"Some Women Roll Their Eyeballs To Entice Me’ – 81-year-old Catholic Archbishop, Cardinal Okogie

Date: 18-07-2017 8:01 pm (7 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 18-07-2017 08:01 PM (7 years ago)

81-year-old Rtd Catholic Archbishop of Lagos and former President of the CAN, Anthony Cardinal Okogie, 81 in an interview with The Punch, had to say when asked about temptation;

“This question of yours is one of my temptations ( laughs ). Look at the length women go to make their hair look attractive. Some make their hair like an osuka (a load-carrying pad). It is a waste of money fixing attachments. God gave us eyes; if you don ’t control them, they will control you. If you don`t control your senses, they will control you. Some women came around and started rolling their eyeballs to entice me. Some think they are not beautiful enough, so they apply eyelashes etc. No woman can entice me with that.

On how he resists temptation;
“I am neither a saint nor an angel. We are all human beings. I am only saying these are some of the things they do to draw and attract you. These days , some women even go about padding their Bosom s . This is absolute rubbish. When I see somebody I seem to like , I look for that part I don’t like and concentrate on that. You may think I am looking at you but I am not. No one is a saint. Only God is holy . Some people came to me to tempt me”

“One of them said “Father, I can’t understand my husband . I am feeling cold” I simply told her, “Why not warm your husband if you are cold. Say something that will enliven your husband” She replied, ‘Father, you don’t understand’ I asked her, ‘What do I not understand ? At my age , what do I not understand ?’ They use all these seductive words. It is not easy (resisting them) if you are not really fortified with prayers . God has been faithful

On how difficult it is to be celibate?
“It is not difficult . It ’s like breathing in air. Discipline is the key , like I said . I would have shared a few of the desperate attempts to tempt me but I won’t because of some reasons . Even when I preach my sermon , they come and challenge me in Yoruba , E de lo soro mi ni church . Mo gbo leni . ( Why did you mention my case while preaching today ?) It is not so easy . But once you can draw the line , there is no problem .It is when you say yes to a particular thought that you have sinned

Posted: at 18-07-2017 08:01 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- euwilliams at 18-07-2017 09:50 PM (7 years ago)
Temptation everywhere
Posted: at 18-07-2017 09:50 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- pricklong at 18-07-2017 10:40 PM (7 years ago)
Huh ok ooo
Posted: at 18-07-2017 10:40 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- crocatum at 18-07-2017 10:45 PM (7 years ago)
now i know that the old have more  creative imaginations.
Posted: at 18-07-2017 10:45 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 18-07-2017 11:22 PM (7 years ago)
sorry jare old man, no mind those devil
Posted: at 18-07-2017 11:22 PM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- osarobo62 at 18-07-2017 11:35 PM (7 years ago)
knowing what we know now about Catholic priests,.....it is very hard to trust most of them
Posted: at 18-07-2017 11:35 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- tegonwa at 19-07-2017 02:13 AM (7 years ago)
Oh Cardinal Okojie, Such A Good Man.What He Said Is True After All.Temptation Is Natural,human And Non Sinful.What Matters Is Ur Ability To Stand Firm On What Is Good.This Is A Natural Approach To Preaching; And Not Some Pastor Somewhere Coming Out To Tell Us That He Walks In The Air And Calls God On Phone.Too Hopeless Of Some Of These Pastors,clerically Hopeless!
Posted: at 19-07-2017 02:13 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Dramaking at 19-07-2017 08:56 AM (7 years ago)
Smh... They are not women, they are Devil's agents in female form, workin in the dept of tempting of the holy men of God, them get other dept way their mission na you and I. #GuysBeware. .
Posted: at 19-07-2017 08:56 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ruthie at 19-07-2017 09:07 AM (7 years ago)
seen...
Posted: at 19-07-2017 09:07 AM (7 years ago) | Hero