•Frederic Kanoute  - Mali

•Seydou Keita   - Mali

•Sulley Ali Muntari  - Ghana

•Mamadou Niang   - Senegal

•John Mikel Obi   - Nigeria

•Yakubu Ayegbeni  - Nigeria

•Ssesegnon   -Benin Rep.

•Pitroipa   -Burkina Faso

Voting is still on for the picking of West Africa’s best footballer, according to the sub–region’s governing body of the game, the West African Football Union; and all fans are expected to avail themselves of the opportunity of helping to decide who the best footballer is by casting their votes. The novel contest and arrangement was been put in place by the leadership of the WAFU.

On the margin of the 27th African Cup of Nations finals held in Angola early this year, the WAFU President, Dr. Amos Adamu announced an award for the Best Player in West Africa, which would, unusually, be voted for by football fans across the sub–region.

This is in contrast to the way of FIFA and CAF whereby the choice of the best player is made by coaches, technical directors or captains of the national teams.

Spectators who follow the achievements of their idols with passion are the ones to decide the West African top dog on the pitch going on since the end of May. The event itself was launched in Abidjan at the end of April. Fans have been sending their entries by sms or telephone calls within all 16 West African countries.

The players in the final shortlist are led by the likes of Emmanuel Adebayo, Didier Drogba, Andre Ayew and Jon Mikel Obi.

The Awards ceremony will take place in Abidjan, capital of Cote d’Ivoire on Saturday, July 31.

Posted: at 22-07-2010 09:36 AM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- prince316 at 22-07-2010 09:57 AM (13 years ago)
they should give it to Andre Ayew of Ghana.......
Posted: at 22-07-2010 09:57 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- lebsco at 22-07-2010 10:21 AM (13 years ago)
ayew ghana should be the right person to be awarded.
Posted: at 22-07-2010 10:21 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- mantoney at 22-07-2010 10:26 AM (13 years ago)
ayew is good for that
Posted: at 22-07-2010 10:26 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Stvic at 22-07-2010 10:27 AM (13 years ago)
Why should Yakubu's name be on this list?  Angry Angry Angry He should be amongst the list of 'Best footballer of the pre-developed age' cos he plays acient football.
Posted: at 22-07-2010 10:27 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- brightjay at 22-07-2010 10:31 AM (13 years ago)
PLZ............DELETE YAKUBU......
Posted: at 22-07-2010 10:31 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Pepesy at 22-07-2010 11:05 AM (13 years ago)
my vote goes to Ayew ghana pls!
Posted: at 22-07-2010 11:05 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- debuchi at 22-07-2010 11:37 AM (13 years ago)
John Mikel Obi or Didier Drogba
Posted: at 22-07-2010 11:37 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- popo2009 at 22-07-2010 12:42 PM (13 years ago)
Please delete YAKUBU and include ASAMOAH GYAN of Ghana
anyway my vote goes to Ayew
Posted: at 22-07-2010 12:42 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mck1 at 22-07-2010 01:11 PM (13 years ago)
Give it up 4 Ayew !
Posted: at 22-07-2010 01:11 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Paddy at 22-07-2010 01:18 PM (13 years ago)
Why Ayew, do you people watch football? Ayew just played a little part for just one week in SA and you are singing his name. Muntari won the Seria A and CL, Drogba and Mikkel the EPL and FA. If you don't know about football pls stay clear.
Posted: at 22-07-2010 01:18 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Eucharia at 22-07-2010 01:43 PM (13 years ago)
pls delete Yakubu from this list, his name is not surpose to be there instead ayew of Ghana, but if u come to the best chewing gum of the year then Yakubu is the best. Yakubu delete ur name from ths list plsssssssssssssssss for ur information
Posted: at 22-07-2010 01:43 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- meeki at 22-07-2010 01:45 PM (13 years ago)
ok...i dont know about football,i've stayed clear ooo
Posted: at 22-07-2010 01:45 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- 9icekenn at 22-07-2010 01:47 PM (13 years ago)
Thank you Paddy for that, because many of us here are just into patronizing those are just been favored in a day or two games...... even if the award is not given to Drogba or Mikel it should be given to Micheal Essien or Muntari because these are players that should be awarded at home........ Yaya Toure  is there to be awarded not the like of yakubu (madness has taken over yakubu) the mad player who should be stone to death or be cast into the lion den for misbehaving...... but anyway i am voting for Dorgba or Essien[/font][/font][/font][/font][/size][/color][/i][/b][/b]
Posted: at 22-07-2010 01:47 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ndjoe at 22-07-2010 02:48 PM (13 years ago)
if you ask i will say Andre Ayew is the man for the title but as una no ask me make i shut up my mouth jarry carry life do better thing
Posted: at 22-07-2010 02:48 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Agatex at 22-07-2010 03:18 PM (13 years ago)
Both Mikel and Yakubu dont deserve to be there, but since they are already in the the list they should also include  Sani Kiata.
Posted: at 22-07-2010 03:18 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ifizi at 22-07-2010 03:25 PM (13 years ago)
yakubu & mikel are out..
Posted: at 22-07-2010 03:25 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- abbeyy74 at 22-07-2010 03:48 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Agatex on 22-07-2010 03:18 PM
Both Mikel and Yakubu dont deserve to be there, but since they are already in the the list they should also include  Sani Kiata.
well said jare sis,so that the award go just be (the worst footballers in west africa) Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 22-07-2010 03:48 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Bettychy at 22-07-2010 04:05 PM (13 years ago)
These guys `r all great footballers in their own ways.
But I think the decision is made based on their performance at the immediate past tournament & not on their entire carrier till date. If that is right, both guys did`t convince me at all not even Drogba nor Ayew did.
Osaze & Obinna performed quit better.
Posted: at 22-07-2010 04:05 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sally2020 at 22-07-2010 04:20 PM (13 years ago)
is for ghana,give it to Andre Ayew . 
Posted: at 22-07-2010 04:20 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
[1] 2 3 4

