Nigerian Man Storms Late Father's Grave To Fight Him For Including His Daughters In His Will

Date: 05-10-2017 3:47 pm (6 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 5-10-2017 03:47 PM (6 years ago)

The late Gabriel Okwukogwu may not be resting in peace in his grave after all, as he was said to have attracted the anger of his first son, simply known as Emmy for sharing his properties among his seven children including the four women in Anambra State. We gathered that an infuriated Emmy reportedly went to his father’s grave to tell him that he will not comply with the will he prepared when he was alive. The family is from Orlu in Imo State but stays at G.M.O Road in Ogbaru area of Onitsha metropolitan city in Anambra.
We gathered that Emmy who resides in Lagos returned after the death and burial of his late father. After the burial the late father’s lawyer called the members of the family, presented their late father’s will and read it to the children for implementation.

However, trouble was said to have started after the counsel got through reading the will and Emmy discovered that their late father shared his properties to his children including the women among them.
It was gathered that the late Okwukogu had properties both in Onitsha and Owerri which he shared equally among the children not minding the gender status. P.M.Express gathered that when the lawyer finished reading the will to the children, Emmy got angry and declared that the will did not come from their father because he really understood the culture and tradition as observed in Igbo land.
It was gathered that the culture did not recognise women because it was expected that they will get married to their husbands and therefore were not entitled to inherit any property from their family. Thus Emmy insisted that the culture and tradition will be applied in the sharing of the properties.

An infuriated Emmy reportedly left the meeting and headed to their family house in Orlu, went to his father’s grave and protested; that he will not comply with his purported will because he did not comply with the laid down customs and tradition in the land.
It was gathered that Emmy’s decision to reject the will was causing serious problem in the family as the women in question threatened to fight for their rights as contained in the will rejected by their eldest brother.

When we spoke to some Igbo leaders concerning the incident, some spoke against the sharing and declared that Emmy was right because women were not entitled to inherit family properties according to tradition. Others said that it was the old practice and the properties in question were not family houses which the women will never inherit according to tradition.
It was however not certain how the matter will be resolved because the will was regarded as a valid document that must be complied with despite any perceived defects.

Posted: at 5-10-2017 03:47 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- osarobo62 at 5-10-2017 04:04 PM (6 years ago)
lazy Anuofialistic  efulefu..it's his wealth and he can share it the way he wants
Posted: at 5-10-2017 04:04 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- Wazubia at 5-10-2017 04:08 PM (6 years ago)
the first son want to fight hes dead father body huh? it is well.
Posted: at 5-10-2017 04:08 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- livingstone80 at 5-10-2017 04:30 PM (6 years ago)
Еmany please stop this nonsense also they are your blood sisters
Posted: at 5-10-2017 04:30 PM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- segfol at 5-10-2017 04:48 PM (6 years ago)
In this civilized world,somebody still believe in fighting for property.Emmy you are  very lazy man,go and work for your own properties so that your children can have something to inherit.
Posted: at 5-10-2017 04:48 PM (6 years ago) | Newbie
- Femstyle at 5-10-2017 04:50 PM (6 years ago)
Endtime palava
Posted: at 5-10-2017 04:50 PM (6 years ago) | Newbie
- ruthie at 5-10-2017 05:02 PM (6 years ago)
idiot fellow
Posted: at 5-10-2017 05:02 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- itumopapa at 5-10-2017 06:52 PM (6 years ago)
This one just dey wait for in papa death. Rubbish man
Posted: at 5-10-2017 06:52 PM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- victorstic1 at 5-10-2017 08:40 PM (6 years ago)
AM SURE THAT GUY WILL KILL THEM ONE AFTER THE OTHER IF CARE IS NOT TAKEN ;IT WAS BECAUSE OF LAND THEY KILLED FREETHINKER FATHER
Posted: at 5-10-2017 08:40 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- euwilliams at 5-10-2017 09:59 PM (6 years ago)
That was old tradition, my only brother did the same too but only to sold one building and gave four of  us girls only 50,000 each. But we paid our tithe from the money and prayed " God if it is good or bad what he did, we left everything in your hands.  What happened? Within 1year, he was badly robbed and duped. So such life. Brothers suppose to accommodate their sisters in every side, chop alone die alone.
Posted: at 5-10-2017 09:59 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- officynero at 6-10-2017 04:18 AM (6 years ago)
see mentality
Posted: at 6-10-2017 04:18 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Upbendel at 6-10-2017 04:44 AM (6 years ago)
Your action confirmed................ why your father sheared his property equally
He should be arrested..............
Your father properties is not automatically for you lazy idiot,
Posted: at 6-10-2017 04:44 AM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- BournIdentity at 6-10-2017 04:44 AM (6 years ago)
Posted: at 6-10-2017 04:44 AM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- mjyabah2 at 6-10-2017 06:10 AM (6 years ago)
The wealth of a dead man left behind for the living. That said, people should also remember that burial of such rich man comes with huge responsibility. Therefore, the first son does not only inherit property and wealth, he inherits the following: befitting burial of their father, condolence visits by dignitories, friends and welwishers, reinstituting the family status, representation of the family and maintaining the fame and name of the family. He cannot achieve all that without money. Emmy may have suspected some foul play because some widows of these days can forge and falsify wills to benefit their daughters, especially in a poligamous family. The details of this situation is still unfolding, because it is uncommon for an Igboman do share his wealth equally among his living children. Every Igboman knows what responsibilities face the first son after the father's death. It does not come cheap to be a first son. I hope Emmy did not abandon his father when he was alive. I hope his mother was a good woman to her husband. I hope the daughters were not the only ones that took care of him when he needed them. I hope all things were equal - a functional not didfunctional family. I wish him well and, please Emmy, try to avoid bad advisement from "Umunnadi" - they can make or brake u.
Posted: at 6-10-2017 06:10 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- BournIdentity at 6-10-2017 09:10 AM (6 years ago)
Went to his father./enter grave to fight..,,, poster u try...//one of una tie crase for head
Posted: at 6-10-2017 09:10 AM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero