"Nigeria’s Destiny Can Only Be Actualized Through Unity" -Transportation Minister, Amaechi

Date: 26-03-2021 9:46 pm (3 years ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 26-03-2021 09:46 PM (3 years ago)

The Minister of Transportation, Mr Chibuike Amaechi, has stressed that the destiny of Nigeria can best actualised in the context of one indivisible and united nation.

Amaechi stated this while delivering the 34th Convocation Lecture of the University of Calabar, titled “The National Question and the Challenges of Nationhood in Nigeria” held on Friday in Calabar.
The Minister said that what was required was for all Nigerians to continue to work towards a nation in which the doors of opportunity are open to all citizens irrespective of ethnicity, creed, class or circumstance.

Amaechi noted that tackling insecurity and criminality must also be on the front burner to avoid an escalation leading to un-governability.

He also cautioned the political elite on actions that contribute to insecurity in the nation.

“I agree with those patriotic voices who have cautioned that we need to do everything to arrest the general drift towards un-governability and state failure.

“Nigeria should not queue up behind nations that have allowed these nascent forces to threaten their very existence or overwhelm them. We should instead face up to the challenges with maximum will.

“It is in this context that we need to appreciate the valiant efforts being made by the President Muhammadu Buhari administration to ensure our national survival through the restoration of security, rehabilitation and expansion of national infrastructure and the alleviation of desperate poverty,”
he said.

According to him, the recent rise in the clamour for restructuring and regional self determination by Nigerians were legitimate, but added that the country’s current difficulties were transient and can be resolved through active engagement of all stakeholders.

“In recent days, we have begun to hear loud voices of disunity from various sections of the country.

“In response to current economic difficulties and the problem of insecurity, some have insisted on the now familiar argument for restructuring of the federation.

“Others have advocated increased regional autonomy. Some extremists are calling for secession of parts of the country from the federation.

“None of these divisive options would serve the urgent needs of this nation or the long term aspiration of all our people for a better life in a happier nation.

“Let me say without any fear that the concerns being raised by Nigerians about the future of our country are legitimate. They are indications of great patriotism and love,” he added.

Amaechi noted that the country was treasured by all Nigerians who are anxious that it transforms into a better place for all.

He added that ethnicity and class, poverty and inequality are a major part of the problem, describing poverty as one of the greatest threats to the country’s national unity and survival.

“For the avoidance of doubt, let me state that the desperate poverty that we have today has its roots in dispensations that came before the Buhari administration.

“Specifically, our epidemic of mass poverty dates back to the return of civil rule in our country. It is unfair to heap the responsibility for the prevalence of poverty and inequality on this or any one administration in the history of the country.

“I have a personal conviction that of all the challenges facing our nation’s actualisation, none is more urgent than the scourge of increasing poverty and the threat of massive inequality.

“We must attack and conquer inequality and extreme poverty or the poor will overrun Nigeria.

“Let us take the threat of mass poverty seriously and elevate inequality to the status of a perennial national emergency in the years ahead.

“Nearly all the troubles that confront us as a nation can be traced to either direct poverty or the fear that the scourge of poverty could rise one day to devour the fortunes of the rich and prosperous,”
he said.

Posted: at 26-03-2021 09:46 PM (3 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Jiiitk4 at 26-03-2021 10:18 PM (3 years ago)
You are talking nonsense. Because of what you are gaining from ONE INDIVISIBLE NIGERIA UNITED IN CORRUPTION. ENDSARS protests will be a child's play to what will happen next. You criminals have killed us.  We surely will hit you people back.
Posted: at 26-03-2021 10:18 PM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Montana67 at 26-03-2021 11:32 PM (3 years ago)
I pray this idiots be flushed out from the surface of this earth and all their stolen wealth taken away completely from them and their families. Useless fools. Ur time to pay is near and soon it will heat on you. Even when you run to foreign countries, they will never accommodate you because Nigerians will storm wherever you are and the country will ask you to leave.  Ask your friend Tinubu about what happened to him in France.
Posted: at 26-03-2021 11:32 PM (3 years ago) | Newbie
- Haso_112 at 27-03-2021 04:28 AM (3 years ago)
Quote from: Jiiitk4 on 26-03-2021 10:18 PM
You are talking nonsense. Because of what you are gaining from ONE INDIVISIBLE NIGERIA UNITED IN CORRUPTION. ENDSARS protests will be a child's play to what will happen next. You criminals have killed us.  We surely will hit you people back.

''ENDSARS protests will be a child's play to what will happen next.'' 100%
Posted: at 27-03-2021 04:28 AM (3 years ago) | Newbie

1. Nollywood Thrown Into Mourning Again as Veteran Yoruba Actor, Baba Ogunjimi Passes On

2. Mohbad’s Wife, Wunmi Officially Served DNA Court Order, Pasted on Her House Gate

3. Go & Get Your Son At The Police Station - Apostle Chibuzor Tells Mum Who Left Son At His House

4. Italian Govt Moves to Safe Life Of Half Nigerian Baby Born in UK With Severe Heart Condition

5. AGN Shares New Development On Junior Pope's Death, Says Mother Believes Her Son Was Murdered

6. IPOB Fires Back at Nigerians Army, Denies Involvement With Recent Owerri Jailbreak

7. Actor Junior Pope to Be Buried on May 17th As Family Releases Funeral Arrangements

1. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

2. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

3. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

4. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

5. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

6. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

7. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria

8. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

9. Popular Ghanaian Media Personality, Serwaa Amihere Finally Reacts To Her Leaked S3x Tape

10. Divide Nigeria Before June 15 - Yoruba Nation Agitators, Sunday Igboho, Akintoye Tells Tinubu