1. Stop Lagos-Calabar Highway Project - Obi Tells Tinubu As Demolition of Landmark Centre Begins

2. Watch As Lions Have S3x On Top Of Safari Truck Full Of People

3. Video of Yahoo Boys Spraying Cash On Pastor During Church Service Stirs Reactions

4. 42Yr Old Man, Nkwuda Cuts Cousin’s Throat For Demanding Felling Tree Branches In Ebonyi

5. Photo Of Unknown Woman Reportedly Found Dumped On Abuja Road

6. VIDEO: Excitement As 2face Idibia And Kizz Daniel Collaborate

7. Video: Fans In Loggerhead Over Wizkid And Davido's Feud

8. Borussia Dortmund v PSG: UEFA Champions League S/Final Match,Team News,Goal Scorers And Stats

9. Two Brothers Arrested For Impersonating NSCDC Commandant On Facebook

1. Nigerian Tenant Discovers Landlord With Wife & Daughter, Sparks Outrage Online (Video)

2. Benin Kingdom Suspends Five Functionaries For ‘Unauthorised’ Visit To Ooni Of Ife

3. Lady Who Worked As A Maid In Saudi Arabia Narrates Her Harrowing Ordeal As Boss Impregnates Her

4. I Will Reconcile Atiku And Wike If I Emerge PDP National Chairman – Suswam

5. GWR Holder, Tunde Onakoya's Parents Gifted A House

6. No More Big 3 In Afrobeat, I'm On Same Level With Wizkid, Davido And Burnaboy - Rema Reveals

7. Investigation Launched Into Mysterious Death Of VGC Chairman, Gihan Mbelu In Lagos

8. VIDEO: Singer, Davido Becomes First to Own The $500,000 2024 Rolls Royce Spectre

9. Drama As Actress, Toyin Abraham Ajeyemi Clashes With Area Boys On Movie Set (Video)

10. Wunmi Ajiboye Reunites With Estranged Husband, Segun Ogungbe, Days After Dragging Him (Video)