2011 elections: Politicians in mad rush for bullet-proof cars

Date: 25-04-2010 12:47 am (14 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 25-04-2010 12:47 AM (14 years ago)
The spate of kidnappings, assassinations, political murders and general insecurity in the country may have forced politicians, top government officials, wealthy businessmen and other affluent Nigerians into a rush for bullet-proof cars.

Latest information released to our correspondent by a top American auto armouring company also revealed that the closeness of the 2011 general election has caused politicians to massively place orders for heavily fortified anti-ballistic vehicles.

Following reports that politicians and wealthy Nigerians had expanded the internal security around their residences, particularly in the face of high profile kidnappings, our correspondent made an online enquiry from the Country Representative of Texas Armoring Corporation, Mr. John Uwaya, on how many new orders he had received for protective vehicles.

Uwaya, however, decided to forward the enquiry to the head office of the company in Texas, United States of America.

On Tuesday, the Executive Vice President of Texas Armoring Corporation, Mr. Jason Forston, responded by disclosing that the Presidency, governors, politicians and other wealthy Nigerians had raised their demands for new anti-ballistic vehicles from the company since the former governorship candidate of the Action Congress in Ogun State, Otunba Dipo Dina, was shot dead by unknown gunmen on January 25 this year.

Dipo had been shot dead at a spot in front of Covenant University, Ota, Ogun State after his assailants blocked his Toyota Camry SUV while he was returning to his Lagos home from Abeokuta in company with his driver and a woman said to be a prophetess.

”Orders have certainly increased as 2011 elections draw nearer. With the untimely death of Dipo Dina and kidnappings/murders on the rise, many political candidates and hopefuls have felt the need to protect themselves,” Forston wrote in his reply.

The AMC vice president further disclosed that their Nigerian clients preferred the heavily fortified Cadillac Escalade that sells for about $400,000 (about N60m) per unit. This brand has its floor, roof, pillar posts and window overlaps armoured.

Giving a breakdown, Forston disclosed that the Presidency, Lagos State and Rivers State governments patronised his company the most, adding that on Tuesday alone, these Nigerian clients placed orders for 30 different grades of armoured vehicles worth $5,357,550.00 (about N803,632,500).

He wrote, ”In a given year, we could send approximately 50-100 units to Nigeria alone… About 30 per cent of our market is from Nigeria. Over the years, we‘ve probably sent close to 800-900 armoured vehicles to Nigeria.”

Contacted on Thursday, an official of the Lagos State Government who preferred anonymity because of the security implication of the contract, said that most of the anti-ballistic vehicles bought from the AMC were donated to the Rapid Response Squad for its operations.

”The Executive Secretary of the Security Trust Fund will be in a better position to explain the purchases,” he said.

Below is the transcript of the online interaction between Forston and our correspondent:

As we approach the 2011 elections, have orders for bulletproof and armoured cars from Nigeria increased?

Orders have certainly increased as 2011 elections draw nearer. With the untimely death of Dipo Dina and kidnappings/murders on the rise, many political candidates and hopefuls have felt the need to protect themselves. Clients have been trending toward higher armour levels along with our CEO package as well. Here is a sample gallery (picture of the vehicle is displayed). We call this vehicle ”The BEAST” and it‘s becoming increasingly popular among wealthy Nigerians. One BEAST vehicle can sell for approximately $400,000.00 USD.

How many has the Federal Governmet ordered? Which state government or business tycoon has ordered the most?

We‘ve met with Nigerian government officials, advisors, governors and generals at the highest levels. They‘ve come to our facility and met with us here in the U.S. They need protection, and they trust Texas Armoring Corporation to provide the best armoured vehicles worldwide. Our vehicles will stop multiple, black market armour-piercing rounds from an AK-47 or M-16, and although they‘re protected so well, they‘re also extremely lightweight, which means better performance and handling. The most popular vehicles we sell to Nigeria are the Mercedes-Benz G55 AMG, Lexus LX570, Toyota Landcruiser, Mercedes-Benz GL550, Mercedes-Benz S550, and the Cadillac Escalade. Typically, vehicles are not sold through a federal channel (e.g., a public federal bid). Sales come through private channels for clients with Federal connections. Many politicians are wealthy from other business ventures, so funds are from private accounts as opposed to bids or contracts.

