HIV test before Nigerian marriage (Page 8)

Date: 16-09-2007 5:42 pm (16 years ago) | Author: herre
1 ... 5 6 7 [8] 9
- bali4real at 8-08-2008 05:56 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: vixenx on 21-09-2007 02:17 AM
I think so too..maybe they'll be able to reduce the amount of infections being spread around. Cuz d numbers are totally ridiculous.
i agree with you vixen.d stuff is out there n d population of d victims is increasing every day.
Posted: at 8-08-2008 05:56 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dalilwal at 9-08-2008 06:38 PM (15 years ago)
I WILL SAY AS A GUY IT THE BEST THING TO DO. COS THE WAY THE WORKD IS GOING, GIRLS ARE BECOMING BITCH AND GUYS ARE BECOMING DOGS DAY BY DAY.............SO THE BEST THING TO DO IS TO KNOW EACH OTHER STATUS. T WILL NOT EVEN GIVE IT A THOUGHT. COS
Understand death has no use for time.
No time is any better, any worse.
Cancel twenty years or eighty-nine,
Love's a loss one cannot reimburse.
Each of us lives for an eternity,
Dying only after our forever.
Early or late, we vanish equally,
All unconscious of the ties we sever,
No longer either separate or together.
SO I WILL ADVICE TO KNOW YOUR STATUS BEFORE MARRAGE
Posted: at 9-08-2008 06:38 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- democrazy at 10-08-2008 01:26 AM (15 years ago)
Apa!!

by the time you get the result, una don nak a few more times. both of you go still get same result..............so what;s all the fuss

abi you dey use condo indiscretionally?
Posted: at 10-08-2008 01:26 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- delivingtiger1 at 10-08-2008 01:56 AM (15 years ago)
The truth of the matter is that the so  called Christians have become great disappointment to God and am really sorry for the churches of today. Aids/Hiv is not African originated but a medical sentiment by the west to run we Africans down. The problem of Africa is not Aids but poverty and every time we seek for help from them, they will only give us the immune builder rather than giving us what we want.
They brought Christianity to us but they don't practice it and here we are carrying the whole thing on our head.I  live in Europe and i must tell you frankly that Reverend fathers smoke ciggerates openly in their church offices.Most of them practice homosegxwality which is an abomination in the african culture.
Please lets shrug our minds from the western colonialism and embrace our cultural norms and values.
Posted: at 10-08-2008 01:56 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- sweet_kay at 10-08-2008 09:54 AM (15 years ago)
HIV has been on the rise for decades now, and recent records show a slight fall which is good news. Yet we have to put some effort to stop its further spread. Getting tested is an important step to protecting ourselves from the virus. And the test has to be voluntary and confidential. However, it is not wrong for an individual or group (like a church) to recommend that an individual should get tested (for his/her good) and without any compulsion.

Where a church is requesting a test before marriage it's not bad, the church or those involved should make the guy and lady see reason they should go for a test; I think the result must be between the guy and lady and not anyone else unless they decide to voluntarily disclose their status to others (and the church). It is for the intending couple to make an informed decision on whether or not to go on with the marriage based on their HIV status shown by the test result, so they won't have any reason to seek a divorce because of their HIV status in the future after they are wedded by the church. It would require proper post-test counseling for them to understand what they are going into if their status are both +ve; or one -ve and the other +ve. [Same applies to genotype- genetic counseling].

Bottom-line is: HIV test before marriage (anywhere in the world) is important, not under compulsion, and with guaranteed confidentiality of intending couple for their own personal decision, not a church's decision.
And please bali4real, any one living with HIV is not referred to as "victim". That word creates the impression of discrimination and even a "death" sentence for HIV +ve people. The preferred word is "infected" or the phrase: "People living with HIV/AIDS (PLWHA)".

Thanks guys and ladies for all your brilliant contributions. It's an opportunity for learning from each other. Kudos
Posted: at 10-08-2008 09:54 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- fineboy at 10-08-2008 02:35 PM (15 years ago)
just passing

Posted: at 10-08-2008 02:35 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- rosetta at 10-08-2008 04:33 PM (15 years ago)
Guys its not bad n at the same time is not good.BAD cos we are allowing HIV to come as a barrier.if the love is there i feel couples should get married with or without HIV.GOOD in case of deciet from either couple. Kiss Cool Roll Eyes
Posted: at 10-08-2008 04:33 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- babt at 11-08-2008 05:54 PM (15 years ago)
i think its just necessary for a better Nigeria, to keep the number of infected persons in check and avoid giving birth to innocent babies infected with HIV.its not a bad idea.let persons living with the virus marry amongst themselves. i submit my view!
Posted: at 11-08-2008 05:54 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- henryadeneye at 11-08-2008 07:55 PM (15 years ago)
I think, it is wrong to introduce HIV/AIDS test or whatever test as preconditions of marriage. What happens if a man or a woman is declared positive b4 marriage? is there any data protection mechanism in place, to protect the people involved? What about the problem of being STIGMATISED in a society like Nigeria? Is sex the only route to HIV/AIDS? What is the meaning of people being in love or in a union, be it marriage or whatever for "better for worse"? I agreed with the guy that says, " Churches should focus on educating people and members to practise safer sex behaviour and not denying their members their right to freedom and choice.
Posted: at 11-08-2008 07:55 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- dodoye78 at 12-08-2008 05:52 PM (15 years ago)
Dis HIV/AIDS thing is gettin scarier..... God help us o!
Posted: at 12-08-2008 05:52 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- codeyemi at 14-08-2008 12:15 PM (15 years ago)
i dont believe in that nonsense. though am not married but i and my guy based our relationship on trust but probably if we want to engage legally we may be asked to do so which we shall oblige. there are so many vices in the society b
ut only God can help us.
Posted: at 14-08-2008 12:15 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- QuinnMaeback at 14-08-2008 08:53 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: herre on 16-09-2007 05:42 PM
Couples must first take an HIV test before they will be allowed to marry, the Anglican Church in Nigeria says.

The church says the move is to help parishioners make "informed choices" when choosing marriage partners.

The BBC News website learnt that many Christian churches in Nigeria impose similar tests on their members as a condition for marriage.

The policy is being implemented in all Anglican dioceses across Nigeria, the church's spokesman said.

'Unacceptable'

"The aim is to help intending couples to make informed decisions because we don't want anyone to be kept in the dark about their partner," spokesman for the church Rev Akintunde Popoola told the BBC News website.

If they find out their status and still want to go ahead, we cannot object. Instead, we offer them care and support
Rev Akintunde Popoola

He said the church will not stop people from getting married if they test positive to HIV, the virus that causes Aids.

"The whole point is for couples to know their HIV status before getting married," he said.

"If they find out their status and still want to go ahead, we cannot object. Instead, we offer them care and support."

But the authorities are already challenging the new policy by the church, saying it is unacceptable.

"We cannot accept what the church is proposing. Every Nigerian must be allowed to decide on their own whether they want to be tested or not," Prof Tunde Oshotimehin, who heads Nigeria's state HIV control agency, told the BBC.

"HIV testing and counselling must be voluntary. What the church is trying to do will encourage denial."

Graduate tests

The Catholic Church in Nigeria says it is not imposing such a policy on its members because it wants HIV testing to be voluntary and personal.

"We know that some people do it, but we are not making it church policy," spokesman of the Catholic Archdiocese of Abuja Rev Fr Ralph Madu told the BBC News website.

Recently, a church-owned college - Covenant University, Nigeria - announced that its graduates should take HIV and pregnancy tests as conditions for graduation.

But the university suspended the policy after widespread condemnation and criticisms from government agencies and rights groups.

Nigeria is a deeply religious country with her 140 million people almost evenly divided between Christians and Muslims.

According to Nigeria's National Agency for the Control of AIDS (Naca), some 4.4% of Nigerians live with HIV.

HIV/AIDS test is a very good idea.
The test should be free to all citizens of Nigeria.
It should be confidential.
Condoms should be handed out freely.
Free Sex education and prevention should be thought from secondary school to university students.
This is not a time to prevent, but a time to keep Nigerians safe.
We want to be proud and say that we have the knowledge on how to keep AIDS/HIV out of Nigeria and we bind together as citizens to stamp that disease out of Nigeria.
One Nigerian infected is one too many.
It is through testing and prevention education that we can achieve that.

Posted: at 14-08-2008 08:53 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- QuinnMaeback at 14-08-2008 08:55 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: QuinnMaeback on 14-08-2008 08:53 PM
Quote from: herre on 16-09-2007 05:42 PM
Couples must first take an HIV test before they will be allowed to marry, the Anglican Church in Nigeria says.

The church says the move is to help parishioners make "informed choices" when choosing marriage partners.

The BBC News website learnt that many Christian churches in Nigeria impose similar tests on their members as a condition for marriage.

The policy is being implemented in all Anglican dioceses across Nigeria, the church's spokesman said.

'Unacceptable'

"The aim is to help intending couples to make informed decisions because we don't want anyone to be kept in the dark about their partner," spokesman for the church Rev Akintunde Popoola told the BBC News website.

If they find out their status and still want to go ahead, we cannot object. Instead, we offer them care and support
Rev Akintunde Popoola

He said the church will not stop people from getting married if they test positive to HIV, the virus that causes Aids.

"The whole point is for couples to know their HIV status before getting married," he said.

"If they find out their status and still want to go ahead, we cannot object. Instead, we offer them care and support."

But the authorities are already challenging the new policy by the church, saying it is unacceptable.

"We cannot accept what the church is proposing. Every Nigerian must be allowed to decide on their own whether they want to be tested or not," Prof Tunde Oshotimehin, who heads Nigeria's state HIV control agency, told the BBC.

"HIV testing and counselling must be voluntary. What the church is trying to do will encourage denial."

Graduate tests

The Catholic Church in Nigeria says it is not imposing such a policy on its members because it wants HIV testing to be voluntary and personal.

"We know that some people do it, but we are not making it church policy," spokesman of the Catholic Archdiocese of Abuja Rev Fr Ralph Madu told the BBC News website.

Recently, a church-owned college - Covenant University, Nigeria - announced that its graduates should take HIV and pregnancy tests as conditions for graduation.

But the university suspended the policy after widespread condemnation and criticisms from government agencies and rights groups.

Nigeria is a deeply religious country with her 140 million people almost evenly divided between Christians and Muslims.

According to Nigeria's National Agency for the Control of AIDS (Naca), some 4.4% of Nigerians live with HIV.

Condoms should be handed out freely.
Free Sex education and prevention should be thought from secondary school to university students.
This is not a time to prevent, but a time to keep Nigerians safe.
We want to be proud and say that we have the knowledge on how to keep AIDS/HIV out of Nigeria and we bind together as citizens to stamp that disease out of Nigeria.
It is through testing and prevention education that we can achieve that.

Condoms should be handed out freely to ALL.
Free Sex education and prevention should be taught from secondary school to university students.
This is not a time to protest, but a time to keep Nigerians safe.
We want to be proud and say that we have the knowledge on how to keep AIDS/HIV out of Nigeria and we bind together as citizens to stamp HIV/AIDS disease out of Nigeria.
It is through testing and prevention education that we can achieve that status.
Posted: at 14-08-2008 08:55 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- SAmyrocko at 16-08-2008 02:04 PM (15 years ago)
It is ideal..Every shud go for the test before getting married.

Posted: at 16-08-2008 02:04 PM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- solazed at 21-08-2008 12:40 PM (15 years ago)
why wait till you are about to be married, go for the test now!............. by the way, it is called the HIV antibody test or HIV screening and not HIV/AIDS test or AIDS test.........

Posted: at 21-08-2008 12:40 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- SAmyrocko at 21-08-2008 05:33 PM (15 years ago)
Ok.. Mr doctor.. i will make my personnal Doctor..

Posted: at 21-08-2008 05:33 PM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- babieada at 8-09-2008 06:25 AM (15 years ago)
l support, n l tink dat is nice 4  couples  2 av a HIV test b4 marriage. is a safe measure 4 both party
Posted: at 8-09-2008 06:25 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- kulip at 20-09-2008 02:34 AM (15 years ago)
it really one of d best decisions dat d church in nigeria has taken for sometime now. cos it has saved alot of pple frm makin a wrong decision n to a more larger extend,spread d awareness of dis deadly bt controllable disease.
Posted: at 20-09-2008 02:34 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- emmygp1 at 3-10-2008 11:57 AM (15 years ago)
SEX! CONDOM! HIV! AIDS! DEATH!
SEX! man thirst for segxwal intercourse is something dat start from maturity and becomes very difucult to control and wait for marriage. most time men/women engage in pr-marital sex and regreate imediatly- meaning the it it neighter God nor mans intention have premaital sex!

HIV! a virus that translate to Aids with time can be gotten tru this act of sex eigther marital or not. it spread to kill! now! we all know dat watever kill a man @ dat fast rate becomes a global and lucrative business for the world. that is probably y we dont here of Dr abraka anymore!

CONDOMS! thesame corganisations that produces condoms and retroviral drugs are same saddled with the responsibility to devaloped the cure drugs! i am not sure but lets say we all want to do business like them: we will first compare the returns on sales of condoms and that of retroviral drugs, over sales of possible cure drugs wich will be limitted to number of those having Aids only, wich we expect the number to reduce over a time as ppl will be cured totaly.
Its surely a better bis to sell condoms and retro drugs for ever than cure withing short time and get out of biz! think about this?Huh?Huh???

DEATH! even though everyman knws he is going to die & dosen't knw when, death is the greates fear of man. simply, pharmacuticals can create, sustain, and use that fear agains a man to promised him and elongation of life just to make money. i am not sure dat is exatly tha case, but what i am saying is dat, it is posiible.

I THINK WE, (THIS WORLD GENARATION) SHOULD CONCENTRATE ON GEETING TO THE ROOTS OF THIS HIV/AIDS & ASKED FOR NOTHING LESS BUT TOTAL CURE! IT IS POSIBLE! IT IS CURABLE IF ONLY WE ASK 4 CURE! FORGET THIS TEST, CONDOM, CURE! MAY BE THE GENARATION WILL HAVE TO PROTEST. ( GOD CREATED MAN IN HIW OWN IMMAGE" THAT IS Y MAN CAN CLONE) WHICH IS DIFUCULT? CLONNING OR CURING HIV?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh??
Posted: at 3-10-2008 11:57 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- chummynwa at 8-10-2008 02:09 PM (15 years ago)
Is gud to know ur statu n ur pals own but it should not be a must do 4 churches to impose on  their member. Y I say so is bcos two couples who were about to wed were desmise bcos of it, the anoying part of it  was that the man came in congregation to give the news and latter it was discovered that the girl travel outside the coutry bcos of shame and lather got married. she now have two kids.  WHAT A WORLD
Posted: at 8-10-2008 02:09 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
1 ... 5 6 7 [8] 9