Facebook Set To Open New Office In Lagos

Date: 19-09-2020 11:51 am (3 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 19-09-2020 11:51 AM (3 years ago)

Facebook on Friday said it would be opening an office in Lagos, Nigeria, as part of its continued commitment and ongoing investment in Africa.

In a statement made available to newsmen in Lagos, said this would be its second office on the African continent.

It said the opening of the new office was aimed at supporting the entire Sub-Saharan Africa region.

The office, it said, was expected to become operational in 2021.

According to Facebook, it will be the first on the continent to house a team of expert engineers building for the future of Africa and beyond.

Also, the office would be home to various teams servicing the continent from across the business, including Sales, Partnerships, Policy, Communications as well as Engineers.

Commenting, Ime Archibong, Facebook’s Head of New Product Experimentation, said: “The opening of our new office in Lagos, Nigeria presents new and exciting opportunities in digital innovations to be developed from the continent and taken to the rest of the world.

“All across Africa, we are seeing immense talent in the tech ecosystem and I am proud that with the upcoming opening of our new office, we will build products for the future of Africa, and the rest of the world, with Africans at the helm.

“We look forward to contributing further to the African tech ecosystem.

“The investment of the new Facebook office follows the 2018 opening of NG_Hub, its first flagship community hub space in Africa.

“The hub was opened in partnership with CcHub, and the 2019 opening of a Small Business Group (SBG) Operations Centre in Lagos, in partnership with Teleperformance, “
Archibong said.

Kojo Boakye, Facebook’s Director of Public Policy, Africa said that the new office in Nigeria presents an important milestone which further reinforces the company’s ongoing commitment to the region.

“Our mission in Africa is no different from other parts of the world, which is to build community and bring the world closer together.

“I am excited about the possibilities that this will create, not just in Nigeria, but across Africa,”
Boakye said.

The policy director said since the opening of its first office in 2015, Facebook had made a number of investments across the continent, aimed at supporting and growing the tech ecosystem.

Boakye noted that the support includes the recent rollout of its SMB Grants programme in Nigeria and South Africa.

He said this was aimed at supporting over 900 businesses by providing a combination of cash and ad credits to help small businesses as they rebuild from COVID.

Nunu Ntshingila, Regional Director, Facebook Africa, said: “We are delighted to be announcing our new office in Nigeria.

” Five years on from opening our first office on the continent in Johannesburg, South Africa, we will continue to invest in and support local talent, as well as the various communities that use our platforms.

“The office in Lagos will also be key in helping to expand how we service our clients across the continent,”
Ntshingila said.

Posted: at 19-09-2020 11:51 AM (3 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dopygenius at 19-09-2020 10:46 PM (3 years ago)
Hmmm Facebook in Lagos
A broad way access in bribing officials for a scam and fake accounts
As u dey open nam,make sure say all the workers there are not Nigerians or even Yoruba people...
Posted: at 19-09-2020 10:46 PM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Gloodwin at 25-01-2021 07:49 PM (3 years ago)
The opening of the new Facebook office in Lagos will have a very positive impact not only on the city itself, but also on the whole country. This is a great opportunity for the minds of Africa. I believe that there are quite a lot of educated and talented people who are waiting for the right opportunity. If Africa cannot provide jobs for such people, they will either leave or be provided with jobs by a foreign company. In turn, Facebook will find talented and inventive people to join its team, which will benefit it. However, I don't know how Facebook will be able to find a suitable office in Lagos, because the standards of this company are very high.

Posted: at 25-01-2021 07:49 PM (3 years ago) | Newbie

1. DHQ Finally Releases Photos And Names Of Soldiers Killed In Delta Attack

2. Teenage Boy Nabbed For Raping 11-Year-Old Schoolmate In Rivers

3. She Paid For My 1st Song, Believed in me When Others Mocked me- Kizz Daniel Opens Up About Wife

4. VIDEO: Nigerian Man Drags Wife to Court Over Genotype of Their Son Who is SS

5. The House Of Rep Member Is In Opposition Party - Soludo States Why He Didn't Construct Road

6. Nigerian Man Breaks Down in Tears After Using His Mother’s N8m to Play Sporty Bet, Loses All

7. VIDEO: Peter Obi Spotted At Central Mosque To Break Fast For Ramadan

8. BBNaija's Angel Slams Trolls Following Speculation Of A Breakup With Soma

9. "I’ve Forgiven Davido For ‘Disrespecting’ Me" - Samklef

10. 'This Entertainment Industry Is So Dark Cos People In It Are So Envious, Evil' - Actress Uche

11. I’ll Not Leave My Husband For Having Child Outside Our Marriage Says Blessing CEO

12. Singer Spyro Sends Strong Message To Men About Beautiful Women

13. "I’m Afrobeats Leader Worldwide" – Davido Brags

14. Fear, Tension As Bandits Kidnap 87, Loot Shops In Fresh Kaduna Attack

15. VIDEO: My Child Trying To Mess Up My Career - Mimi Orjiekwe Embarrassed As Daughter Exposes Her

16. Man Who Renounced Nigerian Citizenship Says He Has No Regrets

1. Nollywood Actor, Amaechi Muonagor Seeks Help From His Sick Bed

2. Royal Joy As Ooni Of Ife Welcomes Twins With His Third Wife, Olori Tobi Philips-Ogunwusi

3. President Tinubu Appoints First Female Director-General Of NEMA, Zubaida Umar

4. Motorist Calls Out Actor Somadina Adinma For Being A Celebrity And Trekking In Public

5. Following Recent Divorce Saga, Nigerians Dig Up Abusive Past Of Modupe Alakija

6. Customs Intercepts Ammunition Worth Over Half A Billion Naira Concealed In Sacks Of Garri

7. See Full Lists Of Venues Of Lagos 25% Discounted Food Markets ‘Ounje Eko’

8. Can of Worms! Obasanjo’s Biological Father An Igbo Man From Onitsha – Rtd Col Majekodunmi

9. Drink Your Tears, Cry Blood, I’m Married” – Queen Throws Shades As She Flaunts Her Ring (VID)

10. "How Tinubu And His Colleagues Failed Nigeria In 1999" - Pa Ayo Adebanjo