U 2 show me how the millions of Almagiries I see everyday are hustlers.I am waiting for U 2 show me how the Civil servants that come go Audu Bako Secretariate by 2pm for work after Masalashi are hustlers.lolz 
Posted: at 31-08-2008 12:14 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- khadijah at 31-08-2008 02:08 PM (15 years ago)
if not y are they the richest bunch?
Posted: at 31-08-2008 02:08 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Godsson at 31-08-2008 05:14 PM (15 years ago)
The Northerners,despite their long stay in power & stealing are the poorest bunch.Who ever told u they are the richest lied.Let's face the facts.out of the over 20 banks in the country today,how many is headed or found by a Northerner?All the telecom companies in the country,which one is owned by a Northerner?None!Can U point out one viable oil company that is owned by a Northerner?(pls dont call Dantata organization.U'll make me cry)lol.Let's talk about the Insurance sector.Pls name 3 insurance companies that is controlled by a Northerner.Which other sector of the Nigerian economy are we to talk about?I know u're itching 2 tell me about Alhaji Aliko Dangote & his wealth.How many other Northerners can U point out?
I've lived in the North.So I know that their are more poor people there than any part of Nigeria.All the Billions of Oil moneys stolen by the elite there is for their personal use & not 4 the society.They intentionally disempower  the Northern youths so they ll be easy tools 4 their political plots.They can give some Almagiries 5000 Naira to cause a huge crisis 2 destabilize their states.
U ve fear more Northerners as beggars on the streets of Nigerian city.So,I still cant reconcile U claim that the Northerners are richer with the reality on the ground.The North is only powerful when it's in power.Period! 
Posted: at 31-08-2008 05:14 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- khadijah at 1-09-2008 12:05 AM (15 years ago)
and isnt it the people in political power that back these companies...?
Posted: at 1-09-2008 12:05 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Uwalassy at 1-09-2008 08:53 AM (15 years ago)
As you rightly pointed out, it is the elites that should be held accountable not the poor masses in the north Godsson. According to you, you have lived in the north and you saw the condition of the masses in the north. When discussing issues as this mentioned the names of the leaders that stole from the NigerDelta. The way you claim that you have stayed in the north that is how some of us have stayed in the South South not staying there but were given birth there.

Your leaders in the South South are busy enriching themselves with money made for the development of the region and at the same time diverting the youths attention from what they have been doing to the youths in that region and everyone wants to put the blame on the north. All we need is solution not unnecessarily blaming one another. I have watch events unfolding with real interest. Some may say "Is it now that the Northerns want a solution" Believe me that if it affect  all of us one way or the other. Putting blame on the northerns that find it really difficult to feed is not the solution. I remember growing up as a kid in Port Harcourt River States, the place was so peaceful and I have alot of friends there that I wish I can visit but I'm too afraid to do so because I don't know what may befall me. And the funny thing is that I don't know anything about this fuel that is causing so much problem. Our youths were over night changed to terrorists because of a few selfish individuals in the society that we elect to represent our interest. If I did offend some of you gentlemen and women with my comment I'm sorry but I own no elite in the society any apologise because they are the cause of our present problems. 

I so much love the South South people because they are hospitable and friendly. They welcome all people from all parts of the country without any reservation. I can go on and on. Please let us all continue to pray for a peaceful solution to this problem.
Posted: at 1-09-2008 08:53 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Uwalassy at 1-09-2008 09:27 AM (15 years ago)
Every region of this country can survive on it own because Nigeria is a blessed country with abundant mineral resources but the elite wouldn't allow that because Fuel is the easier way to enriched themselves and their generation yet unborn.

Some of them have even started stocking ill gotten wealth for the grand children they have not seen and may even not see. We truly have very selfish people in the society. Like my ex-state governor that did not do anything in the state. I wish the hand of the law will really deal with him. I happen to have the opportunity to do a little teaching practice in my state. I was really disapponited with the level of illiteracy. There wasn't incentives to encouraged the teachers and alot of things were really wrong with the system and my ex-state governor is claiming that he is innocent. Those helping him need to be prosecuted along with him. My state is Taraba State and alot of people in the country doesn't know where it is situated talk more of foreigners. Any time someone asked me where I come from and I happen to mention Taraba State, They always say that I'm just making it up especially the foreigners. It pains me becauseI have to put up with this as an indigene. If not for the Social Studies and current affairs, the entire good citizen of the country may not know except maybe for the policy makers. Before people asking could understand,  I have to start explaining by using the Ex-Vice President of the country owns State. Even If I mentioned Former Gongola, some will start asking funny questions. This is to tell you the backwardness of the North and problems we are facing in the North too. So where is the Money from the fuel going into but into the pocket of few selfish elites in the society.
Posted: at 1-09-2008 09:27 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- kentorito at 1-09-2008 11:05 AM (15 years ago)
well, diff people with diff opinions....
 From what we have in Nigeria now, the north cant leave without the niger delta oil. tell me what else gives the nations its largest revenue than oil and gas. if the north tells me that they can go back to their farms and make a great deal out there, then i have to ask what powers the machinery that does the work .........
 politically we see the north coming into then oil and gas sector than Niger delta people because they know that the oil and gas business GIves them the money they take to their farms.
how much can a farmer in Nigeria (north) have compare to that of oil and gas.
                              The best is not to compare because the Niger delta holds this nation.cheers
Posted: at 1-09-2008 11:05 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Godsson at 1-09-2008 11:11 PM (15 years ago)
UWALASSY
I cannot fault U reasoning.U are right to a very great extent.The issue of the elite being the major beneficiary of the Oil wealth is true.One mistake people make about my analysis is that they think I blame the North alone for the problems in the Niger Delta.That's not the case.I am fully cognizant of the role played by the Niger Delta elite in this crisis.I know that they ve collided with their friends in the center to exploit their own people.I know that they are the in-house rat that bring others to steal in their home.But any truthful person will agree with me that the Northern section of the National elite is the hegemon in the arrangement.

I am also cognizant of the fact that the ordinary Northerner does not see this money.Though it sometimes trickle down to them.

The crux of my contention is the hypocrisy of the Northern Governors Forum.These people earn their salaries and all the other Monthly Federal allocations they steal, from the Niger Delta.Yet they have the balls to talk crap.

I agree with U that we should start talking about solutions & not blames.However,hypocrisy is not part of the solution.Truth,Fairness,equity &Justice are some of the ingredients of any reasonable talk about a solution to the crisis.U cannot tell the Niger Delta people that U cannot develop their homeland,when they know that the growth of other regions is paid with their money.If Nigeria can build Abuja,she can develop the Delta.

UWALASSY!I salute ur understanding of the realities.
Posted: at 1-09-2008 11:11 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- TheTruth at 3-09-2008 12:28 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: Godsson on 31-08-2008 12:14 AM
SANUNKU!
You all ve said ur bits.Now let's leave the realm of ethnic based sentimentalism and face the existential realities of the contemporary Nigerian Political-Economy.
Shamsuddeen above made some very pertinent points that I cannot ignore.

Firstly,he said "oil is a curse".It seem true if taken on its face value.However,that statement is untrue after further enlightened scrutiny.OIL IS NOT A CURSE.IT IS OUR MISMANAGEMENT OF IT THAT A CURSE.The United Arab Emerate & Bahrain,that are managing their Oil revenues well & diversifying their economies are doing well. Unfortunately,the North ve presided over this mismanagement of every facet of the Nigerian social formation longer than any other region.

Secondly,he was right when he said "most of the Developed States of the world are not oil producing".However,I'll want him to know that that is not entirely true.The US and Russia are Oil Producing States(O.P.S)Russia supplies many European states oil & gas.U can find out more on this.
Thirdly,in as much as I totally agree with him on the need for us to pay more attention to the development of quality HUMAN CAPITAL,I beg 2 humbly disagree with his thesis on Niger Delta oil being a Coincidence.Anybody that know anything about oil exploration & exploitation,& its negative externalities to the host community will not dare say that.It's like telling the people of Jos or Enugu that the destruction of their environment caused by Tin & Coal exploitations were mere coincidence.This is the crux of the matter.It is this belief that Oil is a coincidence,that ve fueled the Northern arrogance that's at the heart of this crisis.You cannot call the degradation of a people's environment,the loss of their culture & tradition occupations & means of livelihood a mere coincidence.Is like going to Rano,Doguwa,Shanono or Beebeji in Kano to destroy their farms & say its a coincidence.

Fourthly,he talked about the looting by Niger Delta rulers.I'll want him to show me 1 Northern ruler from Pre-Independence to date that ve not stole from the Common Wealth.

Also,he said"AS FOR WE THE NORTHERNERS, OUR GRAND FATHERS LIVED BETTER AND IN A MORE PEACEFUL NORTH WITHOUT OIL THAN WE ARE LIVING NOW WITH OIL".Yes they did.They did because they enjoyed 100% of the revenue that come from their produce from 1946-1957 before the Raisman Commission was set up.They enjoyed 50% Derivation % another 30% from the Distributive Pool based on Population & Land Mass.Yes ur Grand Father built ABU & BUK with such moneys.But when Nigeria was an Agrarian economy.So now that we ve an Oil Economy why cant the Niger Delta Children who were suffering when ur Grand parents were enjoying ve their turn?

Furthermore,Shamsuddeen,was right when he said Oil is not everything.Yet it contributes more than 85% of our GNP and over 90% of our Foreign Exchange earnings.
In concuding my Shamsuddeen section,I'd say,We cannot & should not waste our time in attempting to deny the pivotal place of the Niger Delta in the Nigerian Political Economy.

CHEDEE
I dont know what part of the world u re.But definitely not Nigeria of 2008. 90% of the money used to pay the 44 LGA Chairmen(including my favorite Buharin Dala.lolz) in Kano come from the Niger Delta. I think you are joking when you mentioned vegetable etc.Do u think the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia,UAE& Quatar  produce food?The Petrodollar that comes from their resource take care of that. Can you show me one state in the North that can survive for 4 months without Federal Allocations?Dan Allah,yaakuri daya!just one.
What share of constitutional right are u talking about?Which constitution?Is it the Constitution that was drafted by the Hausa-Fulani elite to serve their interest?Why is the North so much against true Federalism if they can survive with just Vegetable and other food items?The answer is the North will collapse withing 1 year without oil money.

SIGNALPUTTE
Who cares if the Oil multinationals are relocating to other countries?To the people of the Niger Delta,that's good news.It means that the will witness less Acid Rain,Polution & dislocation of their local economies.
You said other African countries are discovering Oil.How is that the business of the Niger Delta people?Why not tell me that the North has started exporting Oil? 
Please be informed,Tinubu is not and ll never be a Niger Deltan.So his name ve no business in this discuss.As 4 the gravity,only time ll tell.

Khadijah Yarinya DadiIlolz.
I know some Northers are hustlers.But the majority are not.I am waiting for U 2 show me how the millions of Almagiries I see everyday are hustlers.I am waiting for U 2 show me how the Civil servants that come go Audu Bako Secretariate by 2pm for work after Masalashi are hustlers.lolz 

IT CANT GET BETTER THAN THIS!
Posted: at 3-09-2008 12:28 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Bankus at 3-09-2008 12:56 PM (15 years ago)
There is no gainsaying that a part of the country (Nigeria) cannot suvive without the Niger  Delta oil.  We should endeavour to jettison our over dependent on oil.  I believe since the time we discover this oil, it has brought nothing but woes to each and everyone of us in this country.  Oil discovery has brought vices that were not known.  It brought 419, Corruption, Hire Killers into our polity and this has gone a long way to blacklisted this country all over the world.  Our national assemblies are daily at each others throat just because the ill gotten wealth they are stacking away for their unknown grandchildren.  They have even started budgeting jumbor pay packets for themselves and no one is even thinking of going back to the land.  Other parts of the country have their resources which they can depend on and this will definitely boost their economy without necessarily depending on the other.   It is only the ignorant that will basking in the foolery that we cannot do without the oil in Niger Delta.  Let the Niger Delta take their oil and see whether the country will collapse or not.  Agriculture has been our main foreign exchange earner during the time of the Awolowos, Azikiwes, Amadu Bellow etc.  The North could go back (which they have started anyway) to the days of groundnut pyramids and boost their economy.  The West should also go back to the  Cocoa era.  When this is done, we shall see whether the Niger Delta Oils will be used in cooking our delicious African dishes that we know of.  Americans and other nations are planning to stop their depending on oil and looking for other ways so why can't we do the same.
Posted: at 3-09-2008 12:56 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Godsson at 3-09-2008 09:57 PM (15 years ago)
It's always hilarious to me when people talk about reverting Nigeria to an agrarian economy.It strikes me as mastery of ignorance.Although,for the sake of internal food security,I am not against people engaging in agricultural activities.But I see any talk of making agriculture the mainstay of our economy as backward,retrogressive,naive,myopic & out of sync with contemporary existential realities of International political economy.Anybody who knows the price of primary goods or products in the international market will not say this.When other states are talking about shifting their focus from 'mere' manufacturing (a stage we ve not yet gotten to)to service provision,someone is here talking about a primary economy.
Agriculture in Development Studies or Development Economics,falls under what we call traditional economy.This is the lowest stage of economic development.This was the stage Europe & America was before the Industrial Revolution.This was the stage that caused slave-trade.We are talking about a time before the 18th century.Pls,U should take classes on Economic History.

Now,let's talk about the North and agriculture,assuming that I accept ur argument.What are the implements U hope to use?Pls dont tell me U want to continue the practice of using OIL MONEYS to buy fertilizers that some emirs & Local officials will steal & sell,cus it wont work.The recent Fertilizer scandal is still fresh in every in every informed mind.Or do U intend to buy tractors and other equipment on credit?

Let's also assume all of these huddles ve been successfully crossed,how many months will u take to reap ur harvest?And while waiting for harvest,what ll u be leaving on?I just dont know why people come up with things like this.

Now,in fairness to the North,there are many solid minerals in the North.All the 19 States in Northern Nigeria are blessed with one Solid Mineral or the other.They ve Gold,Copper,Bitumen,Iron ore,Zinc,Limestone,Granite,Tin etc.However,they ve wickedly left all these & more to concentrate on Niger Delta Oil.They want to suck the Niger Delta people dry before they ll start exploring and exploiting their own Natural resources.They want to make sure there is nothing left for the Niger Delta people.They want to make sure future generations of Niger Deltans become their slaves.As harsh as my analysis is,U all know it's the gospel truth.Let me not detain U any further,I'll rest my case now.

In conclusion,until the North start to tap its own many untouched resources,it cant not live without Niger Delta Oil.Until WE NORTHERNERS decide to stop our parasitic mannerism & look inwardly to provide our needs,OUR leaders should SHUT UP!Their salaries & all the moneys they steal everyday come from the Niger Delta.

Posted: at 3-09-2008 09:57 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- khadijah at 4-09-2008 01:08 AM (15 years ago)
i don start to de fear with all these your long post....but i read and liked the last paragraph..i'm beginnig to wish for engines that will run without oil..maybe when its in low demand we'll start thinking of explorin other resources..
Posted: at 4-09-2008 01:08 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
[1] 2 3 4 ... 9

1. Late Mohbad’s Toxicology Result Ready As Pathologist Begins Evaluation

2. Ex-runs Girl Lands Herself In Trouble After Finding Out Her Former Client Is Her Brother-in-Law

3. We Find Love in Unexpected Places – Bimbo Ademoye Writes As She Shares Loved-up Photo With Timi

4. 'Avoid Panic Buying, Petrol Prices Not Changing' — NNPC To Nigerians

5. Interior Minister, Tunji-Ojo To Relocate Suleja Correctional Centres To Avoid Inmate Escape

6. 74Yr Old Woman Robs Bank At Gunpoint After Losing Her Life Savings To Online Scammers

7. Actress, Stella Udeze Reveals Why Actresses Have Unhappy Relationships

4. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

5. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

6. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

7. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

8. Nollywood Actress Toyin Abraham Extends Olive Branch To Funke Akindele,Calls For Industry Unity

9. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

10. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider