Robbers kill 4 policemen

Date: 12-07-2010 11:47 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 12-07-2010 11:47 PM (13 years ago)

The Ogun State Command of the Nigerian Police Force on Sunday lost four of its officers to a gang of robbers in Ijesa Ijebu-Illisan road in Ago-Iwoye, Ijebu North Local Government Area of the state.

One of the policemen, who was said to be in a private car at the time of the incident, managed to escape the hoodlums, who strangely have not been operating around the area before or after the deadly incident.

Though, the identity of the victims have not been made known as at press time but the State Police Public Relations Officer, Mr. Olumuyiwa Adejobi, confirmed the sad incident which occurred at Ako Village, a distance of about five kilometres from the permanent site of the Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago Iwoye.

Unofficial reports disclosed that the hoodlums also carted away the rifles of the dead policemen, consisting of an inspector, two corporals and one constable.

The driver of the vehicle, a sergeant, was said to have escaped with serious wounds.

It was gathered that the five policemen were returning to the Divisional Police Headquarters in the town, after they had concluded the day’s assignment at a road block around Ago Iwoye when the gunmen, who had trailed them in another vehicle, opened fire on the private car which conveyed the policemen.

An informant who craved anonymity said, “I was heading to Ago Iwoye from Abeokuta when my mother called me that I should go back; that I should not bother to come as some policemen had been killed by some robbers.”

She said the police were angry and looking for the robbers because she was afraid I could be caught in the cross fire.”

A police source, who spoke to our correspondent on Sunday in confidence, described the killing of the policemen as “a sad occurrence.”

The PPRO yesterday, after confirming the incidents urged members of the public to pray for the policemen as well as assist them with useful information that would expose hoodlums.

“These people are not spirits; they are human beings. It is one of the hazards of the profession. The robbers know the policemen because the police will always be in uniform but hardly will you recognize the hoodlums.

“That is why we need both the physical and spiritual support of members of the public,” Adejobi, an Assistant Superintendent of Police said.

The PPRO added that the Commissioner of Police, Mr. Musa Daura, held a strategic, close-door meeting with officers of the command, on how to increase the level of security in the state, expressing confidence that the hoodlums would be arrested.

“Even the blood of the dead policemen will cry for justice; they have family members and dependants too. We will get them,” he disclosed.

Posted: at 12-07-2010 11:47 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- popo2009 at 13-07-2010 12:22 AM (13 years ago)
I condenm killing, no matter who is involved
but the police is serious because this is about them
May their souls rest in peace.......Goodbye thieves
Posted: at 13-07-2010 12:22 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nice9ija at 13-07-2010 12:37 AM (13 years ago)
anyway may there sole rest in peace......but this 9ija police of a thin are the biggest robbers ever
Posted: at 13-07-2010 12:37 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kurupt419 at 13-07-2010 02:16 AM (13 years ago)
is good for them
Posted: at 13-07-2010 02:16 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ndjoe at 13-07-2010 03:28 AM (13 years ago)
may their soul rest in peace.
Posted: at 13-07-2010 03:28 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ezemadu at 13-07-2010 05:04 AM (13 years ago)
"chee" wat is going on in my country naija, last time i hear news in Anambra that police kill taxi man cos of #20 naira,!!!!!!!!!!!! now again another news robbers kill 4 policeman in point of checking point again, may be there collecting #20 naija 4get there work. "YES NAH"  cos if them know there work very well them surpose know the time road clear. bt anytime u see them there ar serious abt #20 naira, may GOD 4give them, and may there soul rest in perfect peace AMEN oooooooooooo..........
Posted: at 13-07-2010 05:04 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- bomsiluv at 13-07-2010 08:24 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: kurupt419 on 13-07-2010 02:16 AM
is good for them

You are heartless and wicked. Is this all you have to say to the dead? May God have mercy on you.
Dont forget, these dead men have loved ones like you. If you were n their shoes, how will you feel?
Posted: at 13-07-2010 08:24 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bomsiluv at 13-07-2010 08:25 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: nice9ija on 13-07-2010 12:37 AM
anyway may there sole rest in peace......but this 9ija police of a thin are the biggest robbers ever

How sure are you?
Posted: at 13-07-2010 08:25 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bomsiluv at 13-07-2010 08:27 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: popo2009 on 13-07-2010 12:22 AM
I condenm killing, no matter who is involved
but the police is serious because this is about them
May their souls rest in peace.......Goodbye thieves

Are are referring the police men as thieves?
Posted: at 13-07-2010 08:27 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ucynice at 13-07-2010 10:19 AM (13 years ago)
ewooo may they soul r.i.p
Posted: at 13-07-2010 10:19 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Eucharia at 13-07-2010 10:31 AM (13 years ago)
heyaaa may their soul rest in perfect peace Ameeeeeeen
Posted: at 13-07-2010 10:31 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Ify4life at 13-07-2010 11:05 AM (13 years ago)
rip

Posted: at 13-07-2010 11:05 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- enc4life at 13-07-2010 04:12 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Ify4life on 13-07-2010 11:05 AM
rip
Posted: at 13-07-2010 04:12 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dally007 at 13-07-2010 10:36 PM (13 years ago)
So this is true ....maybe biz. didnt work out as usual
may their poor soul rest in peace. :'( :'( :'(
Posted: at 13-07-2010 10:36 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- pkingx at 14-07-2010 01:16 AM (13 years ago)
If u tag d police as thieves...wat about dose guys up there in aso rock?

Posted: at 14-07-2010 01:16 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- bomsiluv at 14-07-2010 08:51 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: pkingx on 14-07-2010 01:16 AM
If u tag d police as thieves...wat about dose guys up there in aso rock?

Tell them.
Posted: at 14-07-2010 08:51 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bomsiluv at 14-07-2010 08:53 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: dally007 on 13-07-2010 10:36 PM

What biz are you talking about? You are worse than the policemen.
Posted: at 14-07-2010 08:53 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bomsiluv at 14-07-2010 08:57 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: teebaz990 on 13-07-2010 05:19 PM
eeyaaa thief pass thief be this one :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'(. at list they for try settle the robbers too like ppl the settle them.. Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed

You are worse than the police men. Its a shame dat you have no respect for the dead. I pity  you.
Posted: at 14-07-2010 08:57 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 14-07-2010 09:42 AM (13 years ago)
what about the money in their pocket ? since they were returinig from a check-point , they must have made alot of money before closing for the day now ,for sure it will be some police men like them that will do that to them ,
Posted: at 14-07-2010 09:42 AM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- ajanni at 14-07-2010 09:45 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: dally007 on 13-07-2010 10:36 PM

haahaaahhh, who knows
Posted: at 14-07-2010 09:45 AM (13 years ago) | Grande Master

1. HUH? Woman And Her Two Daughters Stabbed To Death In Ghana

2. Actor, Zubby Michael Causes Stir With His Response To Claims That Angela Okorie Loves Him

3. University Of Ibadan Longest Serving Vice Chancellor, Prof. Ayo Banjo Is Dead

4. NAFDAC Seal Shops With Unwholesome Drugs, Others In Abuja, Arrests Owners

5. Engineer, Anthony Akin Risks 7-Year Jail Term For Allegedly Stealing ₦500k Cement In Lagos

6. Manchester City v Manchester United: English FA Cup Final Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stat

7. Minister Claims FG Is Unaware Dangote Imports Crude From US

8. Troops Arrest Nigerian Syndicate Supplying Fuel To Cameroonian Rebels

9. We Know South Africa’s Strengths, Weaknesses – Super Eagles Coach, Finidi Reveals

1. Controversial YouTuber Emdee Tiamiyu Reportedly Deported to Nigeria By UK Government

2. VIDEO: Veteran Nollywood Actor, Zack Orji Reveals His Real Identity, Says He Is From Gabon

3. CBN Governor, Cardoso Clears The Air on Revoking Licenses of Moniepoint, Opay, Others

4. Rest Well! Nigerian Singer, Flavour Loses Father To The Cold Hand Of Death

5. Liquorose And I Are Married - BBNaija's Saga Finally Breaks Silence On Their Relationship (VID)

6. PHOTOS; Young Woman Found 'Lifeless' Behind A Hostel In Ebonyi

7. "As Long As I’m Alive, I Will Keep Contesting For Presidency" – Atiku Vows

8. Abuja Shopping Complex Shut After Assault On Soldiers

9. Married Corper Expelled After She Was Caught Bonking a Male Colleague 24hrs After Arriving Camp

10. Nigerian President Tinubu Arrives In Chad