Can the north survive without the Niger-Delta oil? (Page 2)

Date: 09-08-2008 6:28 pm (15 years ago) | Author: FORTUNE A
1 [2] 3 4 5 ... 9
- Godsson at 4-09-2008 01:35 AM (15 years ago)
KHADIJAH Nagode!Antashi Lafia?

I cant help but be long.I've to explain these things for all to understand.These are inconvenient TRUTHS that ALL MUST face.Whether we like it or Mutanem Arewa are parasites in the Nigerian project.That's why Northerners reject any form of change.We are operating a faulty Federal System.
People now said,LET US PRACTICE TRUE FEDERALISM.
My AREWA Brothers: say "NO!".

Others:LET US VE A SOVEREIGN NATIONAL CONFERENCE to discussion & revolve the internal
contradictions in the Nigerian State.

AREWA:NO!

OTHER:LET US VE ELECTRONIC VOTING SYSTEM

OTHERS:LET US USE SATE LITE TECHNOLOGY TO SOLVE OUR CENSUS PROBLEM ONCE & 4 ALL.

When ll these same rulers who gathered at KD to run their mouth that the North can live without oil say YES?

I guess when the Oil dries up.
Posted: at 4-09-2008 01:35 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- zie85er at 4-09-2008 04:16 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: Godsson on  3-09-2008 09:57 PM
It's always hilarious to me when people talk about reverting Nigeria to an agrarian economy.It strikes me as mastery of ignorance.Although,for the sake of internal food security,I am not against people engaging in agricultural activities.But I see any talk of making agriculture the mainstay of our economy as backward,retrogressive,naive,myopic & out of sync with contemporary existential realities of International political economy.Anybody who knows the price of primary goods or products in the international market will

i'm still a staunch suppoter of an agrarian economy,not lyk having some small-scale famers in the rural areas with little or no farming expertise or equipment but large scale farming with the latest technology lyk wat we have in asia.we have the capital ,climate,need for it and land.wat else do we need. wats so hilarious in it?

Posted: at 4-09-2008 04:16 AM (15 years ago) | Hero
- khadijah at 4-09-2008 10:04 AM (15 years ago)
you know the kwara state government is presently running an aricultural scheme and sincerely,the citezens are yet to benefit imersely from it.this is on state level..and didnt Obj start some cassava palaver,where is it?i guess it landed in Otta farms.
Posted: at 4-09-2008 10:04 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- yemmight at 4-09-2008 11:46 AM (15 years ago)
The truth of the matter is that little of them will but large number will not.  All of us know that all VAT generated in Lagos is diverted to the North, All oil money from Niger Delta is diverted to them. In Nigeria today North have best road networks yet they dont have resources.  They will leave anyway just that they will fully survived with the assistnce of other part of Nigeria if they eventually left.

Honestly I think they should go first and go determine if they can stand alone and If they can't stand we may consider them again.

