PHOTOS: Residents Flee As Herdsmen Kill Two In Ekiti

Date: 23-05-2016 5:58 am (7 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 23-05-2016 05:58 AM (7 years ago)

Residents of Oke Ako, Ikole Local Government Area of Ekiti State, yesterday started fleeing the community in the aftermath of a killing Friday of one of its residents, named Lekan Arosanyin, by persons suspected to be Fulani herdsmen.

The herdsmen are said to have attacked the community at about 8 pm on the day. The residents, who are reportedly moving into neighbouring Irele, Ipao and Ikole Township, the headquarters of the council area, said they feared the attackers might return to unleash more terror.

According to a resident, who identified herself as Mrs Grace Olofinre in a telephone interview with journalists in Ado- Ekiti, the state capital, the herdsmen swooped on the community in their numbers, shooting sporadically and with bows, arrows, sword, machetes and other dangerous weapons. Another resident, who pleaded anonymity, told newsmen via phone: “This is a bad development. People are leaving the town in droves.

Some are even packing their belongings because of the fear that they could stage more ferocious attacks. “We have been cohabiting peacefully with Fulani herdsmen for long. We didn’t know when things went awry.

The security agencies must rise to the occasion. This is a serious threat to Ekiti,” he warned. The Deputy Governor, Dr. Kolapo Olusola, on his visit to the town yesterday, said the state government would institute all measures to forestall a recurrence of the ugly incident.

“We won’t allow strangers to destroy our lives and properties at will. This is a sad development that we must tackle to ensure justice and peace reign in the state,” he said.

According to eye witnesses, residents, who were caught unawares, fled for their lives, but Arosanyin was allegedly hit by one of the several shots fired by the invaders, killing him instantly.

Four others who sustained injuries were said to be receiving treatment at a private hospital in Ado-Ekiti, while Ibiteye Olomi, also a victim, was said to be receiving treatment in a hospital in Ikole-Ekiti. But another witness, Adebayo Ajayi, saw the incident as a reprisal attack, noting the herdsmen had previously had issues with villagers concerning their grazing activities in the community.

He said the villagers had been voicing their worries regarding the use of their farmlands for grazing by the herdsmen, a situation which did not find favour with the herdsmen.

The Divisional Police Officer, who also spoke by telephone, confirmed the incident noting that he could not ascertain whether the mayhem was foisted by armed robbers or Fulani herdsmen.

Meanwhile, the residents of the town have blamed the police for what happened insisting that they refused to act on time when they were informed about the attack. One of them, Muyiwa Olukosi, whose wife sustained machete cuts, told reporters the case was reported to police in the area on time but no response came until it was too late.

His words: “We reported the matter immediately the Fulani people came but the police surprisingly said we should bring N12,000 to buy fuel before they could come because their vehicle had no fuel.”

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 23-05-2016 05:58 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- hardenedstar at 23-05-2016 06:12 AM (7 years ago)
Fulani's activities is a proof of Buhari determination to destroy Nigeria if not why on earth would herdsmen go about with weapons and also turn people's farms in to grazing field? Roll Eyes
Posted: at 23-05-2016 06:12 AM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- sandra78 at 23-05-2016 06:24 AM (7 years ago)
They have traveled to the West to kill Yoruba people like Chicken....
Posted: at 23-05-2016 06:24 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- leodavinci at 23-05-2016 06:36 AM (7 years ago)
Lord have mercy
Posted: at 23-05-2016 06:36 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- uduehi at 23-05-2016 06:54 AM (7 years ago)
Buhari govt will surly collapse just like when he was overthrown 
Posted: at 23-05-2016 06:54 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- Wealthmide at 23-05-2016 07:19 AM (7 years ago)
animals in human skin, may God just have mercy ooo...
Posted: at 23-05-2016 07:19 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- morgan1 at 23-05-2016 07:21 AM (7 years ago)
 Angry Angry Angry
Posted: at 23-05-2016 07:21 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Eazyatumeyi at 23-05-2016 07:29 AM (7 years ago)
The president is not ready to tackle the fooolanis, the governors should deal with them accordingly
Posted: at 23-05-2016 07:29 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Troublemenot at 23-05-2016 07:42 AM (7 years ago)
We blame Jonathan for over looking Boko haram issue here we are again with Buhari over looking Fulani issue.  When are we going to do things right in Nigeria without tribal or religious sentiments.
Posted: at 23-05-2016 07:42 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 23-05-2016 10:26 AM (7 years ago)
mmmm na wa oo
Posted: at 23-05-2016 10:26 AM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- Mykie010 at 23-05-2016 10:57 AM (7 years ago)
If na for Igbo land,some Yoruba boys go dey comment rubbish,una don turn deaf n dumb
Posted: at 23-05-2016 10:57 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kachasi at 23-05-2016 11:09 AM (7 years ago)
Fulani's activities is a proof of Buhari determination to destroy Nigeria if not why on earth would herdsmen go about with weapons and also turn people's farms in to grazing field?

i really wonder
Posted: at 23-05-2016 11:09 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kachasi at 23-05-2016 11:14 AM (7 years ago)
may God save us from these men. amen
Posted: at 23-05-2016 11:14 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Novic at 23-05-2016 11:51 AM (7 years ago)
Can you imagine... wicked people everywhere.
Posted: at 23-05-2016 11:51 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- kachasi at 23-05-2016 12:22 PM (7 years ago)
the fear of herdsmen is the beginning of wisdom
Posted: at 23-05-2016 12:22 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- CHRISETTE at 23-05-2016 02:13 PM (7 years ago)
This is the reign of the fulani herdsmen God protect your children
Posted: at 23-05-2016 02:13 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Vectorcy at 23-05-2016 04:41 PM (7 years ago)
From boko haram to fulani....oneproblem 2 anoda
Posted: at 23-05-2016 04:41 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Sparky12 at 23-05-2016 08:40 PM (7 years ago)
Bastard Buhari brother
Posted: at 23-05-2016 08:40 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickieponga at 23-05-2016 08:58 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: Sandra White on 23-05-2016 06:24 AM
They have traveled to the West to kill Yoruba people like Chicken....
No be only yoruba dem wan kill na any niaja dem see dem dey kill so we have to work together to stop the scourge of dis animals in human skin..
Posted: at 23-05-2016 08:58 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Buharigodie at 23-05-2016 09:35 PM (7 years ago)
Where are all those stupid Yorubas that has been speaking nonsense at Igbos when those Herdsmen were killing Igbos?Huh??? where are you fools? HAHAHAHAHA, so you have remain silent and hidden to no where to be found. HAHAHAHAHAHA. please check my user name on this Naijapals, and you will understand what i stand for, Buharigodie and Buhari mus die. can't you see how margot were coming out of his ears and now he can't hear things with one of his ears. that is the beginning of what is to come. i tell you this, Buhari will decay while still breathing. listen, Nigeria has expired and nothing good will ever come out of that country called nigeria the ZOO REPUBLIC. i thought people said that Herdsmen will only kill Igbos? but what is happening today? they have relocated to Yoruba Land. Bravo to the Governor of Ekiti State, indeed you're man enough to have stood for your people. but i tell you this, it doesn't end in speaking but acting will do whole lot of good. so i said this Mr Governor, please start acting O before it happens again. i rest my case here, Thanks
Posted: at 23-05-2016 09:35 PM (7 years ago) | Newbie