What has genotype got to do with marriage?

Date: 13-08-2008 5:35 pm (15 years ago) | Author: onasanya olufemi
- at 13-08-2008 05:35 PM (15 years ago)
I ve tried as much as possible to avoid this question in my few years of medical practise. However,i had no place to hide recently when a patient, a teenager, threw the question at me. She just discovered that her genotype is AS and that of her boyfriend whom she is planning to settle down with later in the future is AS also.
What can i say? i tried my best to sit on the fence, as in, i was neither here nor there. I tried my best to explain the consequences of going into such marriage, the fact that though the children may suffer by being Sicklers and also the financial implications of this on the family as a whole. Oh, did i forget to mention the psychological implications too?
There was a lady that recently committed suicide while in school. She took overdose of insulin injection. Alas, she left a suicide note. In this note she blamed her parents for making her suffer in life for their own enjoyment. She asked the question "why did you get married when you knew you are not compatible in genotype?" In as much as this may be stupid on her part, she does have a point.
Must we suffer our children because of love? Or can we weather the storm with LOVE, afterall with love everything is possible.
If you ve ever witness the fate of a sickler and his/her family when in crisis, then you know what i am talking about.
Now, you have the floor to express your opinion. WHAT HAS GENOTYPE GOTTA DO WITH MARRIAGE? CAN LOVE CONQUER SICKLE CELL DISEASE?
Lets live life to the fullest but with caution!!!

Posted: at 13-08-2008 05:35 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- SAmyrocko at 16-08-2008 02:03 PM (15 years ago)
You will born a sickler if you dont check it before you marry..

Posted: at 16-08-2008 02:03 PM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- funshow at 20-08-2008 02:07 PM (15 years ago)
It's a beautiful experience that the recent generations are open to lot's of awareness such as the subject of the question posted above as against our fore fathers who know little or nothing about it which result has actually caused lots of havoc,confussion,pain,sorrow $ suicide in the lives of their children.
I think the most thing to be careful and note about this gynotype$bloodgroup issue when searching for a life partner is the 'ones against and for' i.e if Someone with AS get  married to another AS is a big disaster but on the contrary if AS get married to AA.
So in view of the posted question above genotype has got lot to do just that we need to be very careful to choose our match.
Posted: at 20-08-2008 02:07 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- solazed at 20-08-2008 03:40 PM (15 years ago)
genotype screening before marriage is very important essentially as an educational exercise to enable intending couples to make informed choices; there are so many genetic-linked disorders such as sickle cell disease, albinism, haemophilia, etc. that only such blood screening can prevent their transmission to the children, genotype screening is it

Posted: at 20-08-2008 03:40 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- blackberryPearl at 11-10-2008 07:09 PM (15 years ago)
it has everything to do with it
if u r aa and marry  as or ss then u have 5o percent chance of having an as or 75 % of ss
Posted: at 11-10-2008 07:09 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- Ebiks at 29-10-2008 08:24 AM (15 years ago)
you have to screen because you will do more harm than good its better to let go than watch your child suffer the better part of his/her life
Posted: at 29-10-2008 08:24 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- akinwilly at 30-10-2008 09:01 AM (15 years ago)
I think it is a crime to self, partner and d unlucky baby SS, if AS marries AS all in the name of love. I have been a victim of having an SS child whom i loved best. I eperience d most agonising emotional condemnation and guilt anytime he had crisis. Belief that d foetus can be aborted if test revealed it to be SS in utero is risky as not all pregnancies can be aborted apart from moral ethics that may make attepting it difficult . Avoid future lifetime depression by not taking unnecessary risks today-Dr Akinwilly
Posted: at 30-10-2008 09:01 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Ebiks at 30-10-2008 09:17 AM (15 years ago)
make them c the damage they are going to cause
Posted: at 30-10-2008 09:17 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- blackberryPearl at 1-11-2008 12:12 AM (15 years ago)
dude
Posted: at 1-11-2008 12:12 AM (15 years ago) | Hero
- Akuku at 1-05-2011 01:11 PM (13 years ago)
could the genotype also affect the voice of a child because I am AA and his mother is AA and he is three years now and he does not seem to be hearing and has not spoken but he makes sound as mumbling and mimicking.
Posted: at 1-05-2011 01:11 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- ANIWETALU at 2-05-2011 06:43 PM (13 years ago)
My lady is AS while I am AA. I hope we can go ahead with our marriage plan
Posted: at 2-05-2011 06:43 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- KINGJHOE at 4-05-2011 06:22 AM (13 years ago)
AS =AA CAN GO.NO MULTIPLIER EFFECT TO HAVE SICKLE CELL.GOD BLESS
Posted: at 4-05-2011 06:22 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- preciouslyme at 11-06-2011 06:19 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Akuku on  1-05-2011 01:11 PM
could the genotype also affect the voice of a child because I am AA and his mother is AA and he is three years now and he does not seem to be hearing and has not spoken but he makes sound as mumbling and mimicking.

this has nothing to do with the fact that both parents are AA, there are many reasons for this, but he might just be slower in speech meaning he will develop his speech later but with no issues
Posted: at 11-06-2011 06:19 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- Vectorcy at 14-03-2016 10:33 AM (8 years ago)
It matters oooo,abi u wnt get sickler pickin
Posted: at 14-03-2016 10:33 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- kison at 29-06-2016 09:21 PM (7 years ago)
Y'ALL BETTER be careful, be very very careful, CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL...
Posted: at 29-06-2016 09:21 PM (7 years ago) | Hero