Ex Police IG Solomon Arase Accused Of 'Stealing' 24 Vehicles From The Force Headquarters

Date: 18-07-2016 6:45 am (7 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 18-07-2016 06:45 AM (7 years ago)

The Acting Inspector General of Police, Ibrahim Idris, has launched an investigation into the disappearance of some vehicles at the Force Headquarters in Abuja. Idris said the vehicles were still in the premises of the Louis Edet House at least one week before his appointment as the police helmsman.

A probe has also been launched into irregular promotion in the Force by Idris.

The Acting IGP disclosed these on Sunday when he spoke with newsmen in Abuja.

He said preliminary investigations have revealed that his predecessor, Solomon Arase, alone took 24 of the vehicles, while some of the retired Deputy Inspectors-General of Police also went away with as many as they wanted.

Idris said letters have already been sent to Arase and the DIGs, adding that the former IGP was entitled to only four vehicles.

He said:
“A week before I was announced, when you look through my office window, you could see so many cars. “But the cars all disappeared when I came in.

“What I did in that was to assign a directive to the Special Investigative Unit for them to investigate all vehicles’ purchases and donations to the police in the last three years as well as their positions.

“When I took over, there were no vehicles. “I discovered that the last IG went away with 24 vehicles, including two BMWs. “The DIGs some took seven, others eight. “And they left me with an old vehicle.

“Even the one I follow the President with, the last time I went for an engagement, the President asked what I was doing with that kind of vehicle.

“The headlight has changed colour, which means it was parked for long under the rain. “But the new ones that were bought, including an Armoured BMW 7 series, he took them away. “So, I wrote to him and reminded him of the police rule.

“When a policeman retires as IG, DIG, AIG or CP, he is entitled to some vehicles.“And so, he should take his entitlement and return the extra. “I believe four vehicles are enough for an average person. “What does one need 24 vehicles for?”

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 18-07-2016 06:45 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- angesco at 18-07-2016 07:03 AM (7 years ago)
Its a DISGRACE when those in uniform - police AND army - are themselves thieves. One wonders how we Nigerians can trust them to protect us in these very UNSETTLED times going on around the world and IN Nigeria.
Posted: at 18-07-2016 07:03 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- UDADA1 at 18-07-2016 07:46 AM (7 years ago)
Let us hear he out & He said:
“A week before I was announced, when you look through my office window, you could see so many cars. “But the cars all disappeared when I came in.

“What I did in that was to assign a directive to the Special Investigative Unit for them to investigate all vehicles’ purchases and donations to the police in the last three years as well as their positions.

“When I took over, there were no vehicles. “I discovered that the last IG went away with 24 vehicles, including two BMWs. “The DIGs some took seven, others eight. “And they left me with an old vehicle.

“Even the one I follow the President with, the last time I went for an engagement, the President asked what I was doing with that kind of vehicle.

“The headlight has changed colour, which means it was parked for long under the rain. “But the new ones that were bought, including an Armoured BMW 7 series, he took them away. “So, I wrote to him and reminded him of the police rule.

“When a policeman retires as IG, DIG, AIG or CP, he is entitled to some vehicles.“And so, he should take his entitlement and return the extra. “I believe four vehicles are enough for an average person. “What does one need 24 vehicles for?”
Posted: at 18-07-2016 07:46 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- CHRISETTE at 18-07-2016 07:57 AM (7 years ago)
This one don dey find him share
Posted: at 18-07-2016 07:57 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- OLUCHI5 at 18-07-2016 08:03 AM (7 years ago)
before una think say police na saints?
Posted: at 18-07-2016 08:03 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- freethinker at 18-07-2016 08:14 AM (7 years ago)
PLS GUYS DON'T CONCLUDE YET, LET 'S HEAR FROM THE FORMER IG COS THOSE IN POWER NOW CAN FABRICATE ANYTHING, AS POLICE OFFICER, HE SUPPOSE TO HEAR FROM THE MAN BEFORE GOING PUBLIC.
PLS THIS HAUSA/FULANI GOVT HAS HIDDEN AGENDA, PLS I REPEAT DON'T BELIEVE EVERYTHING THEY SAY
Posted: at 18-07-2016 08:14 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kp45 at 18-07-2016 08:17 AM (7 years ago)
Posted: at 18-07-2016 08:17 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- zezprincess at 18-07-2016 08:28 AM (7 years ago)
Hmmm!idris or whaever your name is.face your new position&work,leave arase alone or Do you want to make history???
Posted: at 18-07-2016 08:28 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- sandra78 at 18-07-2016 08:29 AM (7 years ago)
Catch him and Arrest him at the same time...... Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 18-07-2016 08:29 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- scottchris at 18-07-2016 09:39 AM (7 years ago)
Oga Arase.... U took the cars,  talk true..... Since the past IGPs took 12 nd 8 cars ,  u decided to double yours payback..... Well i knw its your share of the national cake,  but remember you qont take any1 to hell or heaven

