#ENDSARS: Nigerian Singer & Police Ambassador Korede Bello Speaks On Police Brutality

Date: 10-10-2020 8:23 am (3 years ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 10-10-2020 08:23 AM (3 years ago)

With the on-going nationwide protests and campaign against police brutality in Nigeria, singer, mental health advocate and Nigerian Police ambassador, Korede Bello has lent his voice to the struggle.

The multiple award winning singer joins millions of Nigerian youth demanding an end to police brutality and assault of vulnerable Nigerians by the police, especially the Special Anti Robbery Squad (SARS).

Below is what the singer shared on Twitter;

My heart breaks for every injustice meted out to the vulnerable in society by the police either by our legacy police officers, The special anti robbery squad (SARS) or any other archetype of the tactical unit of the police force.

A critical examination of the incidents as well as information I'm privy to shows this is way beyond just the SARS unit as the campaign suggests abnitio in 2017.

It seemed like we would turn a corner with the work that led to the new laws (Police Trust Fund and Police Act 2020).

All our behind-the-scenes advocacy efforts for the institution, its members and we the people, but the reality of young people as being expressed - from tech guys to entertainment professionals shows that there is more work to be done. I am not silent & I've never been silent. I've only been speaking in spaces I'm convinced can decisively provide policy solutions to these recurring challenges. Something has to give & we must adopt & consistently implement solutions that works for our country and generations unborn.

We must not have a society where young people (and anybody for that matter) are openly expressing their discontent about their relationship with an institution as critical as the Police and we don't find solutions that work and implement them consistently.

Do not despair guys, we stay demanding and stay engaging. we cry with eyes wide open but we must also walk the path of helpful and practicable solutions.

Posted: at 10-10-2020 08:23 AM (3 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- fineboy77 at 10-10-2020 09:02 AM (3 years ago)
Korede,na English u dey speak. Come out and protest like the Nigerian youth that you are

Posted: at 10-10-2020 09:02 AM (3 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kacylee at 10-10-2020 08:52 PM (3 years ago)
mtchewww... u still dey talk grammar

Posted: at 10-10-2020 08:52 PM (3 years ago) | Addicted Hero