Nice Move! Federal Government Boosts Production Of Leather & Tomatos in 12 Northern States

Date: 26-01-2017 11:14 am (7 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 26-01-2017 11:14 AM (7 years ago)

Over 12 states in Northern Nigeria have benefitted from efforts to boost local production of leather and tomato, the Federal Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development (FMARD) has disclosed. In a scorecard chronicling milestones from their activities since November 2015 to  November 2016 shared with Independent, FMARD said it has provided not less than 2,283 bags of industrial salt to hides and skin dealers in 12 targeted states, including Kebbi, Sokoto, Zamfara, Jigawa, Kano, Bauchi, Gombe, Taraba, Nasarawa, Kaduna, Adamawa and Katsina.
In the same report, the ministry stated that it has supported training of skin buyers/collectors, butchers/flayers, hides and skin inspectors on standard methods of slaughtering and bleeding, hides and skin-flaying, curing/preservation and inspection to ensure good quality hides and skins are supplied in desirable quantities and acceptable quality to the tanneries. The ministry said it also supported the procurement and distribution of  3.5Kg indeterminate hybrid tomato seeds to 1,750 fresh produce farmers sustain production in 1,750 net houses; and support for  the establishment of 6 tomato processing plants and farmer clusters as out-growers.
On specific note, the ministry said: “it has successfully inaugurated the Standing Inter-Ministerial Technical Committee on Zero-Reject of Agricultural Commodities and Produce / Non-oil Exports in Nigeria.”
The committee, according to the report is co-chaired by Honourable Ministers of Agriculture & Rural Development and Industry, Trade and Investment, with membership drawn from Standards Organisation of Nigeria (SON), National Agency for Food Control and Administration (NAFDAC), Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA), Federal Ministry of Finance (FMF), Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), Nigeria Customs Services (NCS), and others.
Sequel to this, the ministry said it has succeeded in the development, validation and adoption of the Methodologies of Conduits of Excellence for public administration/Single Window Platform and has commenced work on the development of a 5-year (2017-2021) action plan on Single Quality Control Management Plan, as recommended by the European Union, for meeting international standards, inter-state trading and global acceptance of our commodities.
On the rising spate of hostilities and attendant insecurity arising from clashes between crop farmers and nomadic herdsmen, the report stated that the FMARD, within the past one year, has commenced efforts towards resolution of pastoralists-farmers conflicts through the provision of 55,000 hectares of land by 11 States.
This, according to the ministry is part of the 5,000 hectares each expected from the 19 Northern States for the development of pasture/paddocks grazing reserves. The Ministry said it has also commenced efforts towards establishing improved varieties of grasses for supporting livestock as efforts toward settling the pastoralists in ranches gain traction.

Posted: at 26-01-2017 11:14 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dynasty4all at 26-01-2017 11:27 AM (7 years ago)
LONG LIVE GOV FAYOSE!
LONG LIVE THE MOUTHPIECE OF THE COMMON MAN!!
LONG LIVE BIAFRA!!!
Posted: at 26-01-2017 11:27 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dynasty4all at 26-01-2017 11:29 AM (7 years ago)
LET THEM GO TO HELL WITH THEIR EVIL TOMOTOES
BUHARI IS EVIL, I CAN THE WRATH OF GOD COMING UPON HIM UNLESS HE REPENT NOW.
Posted: at 26-01-2017 11:29 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 26-01-2017 11:30 AM (7 years ago)
NICE ONE BUHARI!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
BUHARI RULE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted: at 26-01-2017 11:30 AM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- Deltaboy1 at 26-01-2017 11:36 AM (7 years ago)
Quote from: gogoman on 26-01-2017 11:30 AM
NICE ONE BUHARI!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
BUHARI RULE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
i hate your family and u
Posted: at 26-01-2017 11:36 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- akinmanchy at 26-01-2017 11:51 AM (7 years ago)
Ok na

Posted: at 26-01-2017 11:51 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- chukkychukky at 26-01-2017 12:28 PM (7 years ago)
ok goodluck

Posted: at 26-01-2017 12:28 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 26-01-2017 12:45 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: Deltaboy1 on 26-01-2017 11:36 AM
i hate your family and u

NA GOD YOU HATE!! SO SORT IT OUT WITH GOD!!!!!!!!! U MAD BOY
Posted: at 26-01-2017 12:45 PM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- maizaxx at 26-01-2017 01:12 PM (7 years ago)
Let's hope it's true and not just a hoax to gain cheap popularity!!!!
Posted: at 26-01-2017 01:12 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- BournIdentity at 26-01-2017 02:00 PM (7 years ago)
Una dey do well...,

Lyf na phase to face..,,,...,,.......
Posted: at 26-01-2017 02:00 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- BournIdentity at 26-01-2017 02:03 PM (7 years ago)
dynasty4all since wen u drink soap water u don dey call wetin ur momo breas,tfeed u for  9mths evil tomatoes.. Deris God o...
Posted: at 26-01-2017 02:03 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- james987 at 26-01-2017 06:11 PM (7 years ago)
No wahala.. Siddon look na em we dey till 2019.. Na then nigerians go prove if we wise or not  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 26-01-2017 06:11 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- jeroba1 at 26-01-2017 09:30 PM (7 years ago)
OK.
Posted: at 26-01-2017 09:30 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Larry28 at 9-03-2017 04:10 PM (7 years ago)
Posted: at 9-03-2017 04:10 PM (7 years ago) | Hero

1. If I Buy You A Flight Ticket, Am I Suppose To Tell You To Wear Seat Belt – Adanma Luke Attacks

2. 'I Got N880,000 Not N1m After My Kidney Was Removed' - 16Yr Old Boy Tells Abuja Court

3. Nigerian Man Challenges Anthony Joshua To Boxing Match, Vows To Knock Him Out In 2nd Round

4. Check Out Full List Of Every Country President Tinubu Has Visited Since Inauguration

5. Senator Okpebholo Caught On Camera Spraying Naira Notes At Event; Coalition Petition EFCC Over

6. EFCC Successfully Prosecute, Sentence 41 Internet Fraudster To Jail In Anambra

7. Adorable Video Of Veteran Actor, Chiwetalu Agu Making Wife’s Hair

8. VIDEO: Actress, Shan George Gives Update On N3.6M That Was Wiped From Her Account

9. Reactions As Abuja Barber Mocks Davido Over His Bald Head

10. Married Father Of Two Allegedly Elopes With His Landlord’s 20Yr Old Daughter

11. Conduct DNA Test - Says Man Who Found Out Wife Has Been Cheating With Man She Calls Her Uncle

12. Nasboi Pens Appreciation To Kizz Daniel For Giving Him Opportunity To Perform In London

13. VID: Moses Bliss Gushes Over Wife, Marie Wiseborn During His Show In Canada

14. Nollywood Actor Bolanle Ninalowo Celebrates 44th Birthday

15. Seven Travellers Kidnapped In Rivers Waterways

16. Bandits Unleash Terror Attack On Zamfara Market, Kill 2 Perons, Injure Scores

1. Moment Canadian Mayor Praises Tinubu For Work Done in Lagos While Honouring Peter Obi at Event

2. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

3. Father-in-Law Of Wofai Fada, Engineer Kunle Cole Gives Reasons For Son’s Wedding Rejection

4. Yvonne Jegede Reveals The Truth About Colleague, Mercy Johnson, While Calling Her Out (Video)

5. Onanuga Shares A Post Alleging Peter Obi Demarkets Nigeria, Calls Him ‘Bitter Obi'

6. Soldier, Abdullahi Ismail Dismissed From The Nigerian Army For Sleeping With Colleague’s Wife

7. Focus On Fall Of Naira, Insecurity – Charly Boy Drags Onanuga For Tagging Peter Obi As ‘Bitter’

8. Primate Ayodele Issues Warning To Tinubu, Predicts Northern Opposition To Presidential Ambition

9. Houseboy - Angela Okorie Fires Back At Mercy Johnson's Husband After His Post on 'Mad People'

10. Actors In Nollywood Films Used To Be Cast Based On Social Media Followers – Uzor Arukwe