This Is Not Fair –Nigerian Lady Cries Out After NYSC Denies Her Certificate For Studying Abroad

Date: 04-10-2019 8:32 am (4 years ago) | Author: success Xenab
- at 4-10-2019 08:32 AM (4 years ago)

A Nigerian lady, identified as Gloria Adjei has cried out after she was allegedly denied her National Youth Service Corps (NYSC) discharge certificate following her completion of the mandatory one-year scheme.

Gloria took to her Instagram page on Thursday to narrate her ordeal as 2018 Batch C Stream 1 corps members passed out of the scheme today.

She said she was denied the certificate because she graduated from a foreign university.

The NYSC Decree of 1973 says:

“Every Nigerian below the age of 30 years who has completed his first degree at any university in Nigeria is liable to be called upon to serve in the service corps for a continuous period of one year.”

Failure to serve the country is a criminal offense punishable under section 13 of the NYSC Decree which reads:

“A person who refuses to make himself available for service in the service corps continuously for the period specified in subsection (2) of this section is guilty of an offense and liable on conviction to a fine of N2, 000 or to imprisonment for a term of 12 months or to both.”

She narrated via her IG handle @Gloriahadjei:

“I have served this country for a year, with dedication and selflessness, only to be deprived of my certificate because I’m a foreign graduate who studied in Benin Republic,” she lamented.

She asked:

“Why make us waste money and time going to the POP venue when our certificate won’t be given to us? THIS IS NOT FAIR.”

See her IG story below.

Graduates of foreign universities have been known to partake in the mandatory scheme, but it is unclear they’ve all been denied the discharge certificate as hitherto Gloria’s case, not had openly cried out.

Posted: at 4-10-2019 08:32 AM (4 years ago) | Hero
- Baye77 at 4-10-2019 09:09 AM (4 years ago)
This is my first time of hearing this and I find it hard to believe..I have relatives that studied in different countries,Benin republic included and they served succesfully and collected their certificates without any issue...so I really don't know where this is coming from..unless u have another issue with nysc with dont know of...
Posted: at 4-10-2019 09:09 AM (4 years ago) | Hero
- scottchris at 4-10-2019 09:29 AM (4 years ago)
They are jealous ooo

Posted: at 4-10-2019 09:29 AM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Haso112 at 4-10-2019 09:31 AM (4 years ago)
MY SIS STUDIED IN GHANA & SERVED IN NIGERIA, GOT HER CERTIFICATE WITHOUT ANY ISSUES...!
Posted: at 4-10-2019 09:31 AM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kp45 at 4-10-2019 11:25 AM (4 years ago)
Check well aunty.
Posted: at 4-10-2019 11:25 AM (4 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- braveman at 4-10-2019 12:09 PM (4 years ago)
THis girl can lie for Africa...na liar, maybe she left naija to proceed for her master abroad without serving and nemesis caught up with her. Studying abroad isnt new...we did too

Posted: at 4-10-2019 12:09 PM (4 years ago) | Upcoming
- sweetypweety at 4-10-2019 01:53 PM (4 years ago)
Eh! Abroad indeed.  Benin Republic here?  My sister came back from UK to serve & dear her certificate is as crisp as mine.  U dey lie jare!
Posted: at 4-10-2019 01:53 PM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac