2011: IBB romances top musicians

Date: 26-05-2010 8:05 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 26-05-2010 08:05 PM (13 years ago)
Reminiscent of the one-million-man march staged by the Youth Earnestly Ask (YEAA) for Abacha in 1994, some Nigerian musicians may, once again, converge to sing for former President Ibrahim Babangida who may be contesting for president in 2011.

And as part of efforts to realize his presidential ambition, Babangida, popularly known as IBB, is said to be recruiting some popular Nigerian musicians to help him reach out to the youths as well as members of the grassroots.

Nigeriafilms.com gathered that the artistes would hold grand concerts in some parts of the country including Abuja, Lagos, Kano, Kaduna and Port-Harcout after his campaign will have officially commenced.

The source also told Weekend Showbiz that some of these artistes would record campaign songs that would be aired on radio and television stations across the federation.

According to the source, some of the artistes that have been contacted by the Niger State- born retired soldier include Hip-hop music star, D’Banj whose song was used by the ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the 2007 general elections; Peter and Paul Okoye, otherwise known as PSquare; the Yahoozee crooner, Olu maintain; Banky W; Gongo Aso crooner, 9ice; Abass Akande Obesere; Sule Adio Atawewe and many others.

Inn a chat with Weekend Showbiz, Obesere, who enjoyed great patronage from the former president during his last presidential campaign in 2007, said, “I remain the only artiste on the bill of the Babangida campaign. I am still in good contact with members of the campaign group and I know that no other musician has been approached for this purpose. In fact, I have been given the mandate to negotiate with any artiste that I know will do them good. I am the official musician for the Ibrahim Babangida campaign in 2011.”

Also, in a separate interview with Olu Maintain, he denied being approached by Babangida or any of his loyalists. “I also heard that they are talking to some musicians for his campaign, but I have not been approached yet. If they come, I will accept. Why won’t I? I’m a musician and I will sing for anybody who is ready to pay my bill.”

Posted: at 26-05-2010 08:05 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- OLOGBOJO-1 at 13-10-2010 03:04 PM (13 years ago)
Is he doing its with his own money and cock?   if yes! that is none of your busines
Posted: at 13-10-2010 03:04 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- OLOGBOJO-1 at 13-10-2010 03:06 PM (13 years ago)
musicians are part of campaign instruments
Posted: at 13-10-2010 03:06 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- ajanni at 14-10-2010 01:25 PM (13 years ago)
business as usual
Posted: at 14-10-2010 01:25 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- terryworld at 15-10-2010 08:07 AM (13 years ago)
if he like let him buy naija actors and actress thats non of my business but one thing i know is that presidential candidate who has the masses in mind will definetly win

Posted: at 15-10-2010 08:07 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- ajanni at 15-10-2010 08:53 AM (13 years ago)
Posted: at 15-10-2010 08:53 AM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- ajanni at 15-10-2010 08:55 AM (13 years ago)
Posted: at 15-10-2010 08:55 AM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- moniconyez at 15-10-2010 09:09 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: terryworld on 15-10-2010 08:07 AM
if he like let him buy naija actors and actress thats non of my business but one thing i know is that presidential candidate who has the masses in mind will definetly win

And any artiste trying to campaign for this BEAST is a failure
Posted: at 15-10-2010 09:09 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- ajanni at 15-10-2010 09:17 AM (13 years ago)
if he likes let him go and brings michel jackson from where ever he is back here
Posted: at 15-10-2010 09:17 AM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- mystangel at 15-10-2010 09:59 AM (13 years ago)
DaMn!!!!

Posted: at 15-10-2010 09:59 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Pepesy at 15-10-2010 10:22 AM (13 years ago)
whatz ma stress
Posted: at 15-10-2010 10:22 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- divineproject at 15-10-2010 12:09 PM (13 years ago)
If they come, I will accept. Why won’t I? I’m a musician and I will sing for anybody who is ready to pay my bill.”

Just look are that statement..............I weep for this country............... :'( :'( :'( :'(

Posted: at 15-10-2010 12:09 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- solid_solid at 15-10-2010 01:02 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: divineproject on 15-10-2010 12:09 PM
If they come, I will accept. Why won’t I? I’m a musician and I will sing for anybody who is ready to pay my bill.”

Just look are that statement..............I weep for this country............... :'( :'( :'( :'(

no mind the guy ....
Posted: at 15-10-2010 01:02 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- terryworld at 15-10-2010 03:40 PM (13 years ago)
but ibb should rest.did he think is easy for incumbent president to lose election.the worst thing that will happen to him is contesting and lose.

Posted: at 15-10-2010 03:40 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- mat-James at 15-10-2010 05:24 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: OLOGBOJO-1 on 13-10-2010 03:06 PM
musicians are part of campaign instruments

yes, just pay them,
they will sing your praise,
until every ear hears
Posted: at 15-10-2010 05:24 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 15-10-2010 11:50 PM (13 years ago)
that will be too bad oooo
Posted: at 15-10-2010 11:50 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master

1. How Abusive Nigerian Man, Beat Wife To Death Months After Relocating To The UK

2. 74Yr Old Woman Robs Bank At Gunpoint After Losing Her Life Savings To Online Scammers

3. We Find Love in Unexpected Places – Bimbo Ademoye Writes As She Shares Loved-up Photo With Timi

4. Ex-runs Girl Lands Herself In Trouble After Finding Out Her Former Client Is Her Brother-in-Law

5. Actress, Stella Udeze Reveals Why Actresses Have Unhappy Relationships

6. Late Mohbad’s Toxicology Result Ready As Pathologist Begins Evaluation

7. Interior Minister, Tunji-Ojo To Relocate Suleja Correctional Centres To Avoid Inmate Escape

8. 'Avoid Panic Buying, Petrol Prices Not Changing' — NNPC To Nigerians

9. Nigerian Actress, Doris Simeon Reveals Why She Relocated To America

10. Actress, Eniola Badmus Looks Beautiful In New Photos To Spice Up The Weekend

11. I Foresee ‘Earth-Shaking’, Climatic Problems In Lagos, Abuja, Others – Primate Ayodele Warns

12. Ex-Wife Of Late Alaafin Of Oyo, Queen Dami Shares Cryptic Post About Death

13. NSCDC Arrest 8 Illegal Security Guards, Recovers Firearms In Anambra

14. VIDEO: Woman Who Was Disgraced By Pastor Enenche, Seeks For A New Apartment

15. Second Republic Lawmaker & Veteran Journalist, Sidi Ali Dies At Age 86 In Kano

16. Mohbad's Dad, Aloba Granted Another Method To Deliver Court Summons For DNA Test To Wumi

1. 'Brand Ambassador', Phyna Calls Out Pepsi For Supplying Her Expired Drinks

2. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

3. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

4. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

5. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

6. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

7. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

8. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria

9. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

10. Divide Nigeria Before June 15 - Yoruba Nation Agitators, Sunday Igboho, Akintoye Tells Tinubu