Posted: at 4-09-2008 11:46 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- johnade at 4-09-2008 12:05 PM (15 years ago)
Yes I agree with u shamsuddeen, look at Ghana, they live on tourism, Ghana cedes is now 2 cedes to 1 british pound, and nigeria naira is 102 naira to 1 ghana ceds, since the advent of crude oil is problem upon problems in nigeria, when nigeria survives on agriculture it was not like this. \naira had value, there were job opportunity since oil discovery what is great about nigeria's economy. I want d southerners to remember most of the grains, potatoes, beans, rice are from northern parts of nigeria, cow meat is also from north,  tomatoes grown in d south quickly get bad tasteless. even now yams r now coming from d north so tell me the north needs the south and the south needs north to survive. come to think of it Nigeria is a oil produce country and stil imports crude oil.................. so what is d benefit
Posted: at 4-09-2008 12:05 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- johnade at 4-09-2008 12:16 PM (15 years ago)
U said missmanagement by the northerners, during the time agriculture was nigeria source of revenue, it was managed by d same northerners, u condemn of miss managing crude oil. I believe it the attitude of the place the crude oil is found that is creating the problem for economy most of the countries crude oil were found as always been in wars becos of greeds.
Posted: at 4-09-2008 12:16 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- walerian at 4-09-2008 02:52 PM (15 years ago)
the truth is always bitter but must be said. i believe so much in the Northerners but they realy dont believe in themselves cos if they themselves are united, their interests would be given much attention. remember they constitute higher number in the senate and general admnistration of the state but still their views which they claim is the best is never uphold. i tink they cant survive without the crude oil cos many of then too are currupt with style. Yar'adua is trying his best but dont u think there are babotoirs in his admin? back bitters n some dons still manipulate him. with all of these we cant get anywhere. dats just the simple truth.
Posted: at 4-09-2008 02:52 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- S-I at 4-09-2008 07:06 PM (15 years ago)
Hahahahaaaa! Why not, north does depend on fuel, don't 4get we have Agriculture and we can survive with agriculture. Think 2wise pls!
Posted: at 4-09-2008 07:06 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- olamsy at 4-09-2008 07:17 PM (15 years ago)
they will sell a lot of groundnut and g/nut oil and they will be rich again. they will also sell rice, salt, cement, paper and sand and make money from it.
Posted: at 4-09-2008 07:17 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Godsson at 4-09-2008 09:41 PM (15 years ago)
HA HA Ha Ha!
Once again this talk of agriculture is amusing me.Now,let me talk about it.The biggest Rice farm in Africa is in Peremabiri,Bayelsa State.The Riverine people can farm all year round because of the nature of their soil & the proximity to water.We all know that Garri is the staple food for majority of Nigerians.And Cassava that is the source of Garri grows more in the South.U all know this.
Yam,if U've not hear about Onitsha Yam & it's sweetness,then U're not a Nigerian.
Palm products such as Palmoil,soap,etc still come exclusively from the South.So what's all the fuss about the North & agriculture?

Somebody talked about the South needing Cow meat from the North.lol!Dont U know that red meat is not healthy?The south ve other healthy sources of protein.Fish,snail,periwinkles,crabs,oilstars,crayfish ,etc.All of these are far better sources of nourishment.

Now,let's just assume the south dont have any of these.And the North have very productive farms.Please,somebody should tell me what else the North produce in terms of food that cannot be imported with OIL MONEY?All these talk about the South needing the North for food is naive and out of sync with reality.

We must face the reality that as it stands now,OIL contributes 90% of our nation's Foreign exchange earnings.And the not even one drop of OIL has come from the North so far.Thus,the logical conclusion is that the Niger Delta that produce the OIL feeds the North.Period!Any attempt to deny this is a pursuit of futility.

If the North so much think that AGRICULTURE is a viable option,do U think they wont ve explored it?Do U think Northerners love this awkward position of being a parasite?No!It is because the returns from OIL is fast & huge.

All of U talking about agriculture,I'll sincerely implore U to read more about the World Trade Organization & why its talks ve failed to continue.The Rich developed countries of the world set the price for Agricultural products.To make matters worst,they ve better agricultural systems.To put more salt to ur injuries,their Governments still give subsidy to their farmers.Thus,they produce more than U and dont need most of ur produce.

Pls go find out more about this for yourselves.So u wont continue to bore me with talks of AGRICULTURE.........Ha Ha Ha!
Posted: at 4-09-2008 09:41 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- khadijah at 4-09-2008 11:21 PM (15 years ago)
@Godsson..i'm curiuos to know why you blocked me....or was it accidental?
Posted: at 4-09-2008 11:21 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- yarotee at 5-09-2008 04:21 PM (15 years ago)
 Wink As it now, the North can survive without the petrol dollar from the Naija Delta.
I dare anyone, if Naija Delta is left to control their resources as they have been clamouring, i dont
personally see the Naija Delta doing anything with the petrol dollar. The level of criminality in that zone will outwit any genuine effort of development there.
Posted: at 5-09-2008 04:21 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Godsson at 5-09-2008 09:08 PM (15 years ago)
Khadijah!
I dont remember blocking U.It may be accidental.Or maybe I added U as a Pal & u refused to confirm me.I usually block such people as a way of canceling my request.I guess Urs must ve been by accident.I'll rectify it now.
Posted: at 5-09-2008 09:08 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- zie85er at 5-09-2008 10:06 PM (15 years ago)
the reaL queStion is 'can nigeria survive witout nigerdelta oil?'
Yes............the discovery of oil is d root of all evil in nigeria

Posted: at 5-09-2008 10:06 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- Godsson at 6-09-2008 12:45 AM (15 years ago)
JOHNADE

You said"look at Ghana, they live on tourism, Ghana cedes is now 2 cedes to 1 british pound, and nigeria naira is 102 naira to 1 ghana ceds, since the advent of crude oil is problem upon problems in nigeria,"

I wonder where U get this from.Now let's leave ur fantasy world & discuss the facts.If 1GBP=over 240 Naira,how come 1Cede that's=102Naira make 2GBP?Stop insulting our intelligence.Even though I hate Maths,I can solve money Maths.lol!

As for u talk about the link between crude oil & Nigeria's problem,I maintain my earlier stance.Crude Oil(in itself)is not the cause of the problem.It is how mismanagement of the money that comes from it that ve caused the crisis.

YAROTEE
U're talking sentiments.U've not attempt any real answer to the question.If U say the North can survive without Niger Delta Oil money,tell me how?

U said"if Naija Delta is left to control their resources as they have been clamouring, i dont
personally see the Naija Delta doing anything with the petrol dollar".
This is the same Northern ARROGANCE that is at the heart of the crisis.What gave U the impression that the North can take care of the Niger Delta more than the Niger Delta people?What u saying is like stealing a child's money with the excuse that he does not know what's right for him.If U think the Niger Delta cant control their resources if given,why are U steal holding it back?Is it out of love for them?This is the highest form of hypocrisy.The Cat eats the Rat.But the Cat does not try to bring up any theory to explain that it eats Rats for the benefit of Rats.So U should stop this hypocrisy.No one is buying it.

As for ur talk about criminality,U are right.There is a high level of criminality in the Niger Delta.In fact,we even call it CRIMICONOMICS this days.That is the use of criminal acts for economic purposes.However,when there is a sincere initiative aimed act developing the region,they will be annihilated.The ordinary people of the region know most of these criminal elements.So when the time has come for development,they will tell them to stop or face the wrath of the people.After all,they've been claiming to be the peoples' advocate.So if the people they claim to be fighting for say stop,they must stop or die.

YARO!I am waiting for U to come up with objective analysis.Not Arewacentric  arguments.

Posted: at 6-09-2008 12:45 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- johnade at 6-09-2008 04:47 PM (15 years ago)
Godsson

do u know of the new Ghana cedis, go and check the convertion rate of the new Ghana cedis. http://www.oanda.com/convert/classic.
Posted: at 6-09-2008 04:47 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- johnade at 6-09-2008 05:06 PM (15 years ago)
Godsson it seems u r not read thru u just talk, I said 2 cedis = 1 british pound
Saturday, September 6, 2008

1 Ghanaian New Cedi = 0.49457 British Pound

1 British Pound (GBP) = 2.02194 Ghanaian New Cedi (GHS)

This means:
You buy 1 Ghanaian New Cedi :     0.49457 British Pound
You sell 1 Ghanaian New Cedi :     0.47981 British Pound
You buy 1 British Pound :     2.02194 Ghanaian New Cedi
You sell 1 British Pound :     2.08417 Ghanaian New Cedi

u dey full of urself, that is what is killing the economy people that thinks they know everything.
Posted: at 6-09-2008 05:06 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- walerian at 6-09-2008 06:26 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: johnade on  6-09-2008 05:06 PM
Godsson it seems u r not read thru u just talk, I said 2 cedis = 1 british pound
Saturday, September 6, 2008

1 Ghanaian New Cedi = 0.49457 British Pound

1 British Pound (GBP) = 2.02194 Ghanaian New Cedi (GHS)

This means:
You buy 1 Ghanaian New Cedi :     0.49457 British Pound
You sell 1 Ghanaian New Cedi :     0.47981 British Pound
You buy 1 British Pound :     2.02194 Ghanaian New Cedi
You sell 1 British Pound :     2.08417 Ghanaian New Cedi

u dey full of urself, that is what is killing the economy people that thinks they know everything.

