Why Buhari is Receiving Governors in London, Snubbed Fayose - Presidency Addresses Nigerians

Date: 26-07-2017 9:03 am (6 years ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 26-07-2017 09:03 AM (6 years ago)

The Presidency has addressed Nigerians, giving reasons why President Muhammadu Buhari who had initially barred politicians and other individuals from visiting him in London, has now changed his mind.
The Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Femi Adesina, and the Senior Special Assistant to the President on Media and Publicity, Garba Shehu, disclosed to State House correspondents at a press conference at the Presidential Villa Abuja on Tuesday why the president is now receiving governors, other political leaders now in London.

According to a report by Punch, the Presidential aides said President Muhammadu Buhari had initially barred politicians and other individuals from visiting him in London, the United Kingdom, where he has been receiving medical attention since May 7.

The presidency attributed the President’s change of mind to what it called “the change in circumstances,” adding that this was the proper time for him to receive delegations rather than when he was indisposed.

When asked specifically to give the mission of the state governors, who will be meeting with Buhari on Wednesday (today), Shehu said, “The visit is a goodwill visit and there is nothing more than that.

“I believe Nigerians in various positions have yearned to go and meet the President and at some point, this obviously has not been permitted.

“But given the change in circumstances, you can see that it is coming from London itself and the President is welcoming it.

“It is a goodwill visit. As a cultural people, we visit people leaving hospital and I am sure the President himself will be delighted to see people coming from the six geopolitical zones to convey the goodwill of Nigerians.”

GISTMANIA had reported earlier on Tuesday that six Nigerian governors including governors elected on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) are jetting-off to visit President Muhammadu Buhari in London.

When asked why the Ekiti State Governor, Ayodele Fayose, a strong critic of Buhari, was not included in the delegation, Femi Adesina said the question should be directed to the NGF that did the selection.

When also asked why the President preferred such visits to broadcasting a message to Nigerians, Adesina said that was Buhari’s choice.

“It is a question of what he (the President) prefers and this is what he prefers for now. He would rather receive that delegation and that is what is happening. If the President opts for address, he will do it,” he said.

When asked why members of the President’s Media team were not part of the delegation, Shehu said the President’s Personal Photographer, Bayo Omoboriowo, would be part of the delegation.

“They say a picture conveys more than a thousand words. Bayo will be there and I think it will be more beneficial to Nigerians than if the Special Adviser was on that trip without a cameraman,” he stated.

When again asked why this delegation will be going when those who met with the President on Sunday were state governors, Shehu said, “You will notice that those that went at the weekend are members of the All Progressives Congress.

“So, those who are going now are on a broader platform, which is the Nigeria Governors’ Forum. As to who is sponsoring, I don’t have any information on that,” he said.

Adesina also justified the visits at a time when the President is said to be recuperating.

He said, “It is the right time for the visit like Mallam Garba said earlier. When somebody has recovered or something or the other happened, it is in our culture for us to visit such a person. So, this is the right time because the news is that he is recovering and recovering well.”

Posted: at 26-07-2017 09:03 AM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- BournIdentity at 26-07-2017 09:27 AM (6 years ago)
Even if them invite that bastard,,,.. shame go catch d moron to dey speechless
Posted: at 26-07-2017 09:27 AM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Haso112 at 26-07-2017 10:04 AM (6 years ago)
''Honestly, I personally feel FAYOSE should have been invited so he can DIE IN SHAME'' I wonder how LOW people can go wishing someone DEATH all in the name of POLITICS... To all those who wished BUHARI death and never to return ALIVE to NIGERIA.. I wish you and your LOVED ONES the same FATE...
Posted: at 26-07-2017 10:04 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- livingstone80 at 26-07-2017 11:44 AM (6 years ago)
this people have lost memory and no sense in them!!! are we talking about who visit buhari or not??? we are talking there is no security, no good education, no good hospital, no water, no light,not paid workers their salaries, we have resources to be better than America but we are the worst!!! this evil APC and PDP government needs mass burial both present and past!!! again do they vote buhari to live in London hospital or for change they are clamouring for!!!
Posted: at 26-07-2017 11:44 AM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- BournIdentity at 26-07-2017 12:21 PM (6 years ago)
Posted: at 26-07-2017 12:21 PM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- BournIdentity at 26-07-2017 12:26 PM (6 years ago)
Come na wetin u call ursef.., livingstone80..., na today uno sey naija no get lyt ni...?? Buhari don try..., I don observe sey some places in naija don get uninterrupted power supply for more than three mths nw. So wetin u dey yarn
Posted: at 26-07-2017 12:26 PM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- SweetDaddy1 at 26-07-2017 05:58 PM (6 years ago)
Quote from: livingstone80 on 26-07-2017 11:44 AM
this people have lost memory and no sense in them!!! are we talking about who visit buhari or not??? we are talking there is no security, no good education, no good hospital, no water, no light,not paid workers their salaries, we have resources to be better than America but we are the worst!!! this evil APC and PDP government needs mass burial both present and past!!! again do they vote buhari to live in London hospital or for change they are clamouring for!!!
Posted: at 26-07-2017 05:58 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- starzx at 26-07-2017 10:46 PM (6 years ago)
Quote from: Haso112 on 26-07-2017 10:04 AM
''Honestly, I personally feel FAYOSE should have been invited so he can DIE IN SHAME'' I wonder how LOW people can go wishing someone DEATH all in the name of POLITICS... To all those who wished BUHARI death and never to return ALIVE to NIGERIA.. I wish you and your LOVED ONES the same FATE...
HASO U WONDER WHY PEOPLE WISH DEATH BT AT DSAME TYM U  WISHING SOME ONE SAME  TO DIE IN SHAME.  FAYOSE WILL NT GO, HE DNT TRUST THOSE PEOPLE  ANY TIN CAN HAPPEN ON THE WAY. Fayose is NT stupid, if NT for all his comments we won't hv seen all this fake moves they are trying to do.
Posted: at 26-07-2017 10:46 PM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- tegonwa at 27-07-2017 12:56 AM (6 years ago)
Feels Great To Know That Our President Is Hale And Hearty.Huhu Why Would Mr Fayose Go?He Would Not Even If They Did Invite Him.But All Is Politics,no Bad Will.No One Should Be Surprised If Pictures Of Him Hugging Buhari Surfaces.Huhu I Love Politics Though Sometimes Our Politicians Make It Seem Like Something Hopeless, Negatively Hopeless.
Posted: at 27-07-2017 12:56 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Haso112 at 27-07-2017 01:14 AM (6 years ago)
Quote from: starzx on 26-07-2017 10:46 PM
HASO U WONDER WHY PEOPLE WISH DEATH BT AT DSAME TYM U  WISHING SOME ONE SAME  TO DIE IN SHAME.  FAYOSE WILL NT GO, HE DNT TRUST THOSE PEOPLE  ANY TIN CAN HAPPEN ON THE WAY. Fayose is NT stupid, if NT for all his comments we won't hv seen all this fake moves they are trying to do.

WHAT FAKE MOVES IF I MAY ASK...? SO YOU SEF FOLLOW JOIN FAYOSE AND FFK BANDWAGON.. FAYOSE WEY GO TRAIN STATION FOR CHINA TAKE PICTURES COME USE PHOTOSHOP EDIT AM SAY HIM DEY GIVE SPEECH FOR CHINA.... HAHAHAHAHA, I LAUGH ENTER TRAIN...! CHALE, OPEN YOUR EYES, FAYOSE IS A SHAM...!!!
Posted: at 27-07-2017 01:14 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ruthie at 28-07-2017 12:44 PM (6 years ago)
NOW THAT BABA IS FINE! FAYOSE THE JOKER CAN GO N PAY HOMAGE!
Posted: at 28-07-2017 12:44 PM (6 years ago) | Hero