House Of Rep In Shock After NNPC Says It Does Not Know How Many Oil Blocks Nigeria Has

Date: 14-12-2016 2:09 pm (7 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 14-12-2016 02:09 PM (7 years ago)

A top NNPC staff who appeared before the House of Representatives has left them in shock after he said the agency does not know the number of oil blocks in Nigeria.
The Chief Operating Officer of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation shocked members of the House of Representatives committee investigating the controversial Malabu oil deal and OPL 245 on Tuesday afternoon when he said that the NNPC does not know the number of oil blocks Nigeria.

Bello Rabiu further said that the NNPC was not directly involved in the controversial deal, Mr. Rabiu was asked to give details of Nigeria’s oil fields. Razak Atunwa, the chairman of the committee, said he posed the question because he believed it would help lawmakers to determine Nigeria’s oil revenue prospects amidst the lingering financial crisis. “I don’t know the answer to that question,” Mr. Rabiu said.

In a report by Premium Times, Mr. Rabiu said statistics about oil prospecting licences and oil mining licences were not kept with the NNPC, but the Department of Petroleum Resources and directed lawmakers to contact the department for the information.

Mr. Rabiu also told the committee that the NNPC Act gave the Minister of Petroleum the absolute power to exercise discretion on award of oil licences.
“The NNPC Act, even till today, clearly stated that the minister can award oil exploration licences at his discretion,
” Mr. Rabiu said.

Posted: at 14-12-2016 02:09 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- OluwaDrizzy at 14-12-2016 02:16 PM (7 years ago)
I bet nnpc can categorically tell which block belongs to which party...lool...I weep for this nation..Get them a calculator..a private tutor to teach them figures and send them back out there..
Posted: at 14-12-2016 02:16 PM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- Powerfulify at 14-12-2016 02:38 PM (7 years ago)
Is this a news?
Posted: at 14-12-2016 02:38 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 14-12-2016 02:45 PM (7 years ago)
I want my  own block
Posted: at 14-12-2016 02:45 PM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- kison at 14-12-2016 02:53 PM (7 years ago)
 Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 14-12-2016 02:53 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- emytex74 at 14-12-2016 03:01 PM (7 years ago)
Which way Nigeria shameless pple destroying this country
Posted: at 14-12-2016 03:01 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nametalkam at 14-12-2016 03:05 PM (7 years ago)
Now I can understand the fight against corruption because even if Nigeria has a zillion dollars in it safe with corruption the whole masses will still remain poor as they are. It's a big shame that EFCC is not going after corrupt Nigerians that made billions from the oil bloc because their money has bought immunity for them

Posted: at 14-12-2016 03:05 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- chimexcel at 14-12-2016 03:47 PM (7 years ago)
Academic qualifications is neither an experience or technical knowhow
Posted: at 14-12-2016 03:47 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- Jeonleon at 14-12-2016 03:48 PM (7 years ago)
I thought the exact number of oil blocs in the country should be common knowledge within the management level of the NNPC.... I'm shocked by your statement, sir. The other department you mentioned is a subsidiary of the NNPC, so your excuse for lack of knowledge doesn't hold water! God forbid!!!

And these are the guys we entrusted the monitoring and regulation of our national wealth-generator to....
Posted: at 14-12-2016 03:48 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- chimexcel at 14-12-2016 03:48 PM (7 years ago)
Don't blame them. Some day's ate just like that.
Posted: at 14-12-2016 03:48 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- concentrate at 14-12-2016 03:56 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: nametalkam on 14-12-2016 03:05 PM
Now I can understand the fight against corruption because even if Nigeria has a zillion dollars in it safe with corruption the whole masses will still remain poor as they are. It's a big shame that EFCC is not going after corrupt Nigerians that made billions from the oil bloc because their money has bought immunity for them
True. Even the EFCC is too corrupt to fight corruption.
Posted: at 14-12-2016 03:56 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- diutopep at 14-12-2016 04:10 PM (7 years ago)
This Is Quite Alarming
May God help my country, Nigeria!
Posted: at 14-12-2016 04:10 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- diutopep at 14-12-2016 04:10 PM (7 years ago)
This Is Quite Alarming
May God help my country, Nigeria!
Posted: at 14-12-2016 04:10 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- christianity at 14-12-2016 05:10 PM (7 years ago)
How would they know,when they are busy selling some and putting the money in their private pocket.
Posted: at 14-12-2016 05:10 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kacylee at 14-12-2016 06:18 PM (7 years ago)
THATS NIGERIA FOR, WHY WOULD THAT SHOCK U, MOST OF U THERE SEF DONT KNOW WHY U ARE THERE

Posted: at 14-12-2016 06:18 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- osarobo62 at 14-12-2016 06:33 PM (7 years ago)
Nigeria is terribly sick.....disgracefully sick
Posted: at 14-12-2016 06:33 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- morgan1 at 15-12-2016 05:55 AM (7 years ago)
Posted: at 15-12-2016 05:55 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- AmazingMarie at 15-12-2016 10:54 AM (7 years ago)
NNPC as a body cannot tell how many oil wells are operating in Nigeria imagine
Posted: at 15-12-2016 10:54 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Hessehele at 15-12-2016 02:54 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: AmazingMarie on 15-12-2016 10:54 AM
NNPC as a body cannot tell how many oil wells are operating in Nigeria imagine

HE KNEW BUT WAS NOT ASKED TO SPEAK
Posted: at 15-12-2016 02:54 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- Hessehele at 15-12-2016 03:00 PM (7 years ago)
THEY ARE JUST PRETENDING!!! THEY KNOW
Posted: at 15-12-2016 03:00 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming

1. UK-based Nigerian G@y Man Laments How Family Pressures Him To Marry A Woman Despite His Status

2. EFCC Boss, Olukoyede Faces Visa Ban Threat Over Yahaya Bello's Case

3. I Vow To Keep Trolling Actress Bimbo Ademoye - Actor Deyemi Okanlawon Reveals Why

4. Your First Salary Belong To Your Father For His Blessings Not to Your Pastor - Kanayo O. Kanayo

5. Moses Bliss Reacts After A Troll Bashes Him For Allowing His Wife Preach Whenever They Go For

6. One Shot As Soldiers Break Out Of Their Cells To Protest Poor Welfare In Sokoto

7. Reaction As Davido Likes Tweet Calling Samklef A ‘Fool At 40’

8. Fulham v Manchester City: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

9. Singer, Fireboy Dismisses Rumour Of Rivalry With His Colleague, Asake

10. Manchester United v Arsenal: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

11. Nottingham v Chelsea: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

12. Brickhall School And Ovoke Family Issue Press Statement After Burial Of 4 Year Old

1. Onanuga Shares A Post Alleging Peter Obi Demarkets Nigeria, Calls Him ‘Bitter Obi'

2. Focus On Fall Of Naira, Insecurity – Charly Boy Drags Onanuga For Tagging Peter Obi As ‘Bitter’

3. Actors In Nollywood Films Used To Be Cast Based On Social Media Followers – Uzor Arukwe

4. Suspected Sextortion Blackmailer, Olamide Made £2m Vows To Release Embarrassing PIC/VID Of Boys

5. Mercy Johnson Was With us in The Boat - Survivor of Boat Accident That Killed Jnr Pope Reveals

6. Late Buhari Oloto's Wife, Alhaja Alimotu Sadia Oloto a.k.a IYA OYO Is Dead

7. Nigerians React To Tinubu-Led Administration’s Cybersecurity Levy

8. CBN Extends Suspension of Charges on Cash Deposits

9. If I Buy You A Flight Ticket, Am I Suppose To Tell You To Wear Seat Belt – Adanma Luke Attacks

10. Reactions As Mohbad’s Father Completes Renovation Of Family House In Ekiti State