Posted: at 18-07-2016 09:39 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kison at 18-07-2016 09:57 AM (7 years ago)
YOU HAVE TO  BE careful, be very very careful, CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL……………………………….
Posted: at 18-07-2016 09:57 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- steadily at 18-07-2016 09:59 AM (7 years ago)
WHEN LEADERS ARE SETTING BAD PRECEDENTS, THEN WHAT WILL THEY TELL THE FUTURE GENERATIONS.
Posted: at 18-07-2016 09:59 AM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- gogoman at 18-07-2016 10:12 AM (7 years ago)
na lie!!!
Posted: at 18-07-2016 10:12 AM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- morgan1 at 18-07-2016 12:29 PM (7 years ago)
Return d cars,,,,people too greedy oo
Posted: at 18-07-2016 12:29 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Kennycynth at 18-07-2016 12:34 PM (7 years ago)
really???
Posted: at 18-07-2016 12:34 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- EDDYPRINCE at 18-07-2016 12:45 PM (7 years ago)
LETS HEAR FROM THE FORMER IG FIRST
Posted: at 18-07-2016 12:45 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- osarobo62 at 18-07-2016 03:13 PM (7 years ago)
Arase, has denied the allegations of his successor, saying he didn’t go away with any police vehicle.

The former IG, on Sunday, denied taking away 24 police cars, describing the allegations as a malicious propaganda.

Arase advised Idris to squarely face security issues confronting the country rather than engaging in “media propaganda.”

He said, “What am I going to do with 24 cars? Do I want to open a car shop? This is a malicious accusation. There are ways of verifying issues rather than engaging in media propaganda.”
Posted: at 18-07-2016 03:13 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- dickieponga at 18-07-2016 04:10 PM (7 years ago)
Tif na tif...
Posted: at 18-07-2016 04:10 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 18-07-2016 08:52 PM (7 years ago)
See who is talking. As if he honest. Nonsense. D blood dat family u killed in kano after d returning officer rig 2million vote for u will hunt u down.  Arase took 24 vehicles say na transporter?Huh? Mcthewwwwww
Posted: at 18-07-2016 08:52 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- okatee at 21-07-2016 12:34 AM (7 years ago)
ABEG EEE, U GUYZ SHUD FACE SECURITY PROBLEM ND 4GET ABT CAR PROBLEM
Posted: at 21-07-2016 12:34 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. UK-based Nigerian G@y Man Laments How Family Pressures Him To Marry A Woman Despite His Status

2. EFCC Boss, Olukoyede Faces Visa Ban Threat Over Yahaya Bello's Case

3. I Vow To Keep Trolling Actress Bimbo Ademoye - Actor Deyemi Okanlawon Reveals Why

4. Your First Salary Belong To Your Father For His Blessings Not to Your Pastor - Kanayo O. Kanayo

5. One Shot As Soldiers Break Out Of Their Cells To Protest Poor Welfare In Sokoto

6. Moses Bliss Reacts After A Troll Bashes Him For Allowing His Wife Preach Whenever They Go For

7. Reaction As Davido Likes Tweet Calling Samklef A ‘Fool At 40’

8. Fulham v Manchester City: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

9. Singer, Fireboy Dismisses Rumour Of Rivalry With His Colleague, Asake

10. Nottingham v Chelsea: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

11. Manchester United v Arsenal: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

12. Brickhall School And Ovoke Family Issue Press Statement After Burial Of 4 Year Old

1. Onanuga Shares A Post Alleging Peter Obi Demarkets Nigeria, Calls Him ‘Bitter Obi'

2. Focus On Fall Of Naira, Insecurity – Charly Boy Drags Onanuga For Tagging Peter Obi As ‘Bitter’

3. Actors In Nollywood Films Used To Be Cast Based On Social Media Followers – Uzor Arukwe

4. Suspected Sextortion Blackmailer, Olamide Made £2m Vows To Release Embarrassing PIC/VID Of Boys

5. Mercy Johnson Was With us in The Boat - Survivor of Boat Accident That Killed Jnr Pope Reveals

6. Late Buhari Oloto's Wife, Alhaja Alimotu Sadia Oloto a.k.a IYA OYO Is Dead

7. Nigerians React To Tinubu-Led Administration’s Cybersecurity Levy

8. CBN Extends Suspension of Charges on Cash Deposits

9. If I Buy You A Flight Ticket, Am I Suppose To Tell You To Wear Seat Belt – Adanma Luke Attacks

10. Reactions As Mohbad’s Father Completes Renovation Of Family House In Ekiti State