LMAO  Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 6-09-2008 06:26 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Godsson at 6-09-2008 07:13 PM (15 years ago)
JOHNADE!
Thanks for the compliments.If I aint full of myself,should I be full of U?Stop wasting ur time to tell me what I already know about me.Ha ha ha ha!

As for ur lecture on Ghanaian Cedi,my younger brother is a student of the University of Ghana, Legon.So ve spent that money not just reading about it.

Thanks for the web link though.Maybe,I did not read ur post properly.That's my fault.

As for me knowing everything,U're dead wrong.I dont know anything in Maths.lol!Takia
Posted: at 6-09-2008 07:13 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- johnade at 6-09-2008 07:54 PM (15 years ago)
Godsson I have lived in Ghana spend their money 2, i lived in Ivory coast, b4 I moved to UK. it is not easy talkin with big boy like u, all we should ask is can Nigeria survive without crude oil as a source of revenue like what zie85er said and not CAN THE NORTH SURVIVE WITHOUT NIGERDELTA OIL? north is fraction of Nigeria. Pray Nigeria economy should for better.

Posted: at 6-09-2008 07:54 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
1 [2] 3 4 5 ... 9

1. How Abusive Nigerian Man, Beat Wife To Death Months After Relocating To The UK

2. 74Yr Old Woman Robs Bank At Gunpoint After Losing Her Life Savings To Online Scammers

3. We Find Love in Unexpected Places – Bimbo Ademoye Writes As She Shares Loved-up Photo With Timi

4. Ex-runs Girl Lands Herself In Trouble After Finding Out Her Former Client Is Her Brother-in-Law

5. Actress, Stella Udeze Reveals Why Actresses Have Unhappy Relationships

6. Late Mohbad’s Toxicology Result Ready As Pathologist Begins Evaluation

7. Interior Minister, Tunji-Ojo To Relocate Suleja Correctional Centres To Avoid Inmate Escape

8. 'Avoid Panic Buying, Petrol Prices Not Changing' — NNPC To Nigerians

9. Nigerian Actress, Doris Simeon Reveals Why She Relocated To America

10. Actress, Eniola Badmus Looks Beautiful In New Photos To Spice Up The Weekend

11. VIDEO: Woman Who Was Disgraced By Pastor Enenche, Seeks For A New Apartment

12. Ex-Wife Of Late Alaafin Of Oyo, Queen Dami Shares Cryptic Post About Death

13. I Foresee ‘Earth-Shaking’, Climatic Problems In Lagos, Abuja, Others – Primate Ayodele Warns

14. Second Republic Lawmaker & Veteran Journalist, Sidi Ali Dies At Age 86 In Kano

15. NSCDC Arrest 8 Illegal Security Guards, Recovers Firearms In Anambra

16. Mohbad's Dad, Aloba Granted Another Method To Deliver Court Summons For DNA Test To Wumi

17. Edo Police Arrest Two Fake Inspectors, Others Over N20m Drugs

18. "My Confidence In Nigerians Makes Me Take Tough Decisions" – President Tinubu

19. “My Hatred For Mohbad Keeps Increasing” - Naira Marley’s Associate Causes Stirs

1. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

2. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

3. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

4. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

5. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

6. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

7. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria

8. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

9. Divide Nigeria Before June 15 - Yoruba Nation Agitators, Sunday Igboho, Akintoye Tells Tinubu

10. Popular Ghanaian Media Personality, Serwaa Amihere Finally Reacts To Her Leaked S3x Tape