Man Shares His Experience On How Women Are Maltreated In Nigeria After Spending 4wks in The Country

Date: 26-04-2018 8:45 am (6 years ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 26-04-2018 08:45 AM (6 years ago)

A man has shared his experience of how women are treated in Nigeria. Via a Twitter thread, he spoke of how women are looked down upon in certain situations and sometimes often regarded as prostitutes.

He wrote:

I spent 4 weeks in Nigeria between March and April. Some of my observations left me wondering why? How? When? If?

So women complain about how tough it is to be a female in Nigeria, the daily experience and the abuse they suffer in the hands of everyone. It is very easy to live in Nigeria and become accustomed to these things. My experiences on this thread all happened in Lagos.

About 11pm, I went to Opebi to get roadside food, I wanted a taste of the Hausa guy’s noodles & eggs with salad plus Suya. As usual Opebi was bubbling with life on a Friday night, girls lined up the street doing their business. Suddenly the girls started running off the streets. The policemen arrived with a van, arresting the girls at random. The policemen did not harass 1 man for being out at midnight, they boastfully said “ what are women doing outside at this time of the night” A friend later told me she was arrested in Lekki while waiting for.

Uber, the police claimed she was a prostitute. One wonders how the police arrive at this conclusion without the girls soliciting. On another day I was leaving the hotel in Ikeja at 2pm, a young lady in her 20s was checking out We both ended up at the hotel gate. She was waiting for Uber, I was waiting for taxify. To my surprise, the security man told her to leave the gate entrance cos it will appear the hotel had prostitutes at the gate. I asked the security man why did he not apply the same rules to me, he had no answer. I was haa.

I told the lady to ignore him until her Uber arrived. On several occasions in company of female friends, the security men & staff at restaurants greet me and ignore the lady. I kept asking what was wrong, was the lady too short to be seen or what? How did we get here?

One afternoon, a lady took 2 guys (including me)out in Lagos, she drove us in her brand new car. We the guys till date have not acquired brand new cars. At the restaurant she asked for the bill, guess what? The waiter gave the bill to me . Told the waiter she asked for the bill cos she is paying for the meal.

Why are you surprised a lady is paying for the meal with 2 guys? Why give me the bill when she asked for it? We left the restaurant, the boys at the car park wanted money. With the lady in the driver’s seat, they ignored her & asked we the guys for money.

Posted: at 26-04-2018 08:45 AM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- fineboy77 at 26-04-2018 09:19 AM (6 years ago)
4 weeks and you are talking,abeg siddon

Posted: at 26-04-2018 09:19 AM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- abrakata at 26-04-2018 09:59 AM (6 years ago)
Oga, no b abroad b this, this is naija in case ya never know. So, chill, that's how we rock here.  Grin
Posted: at 26-04-2018 09:59 AM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- ruthie at 26-04-2018 10:14 AM (6 years ago)
MY BROTHER...THIS IS THE STEREOTYPICAL COUNTRY WE FIND OURSELVES IN....WOMEN THEY FEEL CANNOT HAVE THINGS ON THEIR OWN WITHOUT A MAN...I SPENT SOME NIGHTS IN A HOTEL AND WHEN THE BILL WAS BROUGHT...THE DUDE SAID"PLEASE GIVE THE BILL TO OGA" I WAS LIVID WITH ANGER..I ASKED THE PUNK , HAVE YOU SEEN ANY MAN HERE? NIGERIANS & POOR MENTALITY....WE HAVE NOT GROWN ONE BIT....SHAMEFUL
Posted: at 26-04-2018 10:14 AM (6 years ago) | Hero
- celebritygee at 26-04-2018 10:29 AM (6 years ago)
This guy is insane..forgotten that Nigeria girls are gold diggers
Posted: at 26-04-2018 10:29 AM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 26-04-2018 10:32 AM (6 years ago)
women should be happy men are looking after them! no be stereotype na caring  Grin Grin
Posted: at 26-04-2018 10:32 AM (6 years ago) | Grande Master
- gracier at 26-04-2018 11:16 AM (6 years ago)
Quote from: gogoman on 26-04-2018 10:32 AM
women should be happy men are looking after them! no be stereotype na caring  Grin Grin
Days are gone when men look after women. Nowadays most men are looking for women with fat bank account to marry and that has created more single men in the market.
Posted: at 26-04-2018 11:16 AM (6 years ago) | Newbie
- slimber at 26-04-2018 01:41 PM (6 years ago)
Okoooo
Posted: at 26-04-2018 01:41 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- ruthie at 26-04-2018 02:13 PM (6 years ago)
TRUE TEA...MANY IRRESPONSIBLE LOTS OUT THERE.
Quote from: gracier on 26-04-2018 11:16 AM
Days are gone when men look after women. Nowadays most men are looking for women with fat bank account to marry and that has created more single men in the market.
Posted: at 26-04-2018 02:13 PM (6 years ago) | Hero