Nobody can force me into retirement - Kanu

Date: 13-07-2010 8:15 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 13-07-2010 08:15 PM (13 years ago)
When the Super Eagles crashed out of the South Africa 2010 World Cup after the 2-2 draws with Korea Republic, skipper, Nwankwo Kanu, was the man Saturday Sunsports was desperate to get for an interview.

Kanu

Kanu was on duty in that game for a little over 60 minutes and given his age, one felt he has played his last game for Nigeria.

Getting Kanu to speak that night at the magnificent Moses Madiba Stadium in Durban was simply a mission impossible. Himself and his teammakes were shattered after Nigeria’s ouster and were not ready to speak to the press.

Twenty-four hours after the game, Saturday Sunsports caught up with a more relaxed Kanu at the lobby of Protea Waterfront in Richards Bay. Papillo, as he is fondly called by fans, had just finished taking his dinner and graciously accepted to answer just a few of this reporter’s questions since he was rushing up stairs to join his wife and kids, who were waiting for him in the room.

The first salvo fired at Kanu was for him to confirm if the game he played against Korea would be his last for Nigeria and what he felt was the way forward for the Super Eagles after the South Africa 2010 flop?

Kanu’s response clearly showed he was not thinking of retirement yet.

“Well, I don’t think Nigerians have seen me play my last game as Super Eagles’ captain. I remain the captain of the national team,” Kanu began. “You saw the game against Korea, it was our best game of the World Cup and I proved myself before being substituted.

“I don’t know why Nigerians are always talking about change, that they don’t want to see certain players again. It is wrong. That is one of the factors that affected us at the World Cup.

“Some people were saying before the World Cup that I shouldn’t be part of the team. They can now see that experience counts. Part of what killed us in South Africa was inexperience on the part of some players. For me, I am still part of the team, even as the captain.

“I have not told anybody that I am throwing in the towel. I don’t want to say much for now. The World Cup is over for us, my wife and kids are here, I want to take a rest and forget about the game for some days.”

Kanu, while apologising to fans over the team’s failure to make it to the round of 16, said Nigerians should take consolation in the fact that the Eagles made it to South Africa 2010 World Cup.

“We were almost not going to make it to South Africa. We have to thank God we qualified for the Mundial, which is the first in Africa.

“I want to appeal to our fans to forgive us for not living up to their expectation. In football, you don’t win always. We were quite unlucky against Korea. We played well and should have secured the three points, but unfortunately, the game ended in a draw,” Kanu said.

On Coach Lars Lagerback, Kanu said the Swede tacticians did his best with the team, even as he urged the nation’s soccer governing body to retain him.

“Lagerback did his best despite our early exit. I think the football federation should keep him.”

Posted: at 13-07-2010 08:15 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- mat-James at 16-07-2010 10:33 AM (13 years ago)
The legendry Okocha, the best in Nigeria football retire with honours,
But Papillo is saying no, until nigerians disgrace him with their talks.
Posted: at 16-07-2010 10:33 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- vantheo at 16-07-2010 10:35 AM (13 years ago)
Leave am

Posted: at 16-07-2010 10:35 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- ugurucandy at 28-07-2010 07:32 PM (13 years ago)
He should go and leave the place for the young ones,wht a greedy!
Posted: at 28-07-2010 07:32 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Mrchuksman at 29-07-2010 01:45 PM (13 years ago)
Papilo na wah 2 u ooo!!!
Posted: at 29-07-2010 01:45 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- onyiis at 30-07-2010 10:23 AM (13 years ago)
heheheeeeeeee !! maybe he want to die in the field of play

Posted: at 30-07-2010 10:23 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Bismack at 31-07-2010 01:35 AM (13 years ago)
I wonda
Posted: at 31-07-2010 01:35 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- sammyleecuc at 1-08-2010 05:40 PM (13 years ago)
Papilo,Ur body go tell you,Go on and play
Posted: at 1-08-2010 05:40 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- johnaboko at 3-08-2010 12:59 AM (13 years ago)
Sammy ,I agree with you only his body can push him to retire.Kano dont mind them
Posted: at 3-08-2010 12:59 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Ennymi at 3-08-2010 10:06 AM (13 years ago)
Na wa ooooooooo
Posted: at 3-08-2010 10:06 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- mykelly at 4-08-2010 01:21 PM (13 years ago)
make him dey play goo naw..em go soon play against em pikin 4 field
Posted: at 4-08-2010 01:21 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kurupt419 at 7-08-2010 12:33 AM (13 years ago)
that need to retire en don old naa
Posted: at 7-08-2010 12:33 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- richplanet at 9-08-2010 01:21 PM (13 years ago)
Even now he dey clubless.
Posted: at 9-08-2010 01:21 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Ify4life at 9-08-2010 02:58 PM (13 years ago)
na wa oooooooooo

Posted: at 9-08-2010 02:58 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- vitool at 13-08-2010 06:08 PM (13 years ago)
Greedy dude..accept the fact that you are WEAK. Which club is the dude playing in Europe or England
?.. Okocha is the man.
Posted: at 13-08-2010 06:08 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- batos_locos at 22-08-2010 09:47 PM (13 years ago)
papilo i take baba God wey dey heaven  dey beg you go seat down you don old, ur no longer informed, period!
Posted: at 22-08-2010 09:47 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- possibilities at 30-08-2010 12:36 PM (13 years ago)
i think dis is d right time 4 papilo to quite d game 4 d upcoming one's
Posted: at 30-08-2010 12:36 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Solidstonez at 10-07-2012 02:36 PM (11 years ago)

Posted: at 10-07-2012 02:36 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- chicco77 at 31-08-2012 12:51 PM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 31-08-2012 12:51 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- TIGHTPUSSY at 12-02-2013 07:59 AM (11 years ago)
 Lips Sealed
Posted: at 12-02-2013 07:59 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming