Should You Keep Being Friends with an Ex?

Date: 04-10-2017 2:14 am (6 years ago) | Author: joseph foster
- at 4-10-2017 02:14 AM (6 years ago)
When we leave our significant other or they leave us, staying as friends isn’t usually the first thought that comes into our minds. But later on in life, when the echoes of our quarrels have died down and our hearts have healed, our minds tend to drift to thoughts of our ex, especially if they’ve been part of our lives for quite some time.

We think about the one that got away and what it could have been had things worked out with them. We see their pictures on social media and wonder why you’re still friends in Facebook. Then we ask ourselves if it’s okay to keep being friends with an ex. Is it really alright, though?

Personally, I think being friends with an ex can be beneficial. It’s a sign of maturity that we’re able to accept an ex’s friendship without attaching any romantic feelings. It’s also good for closure, like if you had a falling-out with your partner and your relationship ended abruptly, revisiting your relationship some time later can help weave the wounds close. It gives us an opportunity to forgive and forget and release any grudge we hold in our hearts. Peacefully, of course.

A platonic friendship with an ex is great for practical reasons too. I know a guy who still lives with his ex-girlfriend. They’ve been in a relationship for around eight years in the same house, and they had stuff they bought and paid for together. When they fell out of love, they just agreed to keep the status quo as it would’ve been too much trouble sorting out who owns this piece of furniture, or that unwashed plushy.

In times of need, each of them still provides for the other even if they’re no longer dating. It may seem like they’re still a couple, but they’ve agreed that that’s not the case and that there’s no more romantic love between them anymore. It’s just simple friendship between two ex-lovers.

When we’ve broken up with someone, we sometimes think that that was the end, that there’s nothing to think about anymore as it is over and there’s no getting back together. But sometimes, something beautiful can remain buried beneath the ashes of a failed relationship. Being friends with an ex can lead to a different sort of friendship.

Do you think being friends with an ex is good? Share some of your stories.

Posted: at 4-10-2017 02:14 AM (6 years ago) | Newbie
- ruthie at 4-10-2017 09:46 AM (6 years ago)
it has its pros and cons...but just be matured and no hating pls!
Posted: at 4-10-2017 09:46 AM (6 years ago) | Hero
- Schweik at 13-10-2017 01:23 PM (6 years ago)
somehow i met a girl from Russia on an online dating site.. went to her country, then we got to know each other better, started dating.. the point is that in the end we broke up.. but still we managed to save friendly relations afterwards. https://mymagicbrides.com/blog/women-seeking-men/ good site btw
Posted: at 13-10-2017 01:23 PM (6 years ago) | Newbie
- kixme at 13-10-2017 03:42 PM (6 years ago)
if the EX urgly do not have anything to do with her but if she is pretty just be tapping current nothing much
Posted: at 13-10-2017 03:42 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- BournIdentity at 13-10-2017 04:10 PM (6 years ago)
Kini big deal??,.,,. What's happen? Why not if you still get d flair
Posted: at 13-10-2017 04:10 PM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- BournIdentity at 13-10-2017 04:39 PM (6 years ago)
Chhaaaiiiiiiiii kixMome,,, this ur madness tie wrapper o Grin Shocked Na wetin humans got to do with bush rat, sori bush meat abi bush monkey kixme.. So ur papa don teach u bad thg to dey follow dog tap current from ur momo t0to.,, that's why you no get sense 4ur big head
Posted: at 13-10-2017 04:39 PM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kixme at 17-10-2017 10:06 AM (6 years ago)
Bornthroway....i know you mom cause the day she realize she gave birth a dull pig head like you....anu mpama
Posted: at 17-10-2017 10:06 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- BournIdentity at 17-10-2017 10:19 AM (6 years ago)
Wetin I wan tell craze person kixmonkey c'mon getoouuttt go follow your Ape family talk, baboon like you, make me and you talk? Fool, even your father and your generation wey start your ape family no go talk sey them one talk to human, idiot better go to the forest wey you from go make noise there. You hear me kixMome?? Grin
Posted: at 17-10-2017 10:19 AM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kixme at 17-10-2017 10:22 AM (6 years ago)
EXACTLY Bournthroway the disease attached to your name is active now...let see more of you misbehavior....what would one expect from some who is from the animal kingdom
Posted: at 17-10-2017 10:22 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- BournIdentity at 17-10-2017 10:27 AM (6 years ago)
@kixMome,,,., all this one wey u dey talk now I no sey na hunger, but try reduce ur craze to no sey I no bi ur papa..,, kixmonkey enter bush Grin
Posted: at 17-10-2017 10:27 AM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero