Nigerian, Henry Oja Kelechi in Indian Jail Teaches Other Inmates Football

Date: 13-09-2016 9:34 am (7 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 13-09-2016 09:34 AM (7 years ago)

Henry Oja Kelechi, a Nigerian who is currently serving time in India after being arrested in March for travelling with an expired visa has been an inspiration to his fellow inmates.
Murder convict Bhanu Soren, 31, looks forward to every afternoon with anticipation on a football match. For the past six months, Soren and dozens of others among Assam’s Golaghat district jail’s 512 inmates have been learning to play football . They play with their bare feet.
“Playing football makes me very happy. I will continue to play and teach others when I leave the jail,”
said Soren.

Henry, a football enthusiast from Lagos, claims he was busy travelling to different places in Assam for football coaching in schools and small clubs and forgot to extend his visa.
“I was very upset about landing in jail. But everything changed after jail superintendent Dilip Saikia gave me a football,
” the 27-year-old said.

Henry began playing in the small field within the jail and soon was joined by many male inmates, most of them convicted for murder and drug dealing, eager to learn the most popular sport in the world.

But there was a problem. The jail only had a small area for the inmates to play volleyball. So the jail authorities and Henry and his gang of wannabe footballers decided to improvise.
“We extended the volleyball court and prepared a field 60 metres in length and 35 metres in breadth. The size of the goal posts were also decreased,”
said jail superintendent Saikia.
Instead of the standard 11-man teams, eight teams comprising seven players and three substitutes were formed and playing time was reduced to two halves of 20 minutes each instead of the usual 45 minutes for each half.

Last month, Golaghat organized the first ever football tournament inside a jail.
“We spent around Rs 5,000 in organising the event. Besides a trophy to the winners, the losing side got a shield and awards were presented to the best player and goalkeeper,”
said Saikia.
The tournament may be over but the passion for football still runs high and every afternoon, Soren and other inmates wait for Henry’s arrival to learn a few more tips.
“A lot of people feel very depressed inside jail. But it is nice to see how football has brought change among he inmates,”
said Henry.
Henry has almost completed his 6-month jail term and will soon be eligible for release.

Posted: at 13-09-2016 09:34 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- diutopep at 13-09-2016 09:53 AM (7 years ago)
Eyaah.... D skill is still there despite d misfortune! But would dis make them free you.... I doubt it.
Posted: at 13-09-2016 09:53 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- odegbalegu at 13-09-2016 10:18 AM (7 years ago)
FIFA take note, prison world cup competition in the making.
Posted: at 13-09-2016 10:18 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- emytex74 at 13-09-2016 10:56 AM (7 years ago)
They should buy football boot for them na
Posted: at 13-09-2016 10:56 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 13-09-2016 12:33 PM (7 years ago)
PRISON LIFE
Posted: at 13-09-2016 12:33 PM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- botlex at 13-09-2016 01:05 PM (7 years ago)
You get luck say no be naija prison be that, u for hear whiiiiiiiii!!!

Grow your Spare Money by 50% or 30% in 30 Days with Get Help Worldwide. Get Help Worldwide is designed to last forever. Don't let Inflation eat up your money in the Bank.
* NO Networking.
* NO Products.
* NO Investment.
* Stress FREE.
* Designed to Last Forever
Get Help Worldwide is the World's Most Advanced Mutual Aid Platform where people are helping each other Directly, No Third Party Involved. Whatever help you give grows by 50% in Bitcoin or 30% in Local Currency in 30 Days. Get Help Worldwide is the Best Crowd funding platform ever seen in this 21st Century.

To Signup, click on: https://gethelpworldwide.com/?ref_id=431      then click on Create Account.

To learn more about Get Help Worldwide, call/whatsapp me on 07030931447
or inbox me your whatsapp number , you will be added to the GHW Whatsapp Webinar chat room where FREE training will be done, GHW - Changing Lives! Changing Nations!! Changing The World!!!.
Posted: at 13-09-2016 01:05 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- morgan1 at 13-09-2016 03:01 PM (7 years ago)
Posted: at 13-09-2016 03:01 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- kison at 13-09-2016 04:04 PM (7 years ago)
JUST SEE UR USELESS LIFE OUTSIDE, FUTURE OF TOMORROW INDEED..... Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 13-09-2016 04:04 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- osarobo62 at 13-09-2016 06:02 PM (7 years ago)
six moths jail time for expired visa Huh?
Posted: at 13-09-2016 06:02 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- sandler at 13-09-2016 08:34 PM (7 years ago)
WASTED GENERATION
Posted: at 13-09-2016 08:34 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- CHRISETTE at 13-09-2016 08:45 PM (7 years ago)
I see a great man
Posted: at 13-09-2016 08:45 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- AmazingMarie at 13-09-2016 10:53 PM (7 years ago)
he tried. in any situation you find yourself just be useful to yourself and the society.
Posted: at 13-09-2016 10:53 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- 419BigBoy at 14-09-2016 01:17 AM (7 years ago)
"Henry has almost completed his 6-month jail term and will soon be eligible for release."

^
the best sentence in the entire article!
Posted: at 14-09-2016 01:17 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- anitajoseph at 14-09-2016 04:51 AM (7 years ago)
47 years you mean?
Well prison is a no go area o
They should thank God they are not in Indonesia but India
But the best thing is to stay away from claim
Posted: at 14-09-2016 04:51 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- teral at 14-09-2016 04:54 AM (7 years ago)
ESPIRED  VISA  HOW DID HE GET INTO THE  AIR LINE. THEY SHOULD  HAVE DEPORTED  HIM . WHERE IS OUR FORING  AFARE MINISTER?  OR THE EMBASSY
Posted: at 14-09-2016 04:54 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- teral at 14-09-2016 04:55 AM (7 years ago)
ESPIRED  VISA  HOW DID HE GET INTO THE  AIR LINE. THEY SHOULD  HAVE DEPORTED  HIM . WHERE IS OUR FORING  AFARE MINISTER?  OR THE EMBASSY
Posted: at 14-09-2016 04:55 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- okatee at 15-09-2016 11:48 PM (7 years ago)
BOI, DO DEY CUM BAK HOUSE OOO
Posted: at 15-09-2016 11:48 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac