Over 50% Nigerian teachers are not qualified - FG

Date: 31-05-2010 6:34 am (14 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 31-05-2010 06:34 AM (14 years ago)
THE Federal Government has said over 50 per cent of teachers in primary and secondary schools in the country have no requisite skills and capacity to impact knowledge, a factor responsible for mass examination failures in recent times.

Minister of Education, Professor Ruqayyatu Ahmed Rufa’i, said this in Kaduna, at the weekend, when she paid a visit to the new governor of Kaduna State, Mr Patrick Yakowa.

He was also in the state on a visit to the three parastatal agencies of the Federal Ministry of Education in the state, the National Teachers’ Institute (NTI); National Board for Technical Education (NBTE) and National Commission for Nomadic Education (NCNE).

Rufa’i, therefore, directed that teachers to be employed into the public schools must, in addition to their qualifications, sit for examinations before they could be employed.

This, according to the minister, would help to restore sanity to the education system and ensure that only qualified teachers, who had the requisite experience and skills, were employed to teach in all public schools.

“Nigeria has been having problem as far as quality of education is concerned. Of course, we are beginning to witness the issue of mass examination failure. That has very good relationship with the fact that we do not have quality teachers on the ground. Looking at the number of Nigerian teachers that we have, we have more than 50 per cent of them that are not qualified,” she said.

The minister said to correct the anomaly, “we are making it mandatory that for each teacher that will now be employed, either at the state or local government, or even at the federal level, it is required that they be examined.

“We have to examine them in a classroom setting, to ensure their reading skills, vis-a-vis their writing skills and then their comprehension.”

She commended the Kaduna State government for according priority to education and urged the new governor to sustain the efforts of his predecessor, Vice-President Namadi Sambo, in moving the education forward.

Posted: at 31-05-2010 06:34 AM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sabiti at 31-05-2010 07:53 AM (14 years ago)
no b lie
Posted: at 31-05-2010 07:53 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- stranz at 31-05-2010 08:47 AM (14 years ago)
i dey ur back.
Posted: at 31-05-2010 08:47 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- Ybayour at 31-05-2010 09:42 AM (14 years ago)
Na basic truth u yarn.
Posted: at 31-05-2010 09:42 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Agatex at 31-05-2010 10:10 AM (14 years ago)
let them flush out all those old school teachers that spend their time gossiping and selling groundnut in school instead of teaching. For those teaching with only NCE qualification should be made to upgrade their qualifications to Bsc or BE and Masters or be shown the way out.
Posted: at 31-05-2010 10:10 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- hagan at 31-05-2010 04:05 PM (14 years ago)
9ja!!! ha!! are they paying the teachers well and regularly? as far as i have seen and been, 9ja teachers are one of the best professionally and emotionally,  let's look into their regular pay and wait for results.
Posted: at 31-05-2010 04:05 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- ndjoe at 31-05-2010 04:06 PM (14 years ago)
those Kind of teachers we call them ndi nkuzi Egusi
Posted: at 31-05-2010 04:06 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chrisfab at 31-05-2010 04:13 PM (14 years ago)
obstacle come i go jump and pass
Posted: at 31-05-2010 04:13 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- chrisfab at 31-05-2010 04:45 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: ndjoe on 31-05-2010 04:06 PM
those Kind of teachers we call them ndi nkuzi Egusi
Bros egusi is my favourite soup,so fit call them ndi nkuzi ogbono
Posted: at 31-05-2010 04:45 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- gbenadek at 31-05-2010 05:31 PM (14 years ago)
This is a fact. I interviewed some teachers few years ago and some of them told me the exact thing. They revealed to me that many of them are being forced to teach subjects they are not qualified to teach, because of shortage of teachers. What do you expect in a situation where an English teacher is forced to teach CRS?
Posted: at 31-05-2010 05:31 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- nice9ija at 31-05-2010 10:20 PM (14 years ago)
me i be teacher ohyaa obi is aboy    he is a boy
and ada is a girl she is a girl
u can say it again and again
Posted: at 31-05-2010 10:20 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DarkCoco at 1-06-2010 04:38 AM (14 years ago)
and over 100% of ppl in govt are not doing there job, so whats the news here

it spreads

Posted: at 1-06-2010 04:38 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- fabmic at 1-06-2010 08:27 PM (14 years ago)
who told you that?
Posted: at 1-06-2010 08:27 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- olat2020 at 1-06-2010 10:40 PM (14 years ago)
well, i don't dispute that, but what do you want them to do. they have no choice than to continue in service with their fake and unqualified certificate, but i know one day God will judge.
Posted: at 1-06-2010 10:40 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Ezedon at 2-06-2010 03:48 AM (14 years ago)
bribe and corruption in nigeria, there is no teacher in Nigeria
Posted: at 2-06-2010 03:48 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- shaoyang at 2-06-2010 03:55 AM (14 years ago)
THIS ENGLISH YOU DE WRITE HERE WHO TEACH YOU AND WHERE YOU LEAN AM?
Posted: at 2-06-2010 03:55 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ezedon at 2-06-2010 03:59 AM (14 years ago)
Do u want to learn English let me know ok
Posted: at 2-06-2010 03:59 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- shaoyang at 2-06-2010 04:01 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: Ezedon on  2-06-2010 03:59 AM
Do u want to learn English let me know ok
R U A QUALIFIED TEACHER?
Posted: at 2-06-2010 04:01 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Miss_precious at 2-06-2010 11:01 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: chrisfab on 31-05-2010 04:13 PM
obstacle come i go jump and pass

you be teacher? Grin Tongue

Posted: at 2-06-2010 11:01 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zolazola at 2-06-2010 02:50 PM (14 years ago)
even them wey dey govern us them qualify?
most of them na thieves jare
that is why our country no dey move forward
Posted: at 2-06-2010 02:50 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac