Nigerian Parents See Their Children As Their Retirement Pension (How True?)

Date: 26-10-2018 7:52 pm (5 years ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 26-10-2018 07:52 PM (5 years ago)

Nigerian parents see their children as their retirement pension. Most of them don't even get to retirement age before they start claiming this pension.

You will hear a mum saying that one child is very stingy and that such a child will not give to her when he/she grows up and starts making money. A child that is still in Primary or Secondary school o.

Some will say they had plenty kids so that their future will be secured. Kids that they don't have the capacity to train well most times.
They put so much burden on these young shoulders that some of them end up struggling till the end of their lives.

A young girl that is still in higher institution will be sending money home, while going home she will buy expensive gifts way above her allowances for her parents and siblings, no one will question the source of the money. If anyone raises an eyebrow, the parents will say they are eating the fruits of their labour.

When I was in school, I had this friend. She was just 20yrs old but was already carrying the responsibilities in the home. She was the second child and had three younger ones who were still in school.

Her mum would call her and complain about house rent, feeding in the home, how they chased one of her younger ones from school for owing school fees, e.t.c. God! She will threaten and blackmail this girl to do something. She would say

'I am your mother, don't allow me to be put to shame, it would be a curse on your head'.
Mind you, her boyfriend was the one sponsoring her in school.
The poor girl will do all sorts including 'runs' to settle her people at home. How old were these parents? late 40s or early 50s!

It is only in Nigeria that you will see parents that can still hustle sitting at home and waiting for their child who just secured a job to be sending them monthly allowance. The child will marry and still be sending them money to avoid trouble with their spouses. These young men and women will keep struggling to make enough money for both their new family and old family.

Some very greedy parents will not even allow their child to get married so that the allowances and gifts will not be affected. They won't discuss marriage with him/her and will reject any suitor or lady that they bring home for marriage. Some even go diabolical. The smart ones will pick a wife for their sons, a woman they can control and manipulate in order to keep extorting money from him. Hmmmmm.

I am not saying it is bad to take care of one's parents, infact it is a blessing to take care of them. I am saying parents should allow their children to be well established, they should support them and make them to be grounded financially. They should also work if they are not sick or weak and retire when it is the right time to retire. They should not overwhelm their children with demands especially the ones who are still struggling.

May God deliver all those suffering in the hands of end time parents.

Posted: at 26-10-2018 07:52 PM (5 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Henrybobo at 26-10-2018 08:22 PM (5 years ago)
true sha
Posted: at 26-10-2018 08:22 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- o0OoStGHsbso0OoE1iL at 26-10-2018 09:27 PM (5 years ago)

o

o

o

|n,

Merry C HR I S T M A S in advance

o

o

o

Posted: at 26-10-2018 09:27 PM (5 years ago) | Upcoming
- edithehio at 26-10-2018 10:15 PM (5 years ago)
What about the young girls that are going through alot in Europe countries just to send money to their family in Nigeria,these  girls are on street, take risks to put with their family demand.. you will hear something like,I wan comot my family for rent so I must build  house for them.. that's how some will be on the street for 30 yrs, they will forget to marry... God help us
Posted: at 26-10-2018 10:15 PM (5 years ago) | Upcoming
- Agvictor at 26-10-2018 10:58 PM (5 years ago)
I think it's partially true with what the government has turned retirees into

Posted: at 26-10-2018 10:58 PM (5 years ago) | Newbie
- blackpower at 27-10-2018 03:01 AM (5 years ago)
Quote from: edithehio on 26-10-2018 10:15 PM
What about the young girls that are going through alot in Europe countries just to send money to their family in Nigeria,these  girls are on street, take risks to put with their family demand.. you will hear something like,I wan comot my family for rent so I must build  house for them.. that's how some will be on the street for 30 yrs, they will forget to marry... 
     YOU ARE RIGHT, EDITH BUT THOSE GIRLS ARE NOT WITH THEIR SENSES, THEY WANT TO DO COMPETITION OF BIG GIRLS ,
Posted: at 27-10-2018 03:01 AM (5 years ago) | Newbie
- Zadok1 at 27-10-2018 03:10 AM (5 years ago)
Quote from: edithehio on 26-10-2018 10:15 PM
What about the young girls that are going through alot in Europe countries just to send money to their family in Nigeria,these  girls are on street, take risks to put with their family demand.. you will hear something like,I wan comot my family for rent so I must build  house for them.. that's how some will be on the street for 30 yrs, they will forget to marry... God help us
Yes you are right, some foolish girls are like that
Posted: at 27-10-2018 03:10 AM (5 years ago) | Upcoming
- Zadok1 at 27-10-2018 03:20 AM (5 years ago)
Most of the parents that are doing this are uncivilized ones,
they ask you for money as if your purpose of living is to
take care of them and nothing more, even with all this
they will be threatening to lay curse on you if you don't
give them. This attitude has put some youths in a
desperate condition to the extent of commiting crime.
They will compare you with others that has made it,
and ask you to do whatever others are doing.
Posted: at 27-10-2018 03:20 AM (5 years ago) | Upcoming
- horizontal at 27-10-2018 05:02 AM (5 years ago)
WELL SAID THATSWHY NIGERIAN ARE DOING ILLIGALY THINGS AND HATRED BY  WORLD AS THEIR CRIMINAL ...I KNOW WHY THEY DO ANYTHING TO GET MONEY EVEN SWEETING BLOOD......NIGERIAN PARENTS COOL DOWN PLEASE AT LEAST  FOR  NEW GENERATIONS.....
Posted: at 27-10-2018 05:02 AM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Wazubia at 27-10-2018 05:18 AM (5 years ago)
101% TRUE.
Posted: at 27-10-2018 05:18 AM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- victorstic1 at 27-10-2018 08:23 AM (5 years ago)
GOOD WRITE UP THAT NEED TO BE DISCUSSED
Posted: at 27-10-2018 08:23 AM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Mayorkun Slam Nicki Da Barbie With N1b Lawsuit For Damaging His Reputation, Accusing Of Been A

2. VID: Singer Paul Okoye Cries Out Over The Struggles Of House Chores In The UK

3. VID: Prophet Sends Disturbing Message To Paul Okoye About His Girlfriend, Ivy Ifeoma

4. VIDEO: Unrest In Plateau As Gunmen Kill University Student, 19 Others 20 In Fresh Attack

5. Police Parade One-Man Interstate Phone Thief, 10 Others In Kwara

6. ‘It’s False’ - Singer Skiibii Reacts To Nicki Dabarbie’s ‘Ritual’ Accusation

7. "Declaring Yahaya Bello Wanted Unnecessary" – Bwala Slams EFCC

8. APC Reacts To Claims That Presidency Is Involved In Ganduje’s Suspension

9. Lagos Govt Arrests 10 Fake MOT Enforcement Officials

1. Moment Atiku Abubakar And Nyesom Wike Snub Each Other At PDP National Caucus Meeting (VID)

2. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

3. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

4. Check Out The Video That Got Cubana Chief Priest Into EFCC's Net

5. Jubilation In Nigeria As Many Are Currently Receiving N50k Inside Their Account From Tinubu

6. PICS: Ex Ooni Of Ife's Wife, Queen Naomi Ties The Knot Again On Her 31st Birthday

7. Embarrassing Turn for Afrobeats Star, Davido in Latest Romantic Scandal With American Model

8. Kim Kardashian Shows Off Lots of Flesh as She Debuts Her SKIMS SWIM Summer 2024 Line

9. APC National Chairman, Ganduje Suspended From The Party

10. Lady Who Accidentally Posted Cozy Photos With Davido Shares New Shocking Video of The Singer