Senate President, Lawan Urges IGP To Recruit More Men, Implement Community Policing

Date: 01-07-2020 8:18 am (3 years ago) | Author: Olusanya Akinrinola
- at 1-07-2020 08:18 AM (3 years ago)

The Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, on Tuesday charged the Inspector-General of Police, Mohammed Adamu, to recruit more men and women that will help to tackle the present security challenges in the country.

Lawan made this known in a statement made available by his Special Adviser on Media, Ola Awoniyi, on Tuesday.

The senate president who gave the charge at the National Assembly during an interactive session with the Police IG and his management team urged them to also provide timelines for the implementation of Community Policing in the country.

“Going forward from today, we must have clearly defined milestones and timelines on the implementation of the Community Policing.
“Something that we can always go back to in three months, in six months, and say where we are exactly.

“You might have been implementing the Community Policing and this meeting is an opportunity for you to give us an update of which States this has been implemented in and those states that you have not, we need a program and also a timeline of activities,” Lawan said.

The Senate President also urged police authorities to always ensure they carry the relevant parliamentary Committees along in what they are doing on the Community Policing to give the scheme a life of its own.
He further explained that there will be a need to recruit more men and women to help tackle the present security challenges the country is facing.

“And if we have to recruit, we will have to train and equally support our training institutions.

“We believe, in the National Assembly, that the security situation in the country requires that we make it number one priority for the government because, in the Constitution, it is Security and welfare that comes first.

“This is to say that no amount of public or government investment will be too much and I also know that we have a paucity of funds but we have to be ingenious.
“We need to find a way to strengthen our security agencies because they play an important role in this respect.

“So we will talk about recruitment and of course the training institutions and even your barracks.

“However, I would like to assure you that in the National Assembly, all we care for is the Security of lives and property of the citizens.

“I believe it’s something that we can tackle when we put heads together to find a solution.

”Even if we cannot resolve everything, we should be able to find a way out to improve the security situation of our country,” he added.

Posted: at 1-07-2020 08:18 AM (3 years ago) | Hero
- dopygenius at 1-07-2020 11:37 AM (3 years ago)
Mtcheww
If una like make una recruit one billion
If the issue of insecurity is not handled from the top,if the while system is not corrupt all the effort will be in vain, people will die for nothing
Pls don't join them,this country is not worth to die for... Huh?
Posted: at 1-07-2020 11:37 AM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. UK-based Nigerian G@y Man Laments How Family Pressures Him To Marry A Woman Despite His Status

2. EFCC Boss, Olukoyede Faces Visa Ban Threat Over Yahaya Bello's Case

3. I Vow To Keep Trolling Actress Bimbo Ademoye - Actor Deyemi Okanlawon Reveals Why

4. Your First Salary Belong To Your Father For His Blessings Not to Your Pastor - Kanayo O. Kanayo

5. Moses Bliss Reacts After A Troll Bashes Him For Allowing His Wife Preach Whenever They Go For

6. One Shot As Soldiers Break Out Of Their Cells To Protest Poor Welfare In Sokoto

7. Reaction As Davido Likes Tweet Calling Samklef A ‘Fool At 40’

8. Fulham v Manchester City: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

9. Singer, Fireboy Dismisses Rumour Of Rivalry With His Colleague, Asake

10. Manchester United v Arsenal: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

11. Nottingham v Chelsea: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

12. Brickhall School And Ovoke Family Issue Press Statement After Burial Of 4 Year Old

1. Onanuga Shares A Post Alleging Peter Obi Demarkets Nigeria, Calls Him ‘Bitter Obi'

2. Focus On Fall Of Naira, Insecurity – Charly Boy Drags Onanuga For Tagging Peter Obi As ‘Bitter’

3. Actors In Nollywood Films Used To Be Cast Based On Social Media Followers – Uzor Arukwe

4. Suspected Sextortion Blackmailer, Olamide Made £2m Vows To Release Embarrassing PIC/VID Of Boys

5. Mercy Johnson Was With us in The Boat - Survivor of Boat Accident That Killed Jnr Pope Reveals

6. Late Buhari Oloto's Wife, Alhaja Alimotu Sadia Oloto a.k.a IYA OYO Is Dead

7. Nigerians React To Tinubu-Led Administration’s Cybersecurity Levy

8. CBN Extends Suspension of Charges on Cash Deposits

9. If I Buy You A Flight Ticket, Am I Suppose To Tell You To Wear Seat Belt – Adanma Luke Attacks

10. Reactions As Mohbad’s Father Completes Renovation Of Family House In Ekiti State