Bash Ali Gives Jonathan Deadline

Date: 14-10-2010 4:58 pm (13 years ago) | Author: kelly
- at 14-10-2010 04:58 PM (13 years ago)
Bash Ali gives Jonathan deadline
By Tunde Eludini
October 14, 2010 12:37AM

“Do I have to be an ex-convict, a criminal or a dangerous and wicked militant before I can meet with you?” The question above is an excerpt from an open letter written by highly controversial Nigerian boxer, Bash Ali to President Goodluck Jonathan.

Ali, who remains poised to set a record as the oldest boxer to win a world title has given Jonathan up till October 15 to declare his readiness to support his historic fight or risk the fight taking place elsewhere.

“Sir, once again, if I do not hear from you before Friday, October 15, 2010, I will approach another African president to host this historic event,” Ali had written in his letter.

Ali stunned many in 2006, when he suddenly declared: “I am at the ripe age of 50 years and all set to erase Joe Bugner’s name from the Guinness Book of World Records as the oldest man to win a world title.”

However, four years down the line, the purported fight has failed to see the light of day as it has been clouded with so many controversies and setbacks.

A new date of December 11 is now been proposed for the fight which is expected to gulp about two billion naira.

Multiple benefits

For Ali, this is not in any way too much to spend on the fight which he believes the country will reap multiple benefits from.

“Sir, your great and wise advisers advised you to spend almost N7 Billion to celebrate Nigeria’s 50th anniversary because of their personal benefits while Nigeria did not get back a kobo in return. Now, you have set up a committee to probe how the money was spent.

“The same great and wise advisers of yours are against your keeping Nigeria’s promise to me by investing a small N2 Billion to earn a minimum N75 Billion and nine Sports Academies across Nigeria because they cannot share the money,” Ali said.

A Guinness World Record fight has never been held on an African soil, hence the historic event is set to be the first and the biggest boxing event to hold on the continent since Muhammad Ali knocked out George Foreman in Zaire in 1974.

The International Boxing Union (IBU) had given Nigeria a deadline of October 8, 2010 to pay the $1m USD sanction fee which will authorise the approval for Nigeria to host the historic event or lose the right to host to the Republic of Ireland. But after the October 1 bombing, the IBU extended the deadline to October 29.

According to Ali, the 182 country members of the IBU and the WBF will be in Nigeria to watch the event and they include former and current world boxing champions like George Foreman, Mohammad Ali, Joe Frazier, Mike Tyson, Larry Holmes, Evander Holyfield, Ken Norton, Sugar Ray Leonard, Tommy Hearns and Joe Bugner.

In addition, local and international movie stars and athletes from around the world will also be in Nigeria to be part of boxing history.

Posted: at 14-10-2010 04:58 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- divineproject at 14-10-2010 05:03 PM (13 years ago)
You go fear ultimatum na............

Posted: at 14-10-2010 05:03 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- sixtyhoney at 14-10-2010 05:04 PM (13 years ago)
no comment
Posted: at 14-10-2010 05:04 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- edem4luz at 14-10-2010 05:07 PM (13 years ago)
Why does this have to concern the president?

If the fight is not going to bring enough revenue for any promoter to pick it up, then find another willing promoter.

Crazy indeed!
Posted: at 14-10-2010 05:07 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- edem4luz at 14-10-2010 05:09 PM (13 years ago)
This man disturbed OBJ with this fraud before OBJ left office. He could not approach Yar'Adua due to the man's prudent spending. Now he has seen a big spending President who doesn't think well and he's now threatening. Please help me ask Bash Ali when the job of the President included "Boxing Promoter". Why doesn't he approach the Ministry of Sports or NBF? Which promise did Nigeria make to him?
Posted: at 14-10-2010 05:09 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Commonsense at 14-10-2010 05:12 PM (13 years ago)
that man juju never fade?
Posted: at 14-10-2010 05:12 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Kennee at 14-10-2010 05:39 PM (13 years ago)
Na Better Juju Man Do the Work na

Posted: at 14-10-2010 05:39 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Toks-E at 14-10-2010 08:49 PM (13 years ago)
dope square in the air

Posted: at 14-10-2010 08:49 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- chogzie at 15-10-2010 05:44 PM (13 years ago)
mstcheeeeeewww...
Posted: at 15-10-2010 05:44 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mat-James at 15-10-2010 06:13 PM (13 years ago)
9ja problem,
we celebrate politicians that steals our money,
those politicians, it is our money that moves them 2 greatness
we never celebrate people that use their
strength & sweat 2 move 2 greatness in making history for their fathersland,
if so me & u will struggle also so that we can be celebrated,
but who cares in 9ja, "U WORK HARD, U DIE HARD".
Posted: at 15-10-2010 06:13 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Renewed at 15-10-2010 06:40 PM (13 years ago)
As if we no get beta problems to bother ourselves about...na to host Guiness Book of Records Boxing Championship! Ovwokovwoko! Person wey no fit feed himself dey buy dog put for house?

Posted: at 15-10-2010 06:40 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- qunodinga at 22-10-2010 09:33 AM (13 years ago)
mmmmh
Posted: at 22-10-2010 09:33 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sixtyhoneyy at 22-10-2010 09:46 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Renewed on 15-10-2010 06:40 PM
As if we no get beta problems to bother ourselves about...na to host Guiness Book of Records Boxing Championship! Ovwokovwoko! Person wey no fit feed himself dey buy dog put for house?
Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 22-10-2010 09:46 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- vantheo at 22-10-2010 10:19 AM (13 years ago)
But wait o! Who does bash ali want to fight sef? Na klitchko

Posted: at 22-10-2010 10:19 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- aliaaz at 22-10-2010 10:32 AM (13 years ago)
Lol

Posted: at 22-10-2010 10:32 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chudy1800 at 22-10-2010 04:26 PM (13 years ago)
Abeg Bash Ail go and look for promoter.
Posted: at 22-10-2010 04:26 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- mykelly at 22-10-2010 04:44 PM (13 years ago)
 @ chudy100.no mind am,he want make defraud the whole country
Posted: at 22-10-2010 04:44 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- moniconyez at 22-10-2010 04:51 PM (13 years ago)
I wasnt here anyway............
Posted: at 22-10-2010 04:51 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- adeshnaija at 17-09-2011 02:37 PM (12 years ago)
just passin,,,
Posted: at 17-09-2011 02:37 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie