Speaking in "tongues"...Holy Spirit or nonsense?

Date: 04-04-2010 11:03 pm (14 years ago) | Author: Original Sly
- at 4-04-2010 11:03 PM (14 years ago)
During service at so many Pentecostal churches someone in the cogregation may pop up and begin speaking in "tongues". Or when the pastor gets hot he begins to speak in tongues. I don't understand a word; nobody in the congregation does not even the speaker ...hmmm... possessed does. It seems infectious because most of the congregation get possessed. Isn't this a sham? If not how do they know is the Holy Spirit? I thought it is written in the Bible that if one should stand up and start speaking in tongues (foreign language) and there is no interpreter he should ...hmmm. shut up and sit down.(something to that effect). Help me understand as I sit here with my mouth wide open and tongue hanging out.

Posted: at 4-04-2010 11:03 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- herdeysohjy at 5-04-2010 09:42 PM (14 years ago)
it is the act of praying in spirit and in understanding
Posted: at 5-04-2010 09:42 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- belindajustins at 8-04-2010 06:28 PM (14 years ago)
sometimes its nonsense....
Posted: at 8-04-2010 06:28 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- derbi at 8-04-2010 08:04 PM (14 years ago)
what ever,if u like am speak am if u know like am leave am for those wey like am, u dont have the right to jodge
Posted: at 8-04-2010 08:04 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 10-04-2010 04:39 PM (14 years ago)
its all evil, tell me now which of the known well established church is not a demon posession group ? they only deceives in the name of a religion, all you hear is sprits what sprit ? bad one of curse , sprit is sprit any , its all evils only in the modern days they are trying to legalise  the illegality , how can some one begin co talk in a foreing languages he \she under stand not ? becouse they want money and fame now , they will engage devil and request an assistance from it , and normally if it gives out an egg now , it will take back in return a whole cow ,even if not more , and will begin to deceive their zombie followers that GOD spoke to them directly , in what languages GOD communicates with them ? mad peoples
Posted: at 10-04-2010 04:39 PM (14 years ago) | Grande Master
- vantheo at 10-04-2010 08:51 PM (14 years ago)
Its pure nonsense. Trash. In my understanding Wen u mean speaking in tongues its like an igbo man who doesn't know how to speak italian starts speaking italian. Its all led by the holy spirit but its so unfortunate that churches of nowadays misunderstand this thing called speakin in tongues

Posted: at 10-04-2010 08:51 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- megafather1 at 10-04-2010 09:26 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: Originalsly on  4-04-2010 11:03 PM
During service at so many Pentecostal churches someone in the cogregation may pop up and begin speaking in "tongues". Or when the pastor gets hot he begins to speak in tongues. I don't understand a word; nobody in the congregation does not even the speaker ...hmmm... possessed does. It seems infectious because most of the congregation get possessed. Isn't this a sham? If not how do they know is the Holy Spirit? I thought it is written in the Bible that if one should stand up and start speaking in tongues (foreign language) and there is no interpreter he should ...hmmm. shut up and sit down.(something to that effect). Help me understand as I sit here with my mouth wide open and tongue hanging out.
Honestly i dont know,but i wonder what they are saying, do  christians know the meaning??
Posted: at 10-04-2010 09:26 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- justinus_ike at 11-04-2010 08:00 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: judd on 10-04-2010 10:01 PM
It's so painful that you all do not know what you are saying! Why do you give GOD'S credit to satan? I will advice you all to shut up and go get a bible and study it. Go to a Jesus Christ believing church and study the word of Almighty God with them.  May Almighty God have mercy on us all, Amen.

Do we have a Jesus Christ believing Church in Nigeria?.
Posted: at 11-04-2010 08:00 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Originalsly at 11-04-2010 09:09 PM (14 years ago)
Judd...I will be happy if you can point out to us non-studying non Jesus Believing church people where in the Bible we can read to get the truth... or share the truth with us.
Posted: at 11-04-2010 09:09 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- neossha at 12-04-2010 10:35 PM (14 years ago)
i cant tell we'ld better not judge
Posted: at 12-04-2010 10:35 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chik001 at 13-04-2010 02:11 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: Originalsly on  4-04-2010 11:03 PM

My brother, You are either a seeker or a rebel. If you are the former, ask God humbly, to reveal the answer to you. If you are the latter,...hmm like I tell other young men like me, there are consequences; today or tomorow.
Posted: at 13-04-2010 02:11 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Systems at 13-04-2010 04:03 PM (14 years ago)
Idk
Posted: at 13-04-2010 04:03 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- sabiti at 15-04-2010 10:52 AM (14 years ago)
wen d holy spirit came upon 120(corekt me if l'm wrong) disciples wen dey gatherd,dey spoke in tongue.I beliv ppl cn spk in tongue,jst dt we 've so many false churches nwadays.
I'l mis my school chapel wen i'm 2ru cos dey preach d gospel as it shuld b
Posted: at 15-04-2010 10:52 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- spicygal08 at 15-04-2010 05:39 PM (14 years ago)
It was what God promised his church...it jst dat pple r misusin' it,which is n't fair.i pray 4 God's mercies and understandin' 2 those dat misuse dis fruit of d H.spirit.
Posted: at 15-04-2010 05:39 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- hurricaneeddy at 16-04-2010 04:17 PM (14 years ago)
the bible gives us a clear description of everything.the word is our constitution and we should consult it.speaking in tongues first of all is a gift of the Holy Spirit.there are tongues of men and unknown tongues.the provision and administration of tongues is categorically and clearly stated bet 1st cor 12,13,14. anything outside the word is wrong.that is why even within the christian fold few will make heaven because of wrong application of the word.
Posted: at 16-04-2010 04:17 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- hurricaneeddy at 16-04-2010 04:19 PM (14 years ago)
the bible gives us a clear description of everything.the word is our constitution and we should consult it.speaking in tongues first of all is a gift of the Holy Spirit.there are tongues of men and unknown tongues.the provision and administration of tongues is categorically and clearly stated bet 1st cor 12,13,14. anything outside the word is wrong.that is why even within the christian fold few will make heaven because of wrong application of the word.
Posted: at 16-04-2010 04:19 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- hurricaneeddy at 16-04-2010 04:25 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: spicygal08 on 15-04-2010 05:39 PM
It was what God promised his church...it jst dat pple r misusin' it,which is n't fair.i pray 4 God's mercies and understandin' 2 those dat misuse dis fruit of d H.spirit.

i will like to say that you are right.however pls note that speaking in tongues is a gift and not a fruit of the spirit.for greater emphasis one with the gift can make it to hell but one with the fruit will make the kingdom.remember casting out demons is also a gift.but JESUS said that some who cast out devils in his name will make it to hell
Posted: at 16-04-2010 04:25 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Originalsly at 18-04-2010 11:40 PM (14 years ago)
 Thank you Vanteo and hurricaneeddy! Christians read  your Bible and find out for yourself. Cor.12. 13,14. Tongues is another word for languages and on the day of Pentecost the Holy Spirit entered the 12 men praying in the room and they were able to speak the local languages to all the people who had gathered. If you only knew Greek, they spoke Greek; if you spoke Spanish they spoke Spanish; if you spoke Hindi they spoke Hindi. Only those 12 men were able to do that at that time. They spoke and people understood what they were saying. Do 'tongue speaking' Christians now want me to believe that the same happens to the pastor and the congregation every Sunday at the churches? Who understands what they are saying? Nonsense....well...not really....works of the devil.
Posted: at 18-04-2010 11:40 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- attamem at 28-04-2010 12:59 AM (14 years ago)
4 me, in our prayers room we no dey speak in tongues.
So i no go no. our pastor na mr. direct bi im name.
Posted: at 28-04-2010 12:59 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- ksurrina at 30-04-2010 01:59 AM (14 years ago)
Pentecostal churches globally does this and it is so annoying and confusing. God told us that He is not one of confusion. Jesus Christ told us when He was ascending that He is sending the Holy Spirit to us to teach and comfort us. The Holy Spirit is what abide with us and He is the most reverence of all. This is the reason Jesus told us there is no redemption when we blasphemed against it.

The day of Pentecost happen in the New Testament as a testament of the Holy Spirit at this time it was to established the existence of God amongst believers. It first happen in the Old Testament on Mount Sinai with the Children of Israel at this time it was when God gave Moses the commandments. The Holy Spirit is a witness of our Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ.

Now when we are talking in tongues the bible told us that if there is no interpreter we should shut our mouth because we speak not until man but God. In the olden days when some one is speaking unto God in unknown Tongue it is a message God is given unto him/she. Then the interpreter will be there who the Lord uses to tell the gathering what He want them to know. God himself appoint the interpreter. When the interpreter is finished talking persons will told he/she thanks. It is at this time the person will realized what took place.

Because of this knowledge I stay away from Pentecostal churches because they tarried for this and when you speak to them they always referred you to the Day of Pentecost in the New Testament. This is their reference of why the church will catch a fire at that time but what they will never acknowledged is that Paul was the person who God uses to carry out His work after the death of Jesus Christ. Paul became the Moses, The John Baptist etc through his writing. To me he is the essence of how a christian fighting to be like Jesus should be. 

Jehovah is not one of confusion what is happening in the churches were speaking in tongues is concern are and I would encourage persons please to build their one and one relationship with God because there are false spirits in the churches that appears real.

Posted: at 30-04-2010 01:59 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. NDLEA Busts International Drug Syndicate Operating Across Nigeria, South Africa, & Thailand

2. Primate Ayodele Issues Warning To Tinubu, Predicts Northern Opposition To Presidential Ambition

3. Samklef Opens Up On Why He Didn't Pursue Relationship With Simi During Struggling Days

4. Allegations Of Bullying Surface Against Wofai Fada's Husband, Taiwo Cole (Photos)

5. Only Three Nigerian Universities Ranked Among Top 1,000 In The World (See Full List)

6. Wofai Fada Receives Warm Welcome From Sister-in-Law Amid Family Disapproval

7. Lagos Police Nab Two Suspected Fraudsters, Seyi Demola and Wale Lawson, For Preying In Public

8. Father-in-Law Of Wofai Fada, Engineer Kunle Cole Gives Reasons For Son’s Wedding Rejection

9. Nigerian Couple Found Guilty Of Human Trafficking in US, Faces Up To 20 Years In Prison

10. Taiwo Cole Stands Firm Despite Family Disapproval; Insists He Found A Good Wife & No Going Back

11. "People See Influencers As Jobless Human Beings" – BBNaija Star, Anto Lecky

12. Police Apprehend Seven Suspected Cultists & Armed Robbers In Anambra State Crackdown

13. FCCPC Vows To Crack Down On Loan Apps Harassing Customers

14. DSS Seals Clinic In Plateau State Amid Allegations Of Quackery & Patient Death

15. 300L Female Student, Yahaya Aisha Olabisi Of ADUSTECH Found Dead In Her Off-campus Apartment

16. Rights Group Urges Imo Police to Investigate Alleged Collusion by DPO To Obstruct Justice

1. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

2. Wofai Fada’s In-laws Release Public Statement Debunking Reports Of Her Marriage To Their Son

3. Ipswich Town Promoted to The Premier League After 22 Years

4. Houseboy - Angela Okorie Fires Back At Mercy Johnson's Husband After His Post on 'Mad People'

5. Security Forces Kill IPOB/ESN IED Specialist In Imo State

6. Billionaire's Daughter, DJ Cuppy Shares Wedding Bliss & Dreams Of Her Own Love Story

7. Wofai Fada Defies In-Laws, Ties The Knot With Taiwo Cole In Traditional Ceremony (Photos & Vid)

8. Peter Obi Alleges Govt Agencies Conducting Smear Campaigns, Town Hall Meetings Against Him

9. Drama In Club As Sam Larry Gets Confronted By A Club Guest Over Mohbad’s Death (Video)

10. Former Nollywood Star, Lola Alao Recounts Shocking Incident Of Assault While Working In Canada