Soldiers Detain Woman While Driving Sick Child Home

Date: 31-05-2016 9:01 am (7 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 31-05-2016 09:01 AM (7 years ago)

A Lagos-based hotel manager, Ms Omolara Koleoso, has accused some soldiers at the Ikeja Cantonment of unlawfully detaining her for arguing with their colleague, while driving her sick child home. She said she was detained for over 24 hours without food, adding that family members who came were not allowed to see her. It was learnt that it took the intervention of a senior officer in the barracks before the woman was released around 8pm on Saturday.

We gathered that around 4pm on Friday, Koleoso had gone to pick her daughter, who is a pupil of the Command Day Secondary School within the cantonment, after receiving a call that she was ill.

It was learnt that as she wanted to drive out of the barracks, a female soldier shut the gate and reportedly demanded that the pupil disembarked from the car and joined other students for sanitation in the school.

Attempts by the mother to convince her that the daughter was ill and needed to rest reportedly fell on deaf ears, after which an altercation ensued.

Koleoso said,
“My daughter was in the school on that day at 7am for the NECO Food and Nutrition practical exam. I am an old student of the school and I have a good relationship with the management.
“My daughter later called me, saying she was feeling dizzy. It has never happened to her before, so I had to rush back to the school. I met with one of her teachers and after she was through with the practical, we left the school.
“As I drove towards the gate, a soldier – I don’t know her name but I can recognise her – closed it. She told my daughter to go back. I pleaded with her that she was ill, but she refused. When I asked why she allowed other students to go out, she became angry and we started exchanging words. She called me a bloody civilian and I told her that I deserved some respect. Another soldier begged her to let us leave, but she refused.”

Koleoso told our correspondent that four other soldiers suddenly appeared and accused her of attempting to beat an officer.

She said
, “She pushed me; they said I was drunk. I  said no and they ordered me into the military post. One of them, my daughter and I entered my car and I drove to the post. They locked me up in the cell and after some hours they took me out and detained me at the counter.
 “I was there without food and water until around 8pm on Saturday. My mother and a retired senior police officer came, but they were not allowed to see me. It was a major that called them on the telephone and ordered that I should be released. I heard some of them say, ‘that woman did not do anything wrong, it is just a show of power’. They told me to come back by 9am on Tuesday (today) for resolution or be handed over to the police for violating barracks law,”
she said.

The spokesperson, 81 Division, Lagos, Lt. Col. Benjamin Joseph, urged Koleoso to formally report the matter and promised that the command would take appropriate actions on it.
He said
, “I have spoken with the woman (Koleoso) and sent her number to the commandant. The commandant will invite all the parties. It is good she can identify the soldier. Let her go back to the school and from there, we can take up our investigation.”

Soldiers and this "bloody civilian" language. If you want to show power, go to Sambisa and stop harassing citizens because you are wearing a uniform.

Posted: at 31-05-2016 09:01 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Wealthmide at 31-05-2016 09:22 AM (7 years ago)
may God just have mercy ooo.....
Posted: at 31-05-2016 09:22 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- CHRISETTE at 31-05-2016 09:52 AM (7 years ago)
Yeye bloody soldier like you
Posted: at 31-05-2016 09:52 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- dynasty4all at 31-05-2016 10:14 AM (7 years ago)
 BUHARI HAS EMPOWERED THEM,,,,,THEY DO AS THEY LIKE NOW.
YORUBAS AND BINIS WANT CHANGE...THAT IS D CHANGE.....EWU CAN BEER
Posted: at 31-05-2016 10:14 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 31-05-2016 11:11 AM (7 years ago)
you funny self , u enter barrack go dey argue with soldier anyway thank your head
Posted: at 31-05-2016 11:11 AM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- raynebee at 31-05-2016 11:34 AM (7 years ago)
imagine                                                                             
Posted: at 31-05-2016 11:34 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- yawa_don_gas at 31-05-2016 11:47 AM (7 years ago)
Why everywhere na yawa dey
Posted: at 31-05-2016 11:47 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- albionalex at 31-05-2016 12:24 PM (7 years ago)
Go and tell Boko Haram dey ar bloody civilians..
Posted: at 31-05-2016 12:24 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- dickieponga at 31-05-2016 05:10 PM (7 years ago)
U sef get balls... I bet you were rude to them but you no talk that one..
Posted: at 31-05-2016 05:10 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- ferrara at 31-05-2016 06:54 PM (7 years ago)
I dont believe her. All na story,
Posted: at 31-05-2016 06:54 PM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- raynebee at 31-05-2016 08:00 PM (7 years ago)
like seriously wah is this country turning to ?     
Posted: at 31-05-2016 08:00 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Eazyatumeyi at 31-05-2016 11:13 PM (7 years ago)
Lot of bullsh*ts.. civilians gats respect themselves
Posted: at 31-05-2016 11:13 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- morgan1 at 1-06-2016 01:36 AM (7 years ago)
Posted: at 1-06-2016 01:36 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 1-06-2016 04:39 AM (7 years ago)
I pray they dismissed dat stupid soldier lady. She is flexing muscle here instead of her to be wit other men in sambisa forest.
Posted: at 1-06-2016 04:39 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero

1. Drama In Club As Sam Larry Gets Confronted By A Club Guest Over Mohbad’s Death (Video)

2. Security Forces Kill IPOB/ESN IED Specialist In Imo State

3. "Why I Refused To Return Govt Vehicles–Ex-Edo Deputy Gov. Philip Shaibu Opens Up On Impeachment

4. Actress Yvonne Jegede And Filmmaker Sam Olatunji Slam Angela Okorie For Beefing Mercy Johnson

5. Bandits Kill 46-Year-Old Nigerian Law Professor, Sarinu Ettor Kabo In Benue State

6. Peter Obi Alleges Govt Agencies Conducting Smear Campaigns, Town Hall Meetings Against Him

7. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

8. Osun State University Teaching Hospital Announces 14-Day Deadline For Unclaimed Bodies

9. Outcry Over Alleged Soldier Assault Resulting In Young Man, Yusuf Shuaibu Adamu's Death In Kano

10. DJ Cuppy Embraces Single Status, Celebrates Independence

11. Nigeria Lady Calls Out Her Secondary School Teacher Who Allegedly S3xually Abused Her

12. Media Personality, Toke Makinwa Reveals She Wants To Start Fellowship Group

13. Liverpool v Tottenham: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

14. Chelsea v West Ham: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

1. Stop Lagos-Calabar Highway Project - Obi Tells Tinubu As Demolition of Landmark Centre Begins

2. FRESH: Nollywood Lovers, IK Ogbonna & Ini Edo Reportedly Engaged

3. "Stop Inciting Igbos Against Tinubu Govt" – Umahi Slams Peter Obi

4. MAY 1st; Peter Obi Celebrates Nigerian Workers, Sends Message

5. “Wizkid Undergoing Mental Illness, No Longer Together With Jada – Isaac Fayose Reveals

6. Peter Obi Reacts To The Deaths Of 35 Nigerians In Horrific Kogi, Enugu Road Clashes

7. Watch As Lions Have S3x On Top Of Safari Truck Full Of People

8. Lagos Gov Sanwo Olu Appoints Wasiu Ayinde's Daughter, Basirat As SSA To Gov On Tourism

9. How A Nigerian Woman Loses Her Marketing Job For Failing to Meet N300m Monthly Target

10. Kenya Gets First Female Air Force Commander, Major General Fatuma Gaiti Ahmed