In fact, just today (Tuesday, April 20), we received a contract for $5,357,550.00 USD for 30 units for various politicians and businessmen throughout Abuja, Port Harcourt, and Lagos. Lagos State and Abuja State are probably the clients that buy the most. In a given year, we could send approximately 50-100 units to Nigeria alone.

Can you give an estimate of how much the coy you represent has reaped from orders secured from Nigeria i.e. from the various governments, politicians, expatriates and business tycoons?

About 30 per cent of our market is from Nigeria. Over the years, we‘ve probably sent close to 800-900 armoured vehicles to Nigeria. We also met with a special advisor to the Presidency a few months back to discuss long-term partnerships for Nigeria.

Posted: at 25-04-2010 12:47 AM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ajanni at 25-04-2010 10:35 AM (14 years ago)
waste of money
Posted: at 25-04-2010 10:35 AM (14 years ago) | Grande Master
- solkings at 25-04-2010 07:51 PM (14 years ago)
indeed
Posted: at 25-04-2010 07:51 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- Annizzle at 26-04-2010 12:57 AM (14 years ago)
WOW
Posted: at 26-04-2010 12:57 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- cheermillion at 26-04-2010 03:17 AM (14 years ago)
YES I HAVE ONE. I SHIPD MINE LAST YEAR, 2009 TO MY HOUSE IN LAGOS. I HAVE A STRETCH LIMOUSINE, HUMMER H2. SEE PIX ON MY PROFILLEEE! I AM iiiGWEEEEE, Obinna>>CHEERMILLION, HOUSTON, TEXAS, USA....., $850,000 US DOLLARS. DO THE CONVERSION. I DONT HAVE TIME. AND OOOH, I'M NOT A POLITICIAN.
Posted: at 26-04-2010 03:17 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Vickgee at 26-04-2010 07:26 AM (14 years ago)
politics don't hate the player hate the game
Posted: at 26-04-2010 07:26 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Dee4evr at 26-04-2010 08:41 AM (14 years ago)
There is no hiding place for the wicked except they repent and amend their ways. No matter the sophiscation of the security they surround themselves with, their sins will surely find them out.

Nigerian politians really need rebranding according to one commendian.
Posted: at 26-04-2010 08:41 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- rasky47 at 26-04-2010 09:52 AM (14 years ago)
Bullshit
Posted: at 26-04-2010 09:52 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- tunjites at 26-04-2010 11:03 AM (14 years ago)
Preparing for WAR or WHAT?
Armour car because of election.

NIIIIIIIGGGEEEEEEERRRRRRRRRIIIIIIIIAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
Nawa ooooo
Posted: at 26-04-2010 11:03 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- rexhafiz at 26-04-2010 01:46 PM (14 years ago)
If I dey that kind position, I sure say na amored helicopter me sef go dey cruise...and if them ask me why??? I say say just trying to do better than those I succeeded
Posted: at 26-04-2010 01:46 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Mba5 at 26-04-2010 04:08 PM (14 years ago)
Will this save them???
Posted: at 26-04-2010 04:08 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tunjites at 26-04-2010 04:13 PM (14 years ago)
instead of purchasing Armour car or helicopter, y not clone themselves to robot.
Posted: at 26-04-2010 04:13 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- enc4life at 26-04-2010 07:22 PM (14 years ago)
if God doesn't wash over a city, he who is watching is watching in veil
Posted: at 26-04-2010 07:22 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chudy1800 at 26-04-2010 10:06 PM (14 years ago)
There will be no hiding  place for them when time comes.
Posted: at 26-04-2010 10:06 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- Elmumeen at 27-04-2010 01:22 AM (14 years ago)
Wow...wastefull...this amount if shared to common/poor ones'll definately eliminate poverty in our dear Nation...but what're they bullet proofing themselves for...perhaps bloody.
If given the chance,i'll snipe@'em all n bring the mother fu**ers down.
E...l...m...u...m...e...e...n
Posted: at 27-04-2010 01:22 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- lookingeast at 27-04-2010 04:11 AM (14 years ago)
Man.... I used to wish I could win the lottery and help change things in Nigeria. But i;m worried i'd be a mark for these cats buying these trucks....... Wow
Posted: at 27-04-2010 04:11 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- jojo8 at 27-04-2010 03:05 PM (14 years ago)
They should build bullet proof  houses.people without brain.
Posted: at 27-04-2010 03:05 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- stranz at 27-04-2010 05:59 PM (14 years ago)
na dem go first die
Posted: at 27-04-2010 05:59 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- stranz at 27-04-2010 06:44 PM (14 years ago)
yeah
Posted: at 27-04-2010 06:44 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- attamem at 27-04-2010 08:35 PM (14 years ago)
Will find a solotion to bomb the bastards in that they called bullet proof, i know say as of now bomb proof no dey town yet abi?
Posted: at 27-04-2010 08:35 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming

1. Controversial YouTuber Emdee Tiamiyu Reportedly Deported to Nigeria By UK Government

2. VIDEO: Actor Zubby Michael Gives Wads of Cash to Late Junior Pope’s Family, Netizens React

3. Sad Story of 16yr Old Favour, Whose Mother Killed Her Newly Born Baby in Ajah Lagos (VIDEO)

4. Liquorose And I Are Married - BBNaija's Saga Finally Breaks Silence On Their Relationship (VID)

5. Liam Has Bow Leg, We Don't Have Bow Legs in Our Family - Mohbad's Dad to Wife, Wunmi

6. Labour to Hold Talks With Federal Govt Today Over New Minimum Wage

7. VIDEO: Actress Motilola Akinlami Calls Out Colleague, Kunle Afod

8. Adorable Photos Of Actress, Bukunmi Oluwasina’s Daughter, Avia

9. VIDEO: Veteran Nollywood Actor, Zack Orji Reveals His Real Identity, Says He Is From Gabon

10. Pro-Yahaya Bello Groups Stage Protest In London, Urge Tinubu To Ensure Rule Of Law

11. Imo Women Protest Against Alleged Police Brutality

12. VIDEO: Nigerian Wig Maker, Helen Williams Sets Guinness World Record For The Widest Wig

13. Nollywood Actress, Bimbo Afolayan Pens Lovely Note To Mum On Her Birthday

14. Troops Neutralise 7 Insurgents, Recover Weapons, Motorcycles In Kaduna

15. 'Islamically, It's The Duty Of A Man To Provide A Servant To Do Chores For His Wife' -Muslim Wo

16. Terrorists Kill Six Persons, Injure Others, Loot Valuables In Kaduna Community

17. Three Men Arraigned For Assaulting Psychiatric Doctor In Ogun

18. Beautiful Lady, Margret Oyibo From Benue State Reportedly Found Dead In Abuja

19. VIDEO: 127 Arrested Over Refusal To Use Pedestrian Bridges In Lagos

20. VIDEO: "I Used To Have An Affair With A Lawmaker" -Singer, Brymo Blows Hot

1. Atiku Abubakar Signals Support For Peter Obi's Potential Presidential Bid In 2027

2. South African Forex Trader AkA Grootman Allegedly Leaks His Ex-fiancée's S3x Tape

3. Peter Obi Pays Heartfelt Condolence Visit To Family Of Late Actor Junior Pope (Photos)

4. Nigerians React to Wizkid’s New Look

5. Truck-BRT Collision Causes Chaos At Ibafo Bus-Stop Along The Lagos-Ibadan Expressway

6. Tension In Abuja Market As Traders Beat Two Soldiers Mercilessly Over Mobile Phone (Video)

7. The Only Chance Peter Obi Has To Be President is In 2039, When He's 79 years Old – Daniel Bwala

8. Hilda Baci Shows Off Her Boyfriend (Photos)

9. UN Hails Nigeria's Strides Under Tinubu Administration; Stakeholders Laud Renewed Hope Agenda

10. Emeka Ike's Children With Ex Wife Have Reportedly Dropped Out of School & Doing Menial Jobs