Amaechi Urges APC Supporters to Retaliate if Attacked by Opposition Party at Ongoing Rally

Date: 08-12-2016 3:58 pm (7 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 8-12-2016 03:58 PM (7 years ago)

Former Governor of Rivers State and serving Minister of Transport, Rotimi Amaechi, has charged supporters of the All Progressives Congress in the state to match their Peoples Democratic Party counterparts with force as the two parties prepare for rerun polls on Saturday. Mr. Amaechi while addressing supporters during APC’s mega rally in Port Harcourt on Thursday said:
“This Is what I called “elections of our lives. I used to tell you” please don’t fight”. But I think we will bend it a bit. “Don’t kill anybody but don’t be killed. My friend in the army told me if bullet is fired, the person that hears the sound is not the one that dies. “If you allow them to shoot you, you will die. It’s not only them that have rights to life.”
Following court rulings that invalidated 2015 National Assembly and State House elections in the oil-rich State, the Independent National Electoral Commission had earlier conducted rerun polls on March 19.
But the exercise was marred by violence, forcing INEC to suspend the elections- now to be held on Saturday. The Saturday rerun elections will hold across three senatorial districts, eight federal constituencies and 10 state constituencies. The rally witnessed presence of APC leaders, including Chairman John Odigie-Oyegun, 12 governors and federal lawmakers. However, in a swift reaction, PDP-controlled Rivers Government slammed APC leaders for inciting violence in the State.
In a statement, the State’s Commissioner for Information, Austin Tam-George, blamed “the Minister for Transportation, Mr Rotimi Amaechi for importing thugs and Boko Haram fighters, disguised as APC supporters, to cause mayhem in Rivers State.
“Governor Ganduje had charged APC supporters to resort to violence during the rerun elections in Rivers State on Saturday, saying: “if they shoot you, take cover and shoot them.
“This is a shameful and egregious invitation to violence by the Kano State governor.”

The Commissioner urged the people of Rivers State to resist any acts of electoral fraud by the police, INEC and APC before, during and after the elections on Saturday.

Posted: at 8-12-2016 03:58 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- OZIAMA23 at 8-12-2016 04:00 PM (7 years ago)
Yeye ppl
Posted: at 8-12-2016 04:00 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- 1marviz at 8-12-2016 04:03 PM (7 years ago)
GOD plz have mercy on
Posted: at 8-12-2016 04:03 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- 1marviz at 8-12-2016 04:04 PM (7 years ago)
GOD plz have mercy on our nation. imagine a man publicly preaching violence....#smh.
Posted: at 8-12-2016 04:04 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- 1marviz at 8-12-2016 04:05 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: OZIAMA23 on  8-12-2016 04:00 PM
Yeye ppl

nor mind themm
Posted: at 8-12-2016 04:05 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 8-12-2016 04:07 PM (7 years ago)
nice one
Posted: at 8-12-2016 04:07 PM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- chukkychukky at 8-12-2016 04:27 PM (7 years ago)
apc don fail

Posted: at 8-12-2016 04:27 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- emytex74 at 8-12-2016 04:41 PM (7 years ago)
Mad pple in politics what kind of leaders are these yeye pipu that encourage their supporters to fight
Anyway I blame all those jobless youths they are using
Posted: at 8-12-2016 04:41 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kacylee at 8-12-2016 04:45 PM (7 years ago)
I knew it that ur strolling around wasn't that innocent,

Posted: at 8-12-2016 04:45 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kison at 8-12-2016 04:59 PM (7 years ago)
Y'ALL BETTER be careful, Y'ALL be very very careful, CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL...
Posted: at 8-12-2016 04:59 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- 419BigBoy at 8-12-2016 05:36 PM (7 years ago)
the military should be assigned to strategic hot locations beginning tomorrow, a full day before the contest and a few days after the results.

no sense in sending in troops after trouble starts.
Posted: at 8-12-2016 05:36 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osarobo62 at 8-12-2016 05:38 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: 1marviz on  8-12-2016 04:04 PM
GOD plz have mercy on our nation. imagine a man publicly preaching violence....#smh.
defending yourself against an aggressor is not violence....it's called self preservation
Posted: at 8-12-2016 05:38 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- osarobo62 at 8-12-2016 05:40 PM (7 years ago)
good advice.....always stand up to your bully
Posted: at 8-12-2016 05:40 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- 1marviz at 8-12-2016 05:53 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: osarobo62 on  8-12-2016 05:40 PM
good advice.....always stand up to your bully

when the nation become bedevilled with intra-party clash. will u still call that self-preservation???  in case of next-time,it is called self-defence okkk?Huh???
Posted: at 8-12-2016 05:53 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osarobo62 at 8-12-2016 05:57 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: 1marviz on  8-12-2016 05:53 PM
when the nation become bedevilled with intra-party clash. will u still call that self-preservation???  in case of next-time,it is called self-defence okkk?Huh???

self-pres·er·va·tion
noun
noun: self-preservation

the protection of oneself from harm or death, especially regarded as a basic instinct in human beings and animals.
Posted: at 8-12-2016 05:57 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- ignis99 at 8-12-2016 06:29 PM (7 years ago)
Ameachi, Rivers  is not Edo or Ondo States, you can not rig election against Wike.
Posted: at 8-12-2016 06:29 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- comradem at 8-12-2016 06:40 PM (7 years ago)
Is it not a shame that they are looking for power  for nothing . Ordinary ghana and seme have constant power but since 1999 none of this empty heads has d magic for steady power .
Posted: at 8-12-2016 06:40 PM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- james987 at 8-12-2016 06:41 PM (7 years ago)
"Election of our lives" or Election of your pocket? Really funny.
Posted: at 8-12-2016 06:41 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- diutopep at 8-12-2016 09:37 PM (7 years ago)
Ok Oh
So, this is the only advice you can give them!!!
Posted: at 8-12-2016 09:37 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- diutopep at 8-12-2016 09:38 PM (7 years ago)
I am sensing a heavy blood shed that day
But may God never allow it to be so
Amen!
Posted: at 8-12-2016 09:38 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac