‘Bicycle Riding’ Project Approved For Transportation In Abuja By Federal Government

Date: 05-09-2017 2:38 pm (6 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 5-09-2017 02:38 PM (6 years ago)

The National Council on Transportation and the Minister of Transportation, have approved the commencement of a 'bicycle riding' project, as a means of transportation in Abuja. The Ministry of Transportation says the National Council on Transportation has approved the commencement of a `bicycle riding’ project, as a means of transportation in the Federal Capital Territory, FCT.

The Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi, told journalists at the end of the National Council on Transportation meeting on Monday in Sokoto. He said that the introduction of bicycles as a means of transportation would reduce congestion on the road and also improve the health of the riders.
“National Council on Transportation is a policy making Council, if nothing else; we approved that we should do a pilot project on bicycle riding in FCT.
“This is because Abuja is the only city that has facility for bicycle riding. For other states who want to do it, we must provide facility before they can proceed with it; we want to separate them from the roads because some motorists are impatient.
“So, we decided that we do it in Abuja because if you check, nearly all the roads in Abuja, there are lanes for bicycle.
“Any other state that wants to go ahead can do that but they must provide lanes for bicycle so that we do not have numerous accidents,”
he said.

He said that using bicycles as a means of transportation was not new adding that countries including in China, UK and others already using it.
Mr. Amaechi, who described the project as an investment, said it would also help in exercise and reduction in the number of passengers using other forms of transportation including cars within the cities.
Commenting on other project, he said that the ongoing rail projects would really boost the economy.

According to him, the Lagos-Ibadan railway construction would need about 150,000 workers before its completion.
“Construction alone that is going on between Lagos- Ibadan would really boost the economy.
“The railway work that is going on there will need about 150,000 workers and when it is done, the business it would generate would help employ people.”

Posted: at 5-09-2017 02:38 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- Patrioti at 5-09-2017 03:30 PM (6 years ago)
Another avenue of embezzling public fund.
Posted: at 5-09-2017 03:30 PM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- crocatum at 5-09-2017 03:45 PM (6 years ago)
Quote from: Patrioti on  5-09-2017 03:30 PM
Another avenue of embezzling public fund.

Obviously, although i wish it was true.
Posted: at 5-09-2017 03:45 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 5-09-2017 07:09 PM (6 years ago)
ok keep it up
Posted: at 5-09-2017 07:09 PM (6 years ago) | Grande Master
- olowoinlionsden at 5-09-2017 08:01 PM (6 years ago)
Return of Ojo Madueke.
Posted: at 5-09-2017 08:01 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- SOGaiya at 5-09-2017 08:12 PM (6 years ago)
useless project n education is dying bfor their eye
Posted: at 5-09-2017 08:12 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kacylee at 5-09-2017 08:15 PM (6 years ago)
FRSC, will soon start arresting cyclers for seat belts..... Na Naija we dey

Posted: at 5-09-2017 08:15 PM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ruthie at 5-09-2017 08:23 PM (6 years ago)
ABEG BUY ONE FORME...I DEY COME
Posted: at 5-09-2017 08:23 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- kayveetee at 5-09-2017 10:05 PM (6 years ago)
wasted generation
Posted: at 5-09-2017 10:05 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- benosky4 at 5-09-2017 10:17 PM (6 years ago)
Funny.
They'll soon set up task force for riderz

Posted: at 5-09-2017 10:17 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- james987 at 5-09-2017 11:53 PM (6 years ago)
Yeye dey smell... This government fit point out something wey e dun do for nigerians wey go improve the living standard of the masses.. or infact just point out any tangible thing them dun do since 2015??? Suffering and smiling na em we dey so... Next time make una no chose person wey no go school to come rule us abeg..
Posted: at 5-09-2017 11:53 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- Floyd29 at 6-09-2017 12:36 AM (6 years ago)
We go dey watch oooo
Posted: at 6-09-2017 12:36 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Floyd29 at 10-09-2017 01:42 PM (6 years ago)
I no understand
Posted: at 10-09-2017 01:42 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ruthie at 11-09-2017 10:41 AM (6 years ago)
nawa o...are we in china?
Posted: at 11-09-2017 10:41 AM (6 years ago) | Hero
- yawa_don_gas at 16-09-2017 03:00 AM (6 years ago)
Please please hold on, why e be say everywhere I take even when I wan hide yawa dey there?
Why why?
Na yawa life, yawa goes on
Posted: at 16-09-2017 03:00 AM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- BournIdentity at 22-09-2017 01:46 PM (6 years ago)
Posted: at 22-09-2017 01:46 PM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Novic at 25-09-2017 09:22 PM (6 years ago)
This is serious ooooo..... make I just dey waka pass..... abeg I dey waka pass, I will come and comment later.
This one weak me ooooo, well life must goes on.
I dey waka come bare
Posted: at 25-09-2017 09:22 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- tegonwa at 25-09-2017 09:25 PM (6 years ago)
That's Great.A Return To Rustic Lifestyle Is Adviced In These Harsh Times.Nawaa O!
Posted: at 25-09-2017 09:25 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- BournIdentity at 26-09-2017 06:16 AM (6 years ago)
Posted: at 26-09-2017 06:16 